Guyana to introduce witness protection law

Witnesses with valuable information in important court cases would soon be granted protection including change of their identities.

Minister of Governance, Raphael Trotman announced Thursday that the government would soon be tabling Witness Protection legislation in the House.

He said Guyana’s witness protection programme would see witnesses having access to safe houses and new identities wherever possible.

Trotman told reporters that the initiative, would see Guyana cooperating with Trinidad and Tobago, Jamaica, and Barbados since they already have such a program ongoing.

He related that these countries move witnesses from state to state, which is something that Guyana would be looking to capitalize on.

More to the issue, he revealed that the Government may be looking to draw down from grant funding recently made available from Britain for the initiative.

Aspects of the programme would see persons being given entirely new lives complete with new identities and possible physical changes.

If passed by the 65-seat House, the Witness Protection Law would be the latest in a series of laws to help authorities fight major crimes and convict perpetrators.

The others are laws for plea bargaining and the interception of phone calls.

Witnesses with valuable information in important court cases would soon be granted protection including change of their identities.

Minister of Governance, Raphael Trotman announced Thursday that the government would soon be tabling Witness Protection legislation in the House.

He said Guyana’s witness protection programme would see witnesses having access to safe houses and new identities wherever possible.

Trotman told reporters that the initiative, would see Guyana cooperating with Trinidad and Tobago, Jamaica, and Barbados since they already have such a program ongoing.

He related that these countries move witnesses from state to state, which is something that Guyana would be looking to capitalize on.

More to the issue, he revealed that the Government may be looking to draw down from grant funding recently made available from Britain for the initiative.

Aspects of the programme would see persons being given entirely new lives complete with new identities and possible physical changes.

If passed by the 65-seat House, the Witness Protection Law would be the latest in a series of laws to help authorities fight major crimes and convict perpetrators.

Banna, you being foolish again. These laws are necessary but are not passed to "capture" Jagdeo....I know anything with Jagdeo seems to get you excited

Originally Posted by VishMahabir:

Banna, you being foolish again. These laws are necessary but are not passed to "capture" Jagdeo....I know anything with Jagdeo seems to get you excited

Wha yuhy sehing deh?? Dhal Puri gat the HOTS fuh Jaggy???

This is something that is desperately needed in Guyana. However there are issues. I wonder where in Guyana they will move these people with their new identities. We are a relatively small country with a small population. Also,who will trust the system to keep their identity and location secret. Maybe, they need to develop an arrangement with foreign governments to help facilitate the process of protecting these witnesses after they have given testimony,  new identity in a foreign country. 

Z
Originally Posted by VishMahabir:

Wha yuhy sehing deh?? Dhal Puri gat the HOTS fuh Jaggy???

Hmmm!Interesting observation. Nehru bhai, you think you can name Jaggy secret afficionado? Juss wan lil hint?

These clowns can even protect the citizens from every day criminal brutality and they want to protect witness. Give me a f'ing break. The criminals are smarter than all the PNC incompetents. When criminals surprised Ramjattan, Rayon King. land judge, and prime minister candidate daughter, who the hell is Trotman to talk protection? Come on, let's be serious.

Bro, give up on you nonsense. You getting stupidy like them.

Jalil has become GNI's laughing stock.

He is of no value to any party to Guyana and according to a confidential memo, he's begged for food and a lil change.

He is best served by finding a job and becoming a meaningful member of society.

Dude shut your behind.  Why are you more meaningful to society and not him? Why are you not hand to mouth and not him? Note....you do not want people to actually begin to track you down just because you cannot help being stupid and personal. I can do it