Guyana to seek additional Amaila partners : -PresidentPDFPrintE-mail
Written by Nadine Sanchara   
Thursday, 22 August 2013 22:11

GUYANA is going to continue to seek additional partners for the Amaila Falls Hydropower Project (AFHP) to ensure that the project comes into fruition.

This pronouncement was made by President Donald Ramotar while underscoring the benefits of cheaper sources of energy at the commissioning of the Bio-ethanol plant at Albion, Berbice. 

The AFHP has been threatened after Sithe Global, a major investor, withdrew from the project citing the need for national consensus, following the non-support of the major opposition party, A Partnership for National Unity (APNU), for the amendments to the Hydroelectric Act and a motion to increase the debt ceiling on external loans, both of which were critical to the AFHP.

The president said that the worst that could happen to the project at this time would be a delay, but not a long delay as before, alluding to failed previous attempts at developing a hydropower plant in Guyana.
He pointed out that the Amaila Falls plant is supposed to be handed over to Guyana in 20 years, but noted that even before that, in the first 12 years, electricity bills will be reduced by 40 percent. 

Moreover, he advised that in the following eight years, electricity bills will go down by 71 percent and by time the plant is handed over to Guyana, it will be reduced by 91 percent, the mere operating cost of the plant.
Ramotar said that with cheap energy, more investment can be attracted into Guyana and that this is why the current situation with the project is “such a painful issue” since it is a project that would touch the lives of every single person living in the country in a positive way.

$6B Electricity Subsidy 

He related that some $6B was spent last year to subsidise electricity, in order to prevent the ordinary people and businesses from paying more than they already do, and he stated further that approximately the same amount will be spent in that regard this year.
In addition, he noted that Guyana’s single largest import bill is that of fuel used to generate electricity. 

He said that if the country gets a cheap source of energy, such as that which Amaila promises, the country will be saving a significant amount which can then be invested in other areas.

“If we generate electricity by renewable source, like hydro, that money could be saved to deal with many of the social problems that we have in the society, or to be invested in the productive sector so that we can generate more wealth,” Ramotar asserted.
Meanwhile, speaking at the same forum, Agriculture Minister, Dr. Leslie Ramsammy told the president that he, and the Government of Guyana, should not be discouraged by the “irresponsibility of a small group of Guyanese.”

“I say to you that this nation is behind you. We want hydroelectricity now, we want Amaila now. We do not want to dream another 20 years, another 40 years...” he asserted.
Ramsammy stated that the government’s pursuit of hydroelectricity via the Amaila hydroelectric plant has been recognised by people throughout the country, as not only an exciting venture but a necessity as well.

He noted that for Guyana’s development to be accelerated, a cheaper source of energy is needed, and if the people are going to be ensured access to reliable, affordable energy, the AFHP must be realised.

Quote:

The president said that the worst that could happen to the project at this time would be a delay, but not a long delay as before, alluding to failed previous attempts at developing a hydropower plant in Guyana.

Unquote:

The hydropower project will become a reality, despite the setback.

“I say to you that this nation is behind you. We want hydroelectricity now, we want Amaila now. We do not want to dream another 20 years, another 40 years...” he asserted.

95% of Guyanese support this project and the government is not giving up. If this project commence without APNU on board, they will see their demise at the pole in 2016. The AFC will get a little credit for supporting the project, but for all the wrongs they've done from the beginning, their death will come slower. Question: Can the government go ahead with the Hydro-Power project without APNU on board (providing they get the financing and another company to replace Sithe Global)?

Quote:

Unquote:

A massive project will never become a reality in its present construct. Further, they should start on a small hydro project9 20 to 30 Megawatt, learn from it, then seek to build the big one. Meanwhile, begin to compartmentalize the grid.  Facilitate input from solar to it since every house in Guyana can produce electricity for the grid, add at least ten 10megawatt wind turbines. None of that will accrue much beyond to the amount they paid fip to be a pretend road builder.

What the people say about… the Amaila Falls Hydro Project

Interviews and photos by Shabna Ullah

20130819mohammedMohamed Haniff, Imam of NA

`Everybody agrees that Guyana is in need of hydropower. The Amaila Falls Hydro Project is the most viable solution for Guyana’s electricity needs. From all the reports that we have had from the experts, it is an economically viable project. We understand that the cost for electricity for consumers for the first seven years of the operation of the project would be down by 40%. And in the next 13 years, we understand it would be down by almost 70%. In addition to that there is one benefit where government subsidizes GPL every year and after the project that money can be put to other use. We also understand that it will be no indebtedness to the Guyanese people because GPL will be selling electricity to the consumers and the proceeds would pay the loans. All that the Guyana government would be doing is guaranteeing the repayment. There are just a few people from the opposition who are condemning the project and I think all their questions have been answered. Sithe Global had a condition where there must be political consensus that all the parties must agree to it. The experts have explained that in the next 20 years developed and undeveloped countries would be unable to purchase fossil fuel. They would find it difficult to maintain their economy unless they find alternative source of energy. From since in the 50s Guyana’s political leaders have agreed that Guyana needs hydropower.’

20130819ishmaelIshmael King, vendor

‘I think it is a good project, especially if it means cheaper electricity bill for the Guyanese people. The opposition should go ahead and support it seeing that everything was done under scrutiny. If the deal was done secretly then it would have been bad because secret is for personal gain where maybe just a few would benefit. I believe that Sithe Global went away because they probably acknowledged a set of (irregularities) within the contract. Instead of their name being tarnished as an international company they decide to pull out and I see nothing wrong with that. There are other companies that can come in and build the hydro project. All these secret deals that the government signed in the past, they need to review them and realize that the opposition has the majority in the house. They cannot go about and do as they feel especially like what happen to the Berbice River. The private companies invested a lot into it and they are gaining the benefit and the commuters losing. They have to know what they’re doing. We don’t need these multi-million dollar contracts to just run down the drain and in the future our children feeling the squeeze.’

20130819robby Robby Saywack, Self-employed,

`I feel the joint Opposition is playing politics with the nation’s future and has effectively pushed a spoke into the wheel of development of our beautiful country, Guyana. Amaila Falls Hydro in my opinion would have boosted development in our country by providing cheaper, reliable electricity to the manufacturing and processing sectors of our economy. Imagine rice millers having access to cheap reliable electricity to process farmers’ paddy resulting in lower production costs and an extra dollar for the farmers. Now the Opposition’s point on finance is that Amaila should not have been a stand alone project but a part of a cluster of hydros to use the same transmission lines. Funny the way these politicians think. This in my view should have been placed on the table while approving the project, like the AFC did with the Local Government bills. The WPA’s Dr. Clive Thomas posited that by 2019 Amaila would not be able to supply the demand for power for local consumption. Imagine that the surge in industries that would have come on stream by 2019 not to mention the jobs created. Come on, this should all have been placed on the table for discussion while giving approval for Amaila and the harnessing of others to form a cluster of hydros as reflected in the speech by the goodly Shadow Finance Minister recently. Let us put Guyana first above partisan politics and don’t oppose  for the sake of opposing and cheap political kudos.’

20130819ameenaAmeena Gaffar, businesswoman

`Everybody is glad for cheap electricity and I think that the opposition should support it. I heard that Sithe Global has pulled out but I think they should come back because they already invested their money. Besides, they understand all about the project. It has already gone far so why they want to stop it now?’

Clement Murray, security guard,

20130819clement`I think government is doing a good thing but it is just time before they get it done. I strongly believe that it would be something good for the Guyanese people. And all of the political leaders who are against it should come together as one and support it. They need to come off of this foolishness and think about the benefit of the people. With regards to Sithe Global, I have no comments about that.’

Goswami Balkarran, pump operator at GuySuCo,

`I really feel that all of the politicians should support the project because it is not for our benefit alone but for the children coming up. What we are looking at is that if they go ahead with this project the electricity bills would be less and we wouldn’t find it a burden to pay. The cost of living is already high and we should look at it as a way of cutting our expenses. I think the other parties should support it. I cannot say anything about the company that walked off.’

20130819rafina Rafina Hackim, accountant,

`The cost for electricity is already very high and it is not easy for persons to pay all that money every month. If they are earning a small salary and most if it has to go towards electricity, how would they live? Electricity is a basic need, not luxury. People have to use irons, fans, a fridge and now every home is getting a computer. These are not the days of going backwards. The project is a way of moving forward but some people are trying to pull it backwards. Because of the country moving forward, the children are now even accelerating in the academic fields and earning up to 20 subjects at the CSEC examination.’

20130819mohanMohan Mansankar, office assistant,

`If this is progress for the country, then what is the big fuss? Everyone should support it first word because many people are struggling with the little money they earn.

It is very hard for cheap rates that is still good. The country cannot move forward if the political leaders are going to fight like that. They need to co-operate and run the country for the benefit of everybody.’

Extracted from Stabroeknews

Dufus...edit the page.

Originally Posted by Danyael:

Quote:

Unquote:

A massive project will never become a reality in its present construct. Further, they should start on a small hydro project9 20 to 30 Megawatt, learn from it, then seek to build the big one.

Project(s) of 20 to 30 megawatts where and to serve whom?

About eighty projects were evaluated and the current one is selected for development.

Your choice to simply talk while progress will continue all around you.

Originally Posted by Danyael:

Quote:

Unquote:

A massive project will never become a reality in its present construct. Further, they should start on a small hydro project9 20 to 30 Megawatt, learn from it, then seek to build the big one. Meanwhile, begin to compartmentalize the grid.  Facilitate input from solar to it since every house in Guyana can produce electricity for the grid, add at least ten 10megawatt wind turbines. None of that will accrue much beyond to the amount they paid fip to be a pretend road builder.

Then you will find another reason to be critical.  The GoG said the AFHP will not be enough in a few short years and people already up in arms.  Now you say it's a better idea to build one that could handle a mid-size village.  Shut yuh rass.