Guyana to air 24-hour Chinese television station

December 31, 2011 10:25 AM
Source - CBS News

(AP) GEORGETOWN, Guyana —

Television watchers in the South American nation of Guyana have a new choice next year, at least if they speak Chinese.

Guyana's state-owned broadcasting company says it will start carrying China Central Television 24 hours a day early next year. The National Communications Network has been carrying the Chinese government channel one hour a day for the past six years. NCN officials said Friday that China will provide all the equipment needed.

The broadcasts are aimed largely at thousands of Chinese workers who have come to the Caribbean region with Chinese investments in recent years.

Originally posted by Wally:
I think that the Communist Party of China continued the racism of Chinese nationalists against their fellow Asians from other Asian nations. But seeing that the Chinese people came to British Guiana long before the Indians. I don't have a problem with this.

You just utter your own racial sentiments..

India built storts stadium and other stuff. You had no problem with that..
I think that the Communist Party of China continued the racism of Chinese nationalists against their fellow Asians from other Asian nations. But seeing that the Chinese people came to British Guiana long before the Indians. I don't have a problem with this.

Indians first arrived in Guyana in 1838. Chinese did not arrive until 1851.
Originally posted by Demerara_Guy:

Source - CBS News

Television watchers in the South American nation of Guyana have a new choice next year, at least if they speak Chinese.

Guyana's state-owned broadcasting company says it will start carrying China Central Television 24 hours a day early next year. The National Communications Network has been carrying the Chinese government channel one hour a day for the past six years. NCN officials said Friday that China will provide all the equipment needed.

The broadcasts are aimed largely at thousands of Chinese workers who have come to the Caribbean region with Chinese investments in recent years.

Guyana will be the first South American country to adopt Chinese as its official language. Big Grin
Originally posted by Lucas:

Source - CBS News

Guyana will be the first South American country to adopt Chinese as its official language. Big Grin

CCTV also broadcasts in English 24 hours a day.
Originally posted by Daren David:

Source - CBS News

when are we getting a pure hindi station and a african station and a real police station
Originally posted by warrior:

Source - CBS News

when are we getting a pure hindi station and a african station and a real police station

What african language would you suggest the TV broadcast should use, Zulu or Click?

An besides, dem dozz vote PPP. Wink
Originally posted by warrior:

Source - CBS News

Aap kaise hai, chamaar ki beta??
Originally posted by Sledgehammer:

They didn't arrive, they were brought here. Chinese did arrive by their own means.

and they brought fry rice with them Smile

And you think that is agood thing until you woke up and found out that the only jobs Chinese allowed Guyanese to perform was sweeping the streets and cleaning the drains.

Ask Surinamers what they think about all those Chinese roaming around their country.
Originally posted by caribj:

And you think that is agood thing until you woke up and found out that the only jobs Chinese allowed Guyanese to perform was sweeping the streets and cleaning the drains.

Ask Surinamers what they think about all those Chinese roaming around their country.

Chinee are hardworking people. Then can come and help build Guyana. They bring skills and work ethics which will benefit Guyana. And besides, Chinee gurls not that bad looking either.
What african language would you suggest the TV broadcast should use, Zulu or Click?

If you know nothing about the origins of AfroGuyanese dont reveal how ignorant you are. None of our ancestors would ahve had teh scantest interest in those southern African languages.

The Afro-Guyanese community should establish an Afro cultural and language radio/TV station...guess will be Yoruba? They do good drumming.

AfroGuyanese are not African. They are Guyanese.

Isnt it about time that Guyanese develop pride in their own rather than copying others. This is why Trinidad, Jamaica, Cuba and other caribbean countries have a more advanced level of culture than we do. They develop their own. We remain content to mimic others, and we scorn the few Guyanese who try to develop their craft.

AfroGuyanese are not African. They are Guyanese.

Isnt it about time that Guyanese develop pride in their own rather than copying others. This is why Trinidad, Jamaica, Cuba and other caribbean countries have a more advanced level of culture than we do. They develop their own. We remain content to mimic others, and we scorn the few Guyanese who try to develop their craft.

Not true, there was an african cultural event here few years ago. Afros showed pride in their roots. It was good to see Afros making that cultural connection with the long lost homeland. Many of us Indians were happy to see it. You should try some cultural awareness sometime. You are like a boat without a rudder, going where ever the wind takes you.

Not true, there was an african cultural event here few years ago. Afros showed pride in their AFROGUYANESE roots. .

Kwekwe, cumfa and our AfroGuyanese folk traditions are GUYANESE. Try find any African ethnic group with the same exact something.

People from a variety of African ethnic groups had to develop a conected culture within a certain colonial context. After all they came from a wide range of societies from Senegal to Angola and so had little in common...certainly not a common language (hence the devlopment of creolese). They then rubbed shoulders with other ethnic groups and out of this has developed something about which they can be proud.

This ought to be encouraged unless you like it when Jamaicans and Trinis laugh at Guyanese for having "no culture" and boast that they went to a show in Guyana and only hear Trini, Bajan and Jamaican music...some performed by Guyanese who sounded like they just arrived from Kingston, Jamaica.

Now when you know something about the roots of AfroCARIBBEAN culture and how it diverges from continental African culture we can talk.

By the way this equally applies to IndoCARIBBEAN people who are now a CARIBBEAN people, no longer of India.

By the way try telling a Nigerian that Guyanese are "Africans" and watch and see how he howls with laughter.
Imagine the black folk in Linden can't get any other channel but NCN PPP gov't propaganda and these clowns are bringing in a 24 hour chinese station.

This is the ignorance of the muddahland Guyana.

The black folk should peep the chinese station, learn some chinese headache for judokah moves and kick the PPP ass.

How long does it take the black people to get a black channel?
Yuh should ah ask yuh daddy Bunham that before he croked.
Originally posted by Nuff:
Imagine the black folk in Linden can't get any other channel but NCN PPP gov't propaganda and these clowns are bringing in a 24 hour chinese station.

The black folk should peep the chinese station, learn some chinese headache for judokah moves and kick the PPP ass.

Originally posted by Nuff:

you could always buy a black and white tv Smile