Vice President (Operations) of the Caribbean Development Bank (CDB), Dr. Carla Barnett today praised Guyana’s economic performance, which has and continues to withstand the effects of the global financial crisis.

Dr. Barnett is currently leading a delegation from the bank in talks with the Government with regards to its new country strategy. She said that financial crisis has impacted the region quite profoundly.

In the case of the CDB, this impact is seen in the demand for additional borrowing. She went on to explain that borrowing member countries have severely constrained capacities to borrow at this time.

“In many of the countries we have seen growth decline, but Guyana is an exception, and in the last few years, we have seen the economy in Guyana actually expand,” Dr. Barnett said.

Dr Carla Barnett, Vice President [operations), Caribbean Development Bank

Dr Carla Barnett, Vice President (operations), Caribbean Development Bank

Last year, Guyana’s economy fared well on the upward trajectory; recording a growth of approximately four percent.

While traditional sectors such as sugar, bauxite, and rice continue to contribute significantly to economic development, new and emerging sectors are flourishing as well. These include to a large extent, tourism and mining.

In agriculture, rice with a target of 412,000 tonnes has again outdone itself; recording a production of over 422,058 tonnes, by far, the largest output in the history of rice production in Guyana with overall average yield being 4.6 tonnes per hectare.

Sugar on the other hand, did not perform as required and had it met its target; the country’s growth rate would have been higher. Gold production on the other hand, reached over 400,000 ounces in 2012.

Last year, the country’s economic performance received kudos from another prominent international body, the International Monetary Fund (IMF) which projected a growth of 5.5% in 2013.

The IMF had pointed out that the policies of the Government are designed to support the country’s macroeconomic resilience and sustained growth.

Since 2006, because of prudent fiscal management, the economy has been showing its resilience, recording growth every year.

You will escape the crisis if your economy is not integrated into global markets, if you are buffered by high gold price (a good luck factor) and if altruistic remittances account for 30% of GDP. A diplomat will tell you things you want to hear. 

Originally Posted by TK:

You will escape the crisis if your economy is not integrated into global markets, if you are buffered by high gold price (a good luck factor) and if altruistic remittances account for 30% of GDP. A diplomat will tell you things you want to hear. 

TK burning with Envy. 

Originally Posted by TK:

Oh lord, anything else, world greatest economist?  TK, half of life is good luck.

Originally Posted by TK:

You know who a Diplomat is, right?????

Originally Posted by TK:

===

Working at places like CDB and Caricom requires one to be a diplomat in addition to being a technician. I was asked if I am interested in Director of the Caricom Competition Commission and said no because I am not a diplomat. I do not suffer fools like yourself lightly. 

Originally Posted by TK:

===

Working at places like CDB and Caricom requires one to be a diplomat in addition to being a technician. I was asked if I am interested in Director of the Caricom Competition Commission and said no because I am not a diplomat. I do not suffer fools like yourself lightly. 

Bannas, You does Mek Laff story. I ask you a simple question and yuh start shitting.

Originally Posted by TK:

She merely compares commodity based economies like Guyana, where gold is now the largest export, with service based economies like Barbados.

It is clear that Guyana's economy is doing well.  Now whether this has anything to do with the govt is another story, unless some one can show how Guyana is able to impact gold prices.

What the IndoNazi PPPites need to note is that she did not credit govt policies for this economic performance.  I will suggest that when the IMF credits govt policies a country is doomed for disaster.

Originally Posted by alena06:
4% growth rate is incredible in this tough environment.  next election the PPP will score big.  goodbye joint oppisition.

Why?  Most other commodity based economies have done better than that.

A key issue is that the vast majority of Guyanese lack access to decent paying jobs.

The changes to the constitution requires, at least, two-thirds support of the members of parliament.

When has the opposition parties presented plans to change the constitution?

ALENA if the government is doing so great why not call a election this year including local government election let them change the constutition and the ppp will be history

Ah STUPID YuhSTUPID so?? Why would a Govt call an Election after winning one a yea ago and in your words  "Doing So Great". Al YUh really born with brains or SHIT tek over Al Yuh  brain.

You can never get specifics when you pose a straight forward question to these brain boxes. They hide and dodge and come up with some crazy ass example to justify their argument. Why waste time?

Alena, Dis FOOL rather Rice Flour, Dry Coconut and Yam fuh Aloo.

Dude, the US give us flower to help us pay the way for our HIV problem. Rice flower is a good substitute for  Wheat flour and it is advised for those needing a gluten free diet. Yam and Coconut are also rather healthy choices. White Potatoes is simply a preference and no particular over arching health value.

Good for you, keep eating Rice flour and Yam. BE HAPPy!!!

The changes to the constitution requires, at least, two-thirds support of the members of parliament.

When has the opposition parties presented plans to change the constitution?

It is inevitable the will craft some legislation, just to get the PPP's objection on the record, on coalition after the fact and with rules for deposits to the consolidated funds. They already are doing that with trying to initiate change in the procurement unit.

When discussion on the elections comes around there will be a necessity for a referendum question on the ballot. The PPP will also object

Good for you, keep eating Rice flour and Yam. BE HAPPy!!!

I do use it often and to great benefit because my wife does not eat wheat flour. You hardly know the difference. I make everything from noodles to pastry with rice flour. It is a staple in many asian baking and cooking so there are recipes for everything using rice flour.

You crossing into GR territory.

that is my editor auto completion substituting and me not catching the input.

LOL. 

GR is an honest and hard working businessman. Please do not drag Gerhard into this debate.