Guyana to be told to implement anti-laundering reforms by May 2014 – AG

November 21, 2013 · By Stabroek editor · 0 Comments    2 mins ago

Attorney General Anil Nandlall today said that following a meeting in The Bahamas of the Caribbean Financial Action Task Force (CFATF) a formal letter will be sent to Guyana pointing to identified deficiencies in its anti-money laundering legislation and giving it up to May 2014 to implement the necessary reforms failing which it will be referred to the international financial task force.

In a statement he also said that the communiquÉ likely to be issued at the end of the today’s meeting will likely include a statement that “Members (of CFATF) are therefore called upon to consider implementing counter measures to protect their financial systems from the ongoing money laundering and terrorist financing risks emanating from Guyana.”

This would appear to fall short of the dire blacklisting that the government has been warning the country of over the failure by the opposition to support the reforms sought by the CFATF to the bill in the National Assembly.

The AG’s statement follows:

Statement by the Honourable Attorney General and Minister of Legal Affairs,

Mohabir Anil Nandlall MP.

At the XXXVIII Plenary Meeting of the Caribbean Financial Action Task Force (CFATF), held from November 20-21, 2013, in Freeport, Bahamas, it was resolved and decided that a Public Statement will be issued in respect of Guyana, identifying Guyana as a jurisdiction with “strategic AML/CFT deficiencies that have not made sufficient progress in addressing the deficiencies or have not complied with its Action Plan developed with CFATF to address these deficiencies”.  The Statement will be officially issued upon the conclusion of the Plenary Meeting on November 21, 2013.

The Statement is likely to contain the following information: 

In November 2011 the CFATF brought to the attention of its Members certain jurisdictions including Guyana with significant strategic deficiencies in their AML/CFT regime. With a view to encouraging expeditious rectification of the identified strategic deficiencies, Guyana and the CFATF developed an Action Plan with identified target dates to address the strategic deficiencies that exist in Guyana’s national architecture to combat money laundering and the financing of terrorism.  

As a result of not meeting the agreed timelines in its Action Plan, the CFATF issued a public statement in May 2013 recommending that Guyana take steps to ensure that it addressed its AML/CFT deficiencies. Guyana has made efforts to address its deficiencies, however, it has not taken sufficient steps towards improving its AML/CFT compliance regime by failing to approve and implement required legislative reforms. Guyana must therefore pass the relevant legislation and implement all the outstanding issues within its Action Plan including 1)fully criminalising money laundering and terrorist financing offences, 2) addressing all the requirements on beneficial ownership, 3) strengthening the requirements for suspicious transaction reporting, international co-operation, and the freezing and confiscation of terrorist assets, and 4) fully  implementing the UN conventions.         

Members are therefore called upon to consider implementing counter measures to protect their financial systems from the ongoing money laundering and terrorist financing risks emanating from Guyana. 

It was further resolved and decided that a formal letter be sent to Guyana advising that should the identified deficiencies be not satisfactorily rectified, namely, the approval and implementation of the required legislative reforms, by the next Plenary Meeting, that is, by May 2014, then Guyana will be referred by CFATF to the Financial Action Task Force (FATF) International Corporation Review Group (ICRG).

However, it must be emphasised that the FATF will have its next Plenary Meeting in February 2014, and at that meeting, on its own accord and independent of CFATF, FATF can select Guyana for its own review.

It is time that the Leadership of the PPP sit down with the opposition and hammer out a deal to pass the required legislation. No more finger pointing from politicians regarding this important matter. The people must hold all irresponsible politicians from all parties responsible if this bill fails to pass a second time.

Haha. The skies are not falling down on Guyana? 

Like you Underwear string Bruk???

Going Friday to spend out all your money at Garmount? Then go home and abuse your wife? 

Haha. The skies are not falling down on Guyana? 

Like you Underwear string Bruk???

Going Friday to spend out all your money at Garmount? Then go home and abuse your wife? 

Why would I go to gaumont if yuh Panty String Bruk????

Blame the corrupt PPP/C, not the opposition. The opposition has been telling the PPP/C  to appoint the Procurement Commission. But no, they do not want to appoint that commission because I think that their days for corruptions and thieving will stop, so they are scared to do so.

AFC told Donald that they will support the Laundering Bill if they (PPP/C) set up the Procurement Commission. So the cat and mouse game began.

The Opposition held out to the last moment, and the PPP/C left with laar in their hands.........keep on holding to laar PPP/C.

Originally Posted by asj:

Blame the corrupt PPP/C, not the opposition. The opposition has been telling the PPP/C  to appoint the Procurement Commission. But no, they do not want to appoint that commission because I think that their days for corruptions and thieving will stop, so they are scared to do so.

AFC told Donald that they will support the Laundering Bill if they (PPP/C) set up the Procurement Commission. So the cat and mouse game began.

The Opposition held out to the last moment, and the PPP/C left with laar in their hands.........keep on holding to laar PPP/C.

Total hogwash and lies by an afc/pnc propagandist. Donald proposed a 3/2 split for the public procurement commission but the afc/pnc rejected this proposal. The way it works is that the govt provides the names to the commission and the parliament approves it. But because the parliament is now stacked by obstructionists in the afc/pnc, the commission body can not be formed as the opposition afc/pnc crooks keep voting down the govt proposals. liar liar

What you are saying makes no sense, there is nothing like 3/2 split, you either sign the friiggin  bill in its entirey or you do not sign it at all, what Donald signs means nothing. It just like he did not signs it. Even a School kid will know that, can't believe you are so blunt.

Did you find out why he did not sign the third part? simple like I said before (I am not here to give you an education) He kknows that their days for corruptions and thieving will stop, so that is why he did not sign.

Ramotar is a lier, and cannot be trusted, and since he is, then what impression can one have of him when he signs two out of three, when three is required to be signed.

What you are saying makes no sense, there is nothing like 3/2 split, you either sign the friiggin  bill in its entirey or you do not sign it at all, what Donald signs means nothing. It just like he did not signs it. Even a School kid will know that, can't believe you are so blunt.

Did you find out why he did not sign the third part? simple like I said before (I am not here to give you an education) He kknows that their days for corruptions and thieving will stop, so that is why he did not sign.

Ramotar is a lier, and cannot be trusted, and since he is, then what impression can one have of him when he signs two out of three, when three is required to be signed.

With dummies like you in the AFC/PNC no wonder you are the laughing stock of Guyana. What do you think the public procurement committee is? Its made up of 5 qualified individuals, nominated. The only function of parliament is an up or down vote, the opposition always voted down.

According to SN

Ramotar said he subsequently proposed that the ruling party in parliament should nominate three and the opposition two. “They rejected that,” he said, adding that the process did not advance much further. “I will admit that this has taken place a while ago, but I hope that this matter can be resolved as early as possible,” he said.

With dummies like you in the AFC/PNC no wonder you are the laughing stock of Guyana. What do you think the public procurement committee is? Its made up of 5 qualified individuals, nominated. The only function of parliament is an up or down vote, the opposition always voted down.

According to SN

Ramotar said he subsequently proposed that the ruling party in parliament should nominate three and the opposition two. “They rejected that,” he said, adding that the process did not advance much further. “I will admit that this has taken place a while ago, but I hope that this matter can be resolved as early as possible,” he said.

Shithead you are fishing for more info eh!!! Well you get no more, but all I can tell you is that of the five representatives, the Government wants a majority on the commission, as their idea is to continue with their thieving and corruptions. Not so fast says the AFC/APNU you are not the majority so you do not get majority of three, you only get two.

Donald is not satisfied with that, he wants the Corrupted PPP/C to control this committee by a majority of 3. AFC/APNU will never agree to accept 2 and continue with the corruptions of the PPP/C.  Many observers believe that corruption is one of the reasons why many PPP supporters failed to turn out to vote at the last elections thereby depriving the PPP of its absolute majority. So now what have we seen? Government has no intention of curbing the widespread corruptions because Corrupted PPP/C, its members, friends and supporters benefit from it. 

Stop being vague in your response, say something that makes sense, that people can understand.

Big seed please explain to us here on GNI

why the minority 48% .....must have 3 Representative...

and the Majority 52%..... must have only 2 Representatives.

Yuh go mek Rev laugh .....

that is Godey Logics yuh using.

Rev say he is a numbers Expert...

and he will tell you...

Majority  must have Majority Representatives.

and Minority must have Minority Representatives.

It does not matter how many

Godey Fellas or Auntymen

make up that minority.

Shithead you are fishing for more info eh!!! Well you get no more, but all I can tell you is that of the five representatives, the Government wants a majority on the commission, as their idea is to continue with their thieving and corruptions. Not so fast says the AFC/APNU you are not the majority so you do not get majority of three, you only get two.

Donald is not satisfied with that, he wants the Corrupted PPP/C to control this committee by a majority of 3. AFC/APNU will never agree to accept 2 and continue with the corruptions of the PPP/C.  Many observers believe that corruption is one of the reasons why many PPP supporters failed to turn out to vote at the last elections thereby depriving the PPP of its absolute majority. So now what have we seen? Government has no intention of curbing the widespread corruptions because Corrupted PPP/C, its members, friends and supporters benefit from it. 

Stop being vague in your response, say something that makes sense, that people can understand.

I don't see how you can be a moderator and be abusing the forum rules.

Your mental capacity lacks the ability to comprehend the functioning of the procurement process. What is being proposed by the AFC is not effective if the goal is to curtail corrupt practices. The procurement process as it exists to day will remain with the current system, the addendum that the AFC is proposing will only allow the council to address grievances by bidders who claim that they were unfairly rejected. The vetting of bidders and process of selecting the winners will remain the same. The council proposed by the AFC will not be selecting the winning bid.  

This back and forth taunting by afc/pnc and the ppp shows political immaturity with this new situation of the opposition in majority in parliament. The opposition is power drunk and the ruling party unwilling to compromise. This spells bad news for the development of the nation as individual parliamentarians who are not elected individually can not vote their conscience, they have to vote along party lines. There is no accountability.