Originally Posted by Conscience:

Guyana's economy is projected to grow by 5.3% this year, a fact the goons of the opposition are fighting, Guyana is indeed on the rise and will continue on the path of development

Every vacant spot in our capital city will be replaced by commercial buildings like one standing where the old Metropole Cinema once stood. Warning! Don't go to places where you can get a heart attack!

Originally Posted by ABIDHA:

Guyana's economy is projected to grow by 5.3% this year, a fact the goons of the opposition are fighting, Guyana is indeed on the rise and will continue on the path of development

Every vacant spot in our capital city will be replaced by commercial buildings like one standing where the old Metropole Cinema once stood. Warning! Don't go to places where you can get a heart attack!

Going to these places you are more likely to get a choke and rob attack dude...get real..

Originally Posted by sachin_05:

Going to these places you are more likely to get a choke and rob attack dude...get real..

You're nothing more than a disgusting mother fu'cker!

It is what it is...you don't like it..go suck on a boner....

Abidha, you losing it.

$160M hotel opened on Hadfield St

The $160M, 50-room, four-storey Millennium Manor Hotel was opened last night at 43 Hadfield Street.

In a brief opening ceremony, proprietor Lancelot Bacchus said that this venture was part of their efforts in returning home to share in the development of Guyana’s tourism industry.

The Werk-en-Rust hotel is located two buildings east of Camp Street.
Bacchus expressed thanks to Go-Invest for giving them the opportunity to return and invest in the country. He said they felt the need to build the hotel so that they can give back to Guyana.

Originally Posted by albert:

$160M hotel opened on Hadfield St

The $160M, 50-room, four-storey Millennium Manor Hotel was opened last night at 43 Hadfield Street.

In a brief opening ceremony, proprietor Lancelot Bacchus said that this venture was part of their efforts in returning home to share in the development of Guyana’s tourism industry.

The Werk-en-Rust hotel is located two buildings east of Camp Street.
Bacchus expressed thanks to Go-Invest for giving them the opportunity to return and invest in the country. He said they felt the need to build the hotel so that they can give back to Guyana.

I wish them the best,hope they do well. I also look forward to reading a follow up in time on this.

Originally Posted by Sheik101:

And you're nothing more than a balls less coward. Don't let the infrastructure fool you, Guyana is a dangerous place. Sadly, you wouldn't know anything about this since you lack the ballsack to book a ticket and head down there. So keep doing what you do best. dream on coward. What an ass!!!

Yuh talkin SHIT, the man was there about 6 weeks ago. Get your facts straight.

I know you're a good friend and all, but you need to stop sticking your neck out so far. Its not worth it. This guy hasn't touch foot in guyana since '92. he knows nothing aside what is gleamed from the tabloids.
He sees beautiful houses and such like and think all is well. Not so the case. there is an underlying danger. One false move and you could get robbed and shot to bits. Again, don't let the beauty of the place and the reality confuse you. If one wishes to promote one's homeland, that's good. But, portray the upside and the downside too. And most importantly, one's has to be there physically. Not hiding in the living room in R\H

I know you're a good friend and all, but you need to stop sticking your neck out so far. Its not worth it. This guy hasn't touch foot in guyana since '92. he knows nothing aside what is gleamed from the tabloids.
He sees beautiful houses and such like and think all is well. Not so the case. there is an underlying danger. One false move and you could get robbed and shot to bits. Again, don't let the beauty of the place and the reality confuse you. If one wishes to promote one's homeland, that's good. But, portray the upside and the downside too. And most importantly, one's has to be there physically. Not hiding in the living room in R\H

Carry on. I am trying to stop you from embarrassing yourself and you keep going.

And I'm trying to stop you from jumping to the defense of someone who has no knowledge of what going on in the Republic. Good luck.

Nehru, When he go Guyana,he must tell Robert that Sheik send he fuh help in the 'PICK IT UP GUYANA' Program. Instead of talking crap on GNI whole day, here's a perfect opputunity to do something meaningful back in the homeland

Bhai, GT gat Nuff Pigs living there. Deh man was in Paradise Berbice.

Nehru, When he go Guyana,he must tell Robert that Sheik send he fuh help in the 'PICK IT UP GUYANA' Program. Instead of talking crap on GNI whole day, here's a perfect opputunity to do something meaningful back in the homeland

Why do you suppose we have a Mayor in the form of Hamilton Green?

City Hall building could collapse anytime – Grenadian architect

By Svetlana Marshall

City Hall

City Hall

City Hall building is on the brink of collapsing said a team of Grenadian architects who inspected the historic building on Wednesday. “This building is in cardiac arrest and that’s a concern. There are some issues; climatic issues have to be arrested very urgently. It’s being occupied, it’s a living organism and there are aspects of it if not dealt with very urgently could be irreversible,” said Nigel Renwick after inspecting the building on Wednesday.

Renwick, an architect, travelled from Grenada to Guyana on Tuesday along with team member Ihosvany De Oca Morales to inspect the City Hall building as part of the municipality’s restoration project. In reiterating the need for urgent repairs to be executed on the age-old building, Renwick pointed out that the recent downpours have given him the opportunity to see the impact of the weather on the deterioration of the building. “The pace at which it is deteriorating is increasing rapidly.”

The architect said a preliminary report will be soon compiled and submitted to the City Council on immediate steps to be taken to preserve the building until extensive repairs are executed.

Morales during a press conference said all Guyanese should strive to preserve City Hall, noting that there remains only a few historic buildings of this kind in the region. “This is a very peculiar project; it’s a very important icon. My approach to it is not Guyanese interest, but it’s going to extend to other regions into an international concern.”

While the architects were inspecting City Hall, electrical sparks emanated from the upper floor of the building. The Guyana Fire Service and Guyana Power and Light Company (GPL) were called in to render assistance in an effort to prevent a catastrophe.

From left: Grenadian architect Ihosvany De Oca Morales, City Mayor Hamilton Green, Nigel Renwick, another architect from Grenada and former City Engineer Berkley Wickham

The council was able to secure the expertise of the two architects who are specialised in historic buildings across the Caribbean, through the assistance of former city engineers Berkley Wickham and Egbert Carter. Wickham, Carter and Eddie Grant have being playing an integral role since the commencement of the City Hall Restoration Project.

According to Mayor Hamilton Green the council is assiduously working to meet the deadline and sell the project in such a manner that leaves the U.S. with no other choice than to award the funds to City Hall.

Guyana has won the competition in the past. The Town Hall in New Amsterdam and Castellani House were renovated using funds from the Ambassador Funds for Preservation of Culture.

Mayor Green said when funds are garnered; a special committee will be established to manage the affairs of the project. He noted that no member of the council or municipality will be involved in the works of the community. According to Mayor Green, this decision by the council is to guarantee transparency.  “I want to have nothing to do with it; I want to have nothing to do with it. We will request a group of business people to come and form a committee, open an account and every cent coming in will be accounted for and must be spent in a transparent manager,” the mayor had said.

Deputy Mayor Patricia Chase-Green echoed similar sentiments, as she called on all Guyanese and regional and international organisations to play their part in the restoration project. “Over the 18 years, I have worked here as a councillor, I have seen â€Ķthe deterioration of this building, I have sat in this building and heard noises outside, when we went outside, we saw pieces falling from outside, windows hanging. It’s sad.”

"The council was able to secure the expertise of the two architects who are specialised in historic buildings across the Caribbean, through the assistance of former city engineers Berkley Wickham and Egbert Carter. Wickham, Carter and Eddie Grant have being playing an integral role since the commencement of the City Hall Restoration Project."

A who dis Eddie Grant?  We gonna walk down to Electric Avenue