Home > NEWS > Guyana attracted US$1.326 billion in foreign direct investment
Guyana attracted US$1.326 billion in foreign direct investment

- between 2006 and 2012

GUYANA has been able to attract US$1.326 billion in foreign direct investment between the period 2006 and 2012.

Tameca Sukhdeo-Singh

Over the same period, it has seen credit to the private sector increase from G$30.6 billion in 2006 to G$82.6 billion in 2012, almost a 300 percent expansion in the six-year period.

This disclosure was made by Coordinator of National Events/Administrator in the Ministry of Tourism, Industry and Commerce, Tameca Sukhdeo-Singh, who was at the time speaking at the launch, last Friday evening, of ‘West Indies Vodka Cooler’ which comprises six tantalising flavours of vodka dubbed ‘cocktails in a bottle’. The event, hosted by the CARICOM Bottling Company Inc., a Guyanese business, was held at the Gravity Lounge on Regent and Camp Streets, Georgetown.

Sukhdeo-Singh said growth in the local economy and the willingness of the private sector to make strategic investments is credited to “cost and availability of doing business”, “cost and productivity of local labour”, and “quality of the labour force and education system”.

These factors are important catalysts for development while diversifying the economic base to improve the resilience of our domestic economy, she remarked.
She said Government has developed a comprehensive action plan aimed at improving the business and institutional environment.

“This action plan consists of more than 60 competitiveness and efficiency-enhancing reforms and which will be implemented in a coordinated manner across 10 targeted policy areas. These include starting a business, dealing with construction permits/licences, getting electricity, registering property, getting credit, protecting investors, paying taxes, trading across borders, enforcing contracts and resolving insolvency.

“It is envisaged that successful implementation of the Action Plan will see the improvement in Guyana’s ranking on the World Bank’s Doing Business Index (DBI) – from its current position of 114, to 80 by 2015,” she said.

(By Michel Outridge)

Dem people in the opposition wants to go back in power so they can full their pockets.  They know the treasury is not empty like it was when the PNC left office. The PPP have been saving up too much money in the gov't coffers. These opposition guys are hungry for that money like Hyenas are hungry for the kill of Lions.

Home > NEWS > Guyana attracted US$1.326 billion in foreign direct investment

- between 2006 and 2012

GUYANA has been able to attract US$1.326 billion in foreign direct investment between the period 2006 and 2012.

Tameca Sukhdeo-Singh

Over the same period, it has seen credit to the private sector increase from G$30.6 billion in 2006 to G$82.6 billion in 2012, almost a 300 percent expansion in the six-year period.

This disclosure was made by Coordinator of National Events/Administrator in the Ministry of Tourism, Industry and Commerce, Tameca Sukhdeo-Singh, who was at the time speaking at the launch, last Friday evening, of ‘West Indies Vodka Cooler’ which comprises six tantalising flavours of vodka dubbed ‘cocktails in a bottle’. The event, hosted by the CARICOM Bottling Company Inc., a Guyanese business, was held at the Gravity Lounge on Regent and Camp Streets, Georgetown.

Sukhdeo-Singh said growth in the local economy and the willingness of the private sector to make strategic investments is credited to “cost and availability of doing business”, “cost and productivity of local labour”, and “quality of the labour force and education system”.

These factors are important catalysts for development while diversifying the economic base to improve the resilience of our domestic economy, she remarked.
She said Government has developed a comprehensive action plan aimed at improving the business and institutional environment.

“This action plan consists of more than 60 competitiveness and efficiency-enhancing reforms and which will be implemented in a coordinated manner across 10 targeted policy areas. These include starting a business, dealing with construction permits/licences, getting electricity, registering property, getting credit, protecting investors, paying taxes, trading across borders, enforcing contracts and resolving insolvency.

“It is envisaged that successful implementation of the Action Plan will see the improvement in Guyana’s ranking on the World Bank’s Doing Business Index (DBI) – from its current position of 114, to 80 by 2015,” she said.

(By Michel Outridge)

How much of this FDI has been in sectors outside of mining?  Even the most war torn parts of Africa have attracted FDI for mining, so why is this regarded as such a feat?

Itemize new industrial or service related activities with HIGH wages.  Bet you cant.

Of course once again I see another Indian spokes person.  Like blacks aren't suitable to do anything outside of the police, GDF or acting as morons sitting down looking bored in a town hall meeting.

Yet all the garbage and floods? Then former president have to fly overseas for belly wuk?

Gyal i like yu answer. Dem cant get simple things right and dem want FDI. Jokers.

How much of this FDI has been in sectors outside of mining?  Even the most war torn parts of Africa have attracted FDI for mining, so why is this regarded as such a feat?

Itemize new industrial or service related activities with HIGH wages.  Bet you cant.

Of course once again I see another Indian spokes person.  Like blacks aren't suitable to do anything outside of the police, GDF or acting as morons sitting down looking bored in a town hall meeting.

Why don't you acknowledge that Guyana is prospering? Gold is a major contributor however there are all type of micro industries ranging from furniture makers to farmers that are contributing to the nation's growth. Being house bound in a section 8 apartment is no excuse for your lack of knowledge about Guyana.

And on another note, when Blacks join the PPP en masse then they will have opportunities to become spokespersons. Currently most are working with their handlers in the pnc/afc to destroy the nation. 

Why don't you acknowledge that Guyana is prospering? Gold is a major contributor however there are all type of micro industries ranging from furniture makers to farmers that are contributing to the nation's growth. Being house bound in a section 8 apartment is no excuse for your lack of knowledge about Guyana.

And on another note, when Blacks join the PPP en masse then they will have opportunities to become spokespersons. Currently most are working with their handlers in the pnc/afc to destroy the nation. 

A WATAK MOMENT.

Bgurd throws a punch Like the Great Muhamad Ali. Check to see if Carib is still awake after that knock out punch.

Round one goes to Bgurd. 

 when Blacks join the PPP en masse then they will have opportunities to become spokespersons. Currently most are working with their handlers in the pnc/afc to destroy the nation. 

The PPP and you cant stop being racist, keeping blacks as semi slaves and taking credit for things over which you have no control.

So how can Guyana progress if you exclude almost half of the population?  Don't you know that businesses flourish when more people live better because they have more to spend?

If our economy grows because gold prices are high, that isn't progress.  That is luck, because the opposite will happen if prices drop.

Why should the PPP be given credit because gold prices are high?

I expect that you think that when Indians were kept out because they didn't support the PNC you didn't think that was racist.

Round one goes to Bgurd. 

ahh, druggie, Nehru and yuji, all racists united by their hatred of blacks comfort each other.

Foolishly you fail to note that keeping blacks out hurts Indians too because if blacks remain poor they have little to spend.  If the Indian population shrinks and the PPP fails to attract blacks, the prospects for its eventually defeat increases.

So comfort each other you three racists.

WATTACK!!!!!!!!!!!

This disclosure was made by Coordinator of National Events/Administrator in the Ministry of Tourism, Industry and Commerce, Tameca Sukhdeo-Singh, who was at the time speaking at the launch, last Friday evening, of ‘West Indies Vodka Cooler’ which comprises six tantalising flavours of vodka dubbed ‘cocktails in a bottle’.

Would you accept financial advice or believe financial figures from a drunk gyal at a vodka drinking event?

The PPP and you cant stop being racist, keeping blacks as semi slaves and taking credit for things over which you have no control.

So how can Guyana progress if you exclude almost half of the population?  Don't you know that businesses flourish when more people live better because they have more to spend?

If our economy grows because gold prices are high, that isn't progress.  That is luck, because the opposite will happen if prices drop.

I expect that you think that when Indians were kept out because they didn't support the PNC you didn't think that was racist.

It appears that you lack understanding of the simplest of concepts. A PPP supporter as a spokesperson does not infer that Blacks are being shut out, it only indicates that they are not large members of the PPP. Imagine if the PPP had made a Black PNC member a spokesperson, they would immediately lambaste the govt and Guyana instead of keeping a positive attitude. 

The PPP are not excluding Blacks, in fact they are welcomed and coerced with free liquor and music to join and vote PPP to no avail. Hence it is unlikely they will ascend to positions reserved for the party loyal. 

Now Blacks are free to join private enterprise and reap the reward of capitalism, however people like yourself keep telling them they are entitled to freeness and job welfare from govt. What is preventing a Black from opening a business like Indians do? Nothing, as we see many Black businesses prospering around the nation. Obama recently stated that Blacks should stop the excuses, you should listen!

Obama: There's no longer time for excuses for black men

President Obama on Sunday told the graduating class at Morehouse College, the country's pre-eminent historically black college, there is "no time for excuses" for this generation of African-American men and that it was time for their generation to step up professionally and in their personal lives.

It appears that you lack understanding of the simplest of concepts. A PPP supporter as a spokesperson does not infer that Blacks are being shut out, it only indicates that they are not large members of the PPP. Imagine if the PPP had made a Black PNC member a spokesperson, they would immediately lambaste the govt and Guyana instead of keeping a positive attitude. 

The PPP are not excluding Blacks, in fact they are welcomed and coerced with free liquor and music to join and vote PPP to no avail. Hence it is unlikely they will ascend to positions reserved for the party loyal. 

Now Blacks are free to join private enterprise and reap the reward of capitalism, however people like yourself keep telling them they are entitled to freeness and job welfare from govt. What is preventing a Black from opening a business like Indians do? Nothing, as we see many Black businesses prospering around the nation. Obama recently stated that Blacks should stop the excuses, you should listen!

President Obama on Sunday told the graduating class at Morehouse College, the country's pre-eminent historically black college, there is "no time for excuses" for this generation of African-American men and that it was time for their generation to step up professionally and in their personal lives.

Round Two

Bgurd delivers a knockout punch. Carib is down and stays down.

Round Two

Bgurd delivers a knockout punch. Carib is down and stays down.

You are only saying that because you are an ingrained racist.