Guyana’s economy continues to receive kudos

By , Georgetown, December 10, 2012, - Source - GINA

Managing Director of Trinidad’s Republic Bank, David Dulal-Whiteway in an interview with the Trinidad Guardian on December 6, hailed Guyana’s performance for the year 2012, and said that the 6.6% growth in loans and advances portfolio that the company has seen is largely due to what has been going in Guyana.

In Guyana, there has been an 18% increase in loans and advances and Dulal-Whiteway said that, “the economy there is doing well. Guyana is one of the better performing economies in the region and because we have such a large market share there, we are really riding the wave of what’s happening in Guyana.”

According to the Dulal-Whiteway, this is first time in years that the bank has experienced this type of growth, since growth in this area has been negative or at best, even.

Only recently, Guyana’s economy was lauded by the International Monetary Fund (IMF) which projected a growth of 5.5% in 2013. IMF Executive Directors have commended Government’s policies which have supported the country’s macroeconomic resilience and sustained growth. Guyana’s banks remain liquid and prudential indicators have been strengthening.

Mr David Dulal-Whiteway, Managing Director, Republic Bank, Trinidad

The macroeconomic outlook for 2012 and the medium-term remain generally positive, the bank said. Real GDP is projected to grow by around 3.7 percent this year, roughly in line with what was envisaged in the 2012 budget (4.1 percent), but lower than the outturn in 2011 (5.4 percent). This expected outturn builds on strength in the gold, agriculture (rice) and services (construction and transportation) sectors, which should offset any expected falloff in sugar production.

The IMF also noted that following the general elections in November 2011, the political situation, though mostly stable, became more intricate, but investors’ interest continued to be strong, and confidence, generally positive.

Since 2006, because of prudent fiscal management, the economy has been showing its resilience, recording growth every year. By the middle of 2012, there was a 2.8% growth in real Gross Domestic Product (GDP).

“This growth reflects continued progress on the diversification of the productive sector where we have now arrived at a point where we are no longer as we were 10 years ago, entirely dependent on one, two or three dominant sectors,” Finance Minister Dr. Ashni Singh had said upon release of the report.

At that time, the three major contributors to the economy were rice, sugar and bauxite but, these are no longer occupying the dominant positions. While gold, other minerals, transport, ICT and construction are all showing increased importance, the three former sectors still contribute to a large portion of the economy.

Long- term commitments and investments made in Guyana will produce a tremendous impact on the local economy. Investments in bauxite, other minerals, oil, dry land rice and others that include expansion of current foreign investments point to improved confidence in the country’s investment climate.

Rice production is expected to exceed last year’s record -breaking 400,000 tonnes. Gold is headed for another record producing year with the 400,000 ounces target likely to be met as well. Sugar is on the road to recovery and bauxite is also performing well.

Managing Director of Trinidad’s Republic Bank, David Dulal-Whiteway in an interview with the Trinidad Guardian on December 6, hailed Guyana’s performance for the year 2012, and said that the 6.6% growth in loans and advances portfolio that the company has seen is largely due to what has been going in Guyana.

Loans and advances that won't be repaid by the PPP. It is destined for secret bank accounts in the hands of PPP thieves. How can anyone consider that worth of a kudos? Only another thief.

Originally Posted by Mr.T:

Loans and advances that won't be repaid by the PPP. It is destined for secret bank accounts in the hands of PPP thieves. How can anyone consider that worth of a kudos? Only another thief.

The perrenial pessimist. Give the PPP a basket to bail a sinking boat.

GUYANA, SAY GUYANA!! RAISE YUH HAND FUH UYANA. SWEET SWEET GUYANA.

WHILE DEH CUNUMUNU AND LAMATAS LAGAREE THE GOVT CONTINUING IT'S PROGRESS AND PROSPERITY MARCH FOR ALL GUYANESE. EAT YOUR HEARTS OUT HATERS!!! MERRY CHRISTMAS.

Insiders within the PP continue to progress. For every PPP fat cat a whole PPP village has to starve.

eVERYWHERE ON THE PLANET, THOSE WHO WANT FREENESS AND WAIT FOR HANDOUTS WILL STARVE. WHERE THERE ARE PEOPLE WHO ARE WILLING TO ROLL UP THEIR SLEVES AND GET DOWN TO BUSINESS NOT ONLY THEY WILL NOT STARVE BUT BUILD CASTLES.  GET OFF YOUR LAZY ASS MR T.

Why should I get off my lazy ass? I make more money sitting on my ass than I ever earned standing up to pack boxes.

Why should I get off my lazy ass? I make more money sitting on my ass than I ever earned standing up to pack d

dEM gUYANESE WHO DONT WAIT FOR fREENESS AND GET OFF THEIR asses AND work hard are building Castles. SWEET SWEET GUYANA, SAY GUYANA, SWEET SWEET GUYANA.

Why should I get off my lazy ass? I make more money sitting on my ass than I ever earned standing up to pack d

dEM gUYANESE WHO DONT WAIT FOR fREENESS AND GET OFF THEIR asses AND work hard are building Castles. SWEET SWEET GUYANA, SAY GUYANA, SWEET SWEET GUYANA.

Bhai, my ass is getting fat too...is the whole day I does sit on it and think how to steal to make a living...progress mean stealing for them neemakarams. 

Notice how the rest of afc naysayers run away from this thread, including tk. Only T decide to comment since he is void of shame and will lie without feelings of guilt. ahahah

They are simply tired of telling you that recent growth in the Guyana economy is due to higher gold prices, which increases export revenues, and provides incentive for more marginal gold fields to be exploited.

So if gold prices collapse to former levels, what then.  You cannot point to a single new industry which has led to increased foreign exchnage earnings and high paying jobs.

.....Rice production is expected to exceed last year’s record -breaking 400,000 tonnes. Gold is headed for another record producing year with the 400,000 ounces target likely to be met as well. Sugar is on the road to recovery and bauxite is also performing well........

What if Chavez croak and Guyana looses its preferential treatment and looses that 5 to 10 percent higher than world market rice prices. Is the Bauxite company "performing well" cause the PPP and Goatman had to gun down them blackman in Linden cuz they could no longer subsidise their electric their electric bill? Sugar is on the road to recovery...do you know what "recovery" means? let me explain...its like if you go to dacta U and he cut yuh goadie yuh would need to recover which means you will be well  below your normal capacity for productivity during your recovery period...

Originally Posted by sachin_05:

.....Rice production is expected to exceed last year’s record -breaking 400,000 tonnes. Gold is headed for another record producing year with the 400,000 ounces target likely to be met as well. Sugar is on the road to recovery and bauxite is also performing well........

What if Chavez croak and Guyana looses its preferential treatment and looses that 5 to 10 percent higher than world market rice prices. Is the Bauxite company "performing well" cause the PPP and Goatman had to gun down them blackman in Linden cuz they could no longer subsidise their electric their electric bill? Sugar is on the road to recovery...do you know what "recovery" means? let me explain...its like if you go to dacta U and he cut yuh goadie yuh would need to recover which means you will be well  below your normal capacity for productivity during your recovery period...

Guyana gon survive.  They got over the PNC terrorist onslaught, the slo-fiah mo-fiah, etc.

I did not comment because I have addressed this issue numerous occasions. I published a paper in a peer-reviewed journal explaining the macro stability. Two anonymous referees agree - hence the reason for publication. Don't think you have the ability to understand these points. I did three SN columns on it too. Again you don't have the intellectual oomph to understand. Suffice to say, an economy in coma will tend to have relatively low inflation as you see there - thus all the talk of macroeconomic stability. On the issue of the credit expansion. Now that is not necessarily related to growth and job creation. The commercial banks are not lending to new growth augmenting sectors but traditional ones with established credit history. I don't know why you simpletons are jumping up over paltry growth from a commodity boom, something clearly not sustainable. They still need remittances to finance consumption. Not ONE...not ONE manufacturing business the size of Banks DIH or DDL was created in 20 years of PPP. The underground economy however was estimated to be between 80 to 100% of GDP. 

This growth reflects continued progress on the diversification of the productive sector where we have now arrived at a point where we are no longer as we were 10 years ago, entirely dependent on one, two or three dominant sectors,” Finance Minister Dr. Ashni Singh had said upon release of the report.

====

Not true at all. Guyana still depends on the traditional sectors for FX - sugar, rice, bauxite, gold and lumber. Show me the manufacturing exports? Show me the manufactured jewelry (we know gold bars are going out). Other than these traditional sectors remittances provide the main source of FX. Well we know cocaine too. 

Long- term commitments and investments made in Guyana will produce a tremendous impact on the local economy. Investments in bauxite, other minerals, oil, dry land rice and others that include expansion of current foreign investments point to improved confidence in the country’s investment climate.

====

Again is an extremely simplistic statement. Bauxite is pretty dead. Aluminum is the one metal they can recycle over and over. It killed aluminum prices in the past 15 years. Almost all commodities, except alumunium, experienced a boom. Oil will be so deep if they find it that the cost and risk of extraction will be extremely high. And the payoff will not be high; especially coupled with the natural gas and shale oil boom of North America. The Dutch disease phenomenon will be a big impediment for Guyana. And with that mildly tinkered Burnham Constitution, I see resource curse all over written. Oh...the world of simpletons.  

Originally Posted by TK:
I published a paper in a peer-reviewed journal explaining the macro stability. Two anonymous referees agree - hence the reason for publication.

Your works are simply personal views which are not the one and only version of the issues.

Originally Posted by TK:
I published a paper in a peer-reviewed journal explaining the macro stability. Two anonymous referees agree - hence the reason for publication.

Your works are simply personal views which are not the one and only version of the issues.

Personal effort yes. Editorial board accepts it. 

Pegasus is booked constantly with Bank parties and cocktails. This time of the year-in celebration. Certainly, the elites-men and women dresses in the rainbow of colors. The upper echelons of the GOG attends. Certainly, the wealthy is doing GREAT.

BUT HOW CAN THE MULTITUDES LIVE ON $7000.00 per week? And that is people that do not work for the government. The Great masses.

Originally Posted by TK:

Pity he can't say the same about himself; not even one line nor even a word.

Guyana gon survive.  They got over the PNC terrorist onslaught, the slo-fiah mo-fiah, etc.

Please note that on another thread THREE Indian bandits were shot by police, after robbing another Indian.

Quite likely the cops were blacks.

Originally Posted by TK:

Oil will be so deep if they find it that the cost and risk of extraction will be extremely high. And the payoff will not be high; especially coupled with the natural gas and shale oil boom of North America.

Further, with our lack of harbor facilities capable of accommodating large tankers and Trinidad's highly developed petrochemical industry its likely that island will benefit more than will Guyana in terms of job creation.

Guyana might end up with royalties, and little else.

Originally Posted by TK:

Editorial boards simply cater to their specific activities.

Originally Posted by TK:

This growth reflects continued progress on the diversification of the productive sector where we have now arrived at a point where we are no longer as we were 10 years ago, entirely dependent on one, two or three dominant sectors,” Finance Minister Dr. Ashni Singh had said upon release of the report.

====

Not true at all. Guyana still depends on the traditional sectors for FX - sugar, rice, bauxite, gold and lumber. Show me the manufacturing exports? Show me the manufactured jewelry (we know gold bars are going out). Other than these traditional sectors remittances provide the main source of FX. Well we know cocaine too. 

They repeat this nonsense like a bunch of parrots.  Subtract economic growth due to gold, both what is officially declared, and that which is illegally traded, but for which payment enters and is circulated within the domestic economy.  What do you have?

Rice?  A couple good harvests some where and the price drops.  Rice isnt like meat, where an increasing middle class stimulates demand, as rice is a poor man's food. often over eating as it fills the stomach.  As incomes improve an increasing % of the caloric intake will be provided by other foods.

Originally Posted by TK:

It would be easier to explain how Guyana's economy has been shifted over the past 20 years from being a supplier of RAW commodities to one where there is more value added within the country, allowing for the creation of more decent paying jobs.

But instead you boast of increasing commodity prices, and remittances and increased consumption of services within the domestic economy, due to inflows arising from these facts.  Temporary situation that can rapidly change, and certainly not within the control of any one in Guyana.

Originally Posted by TK:

It would be easier to explain how Guyana's economy has been shifted over the past 20 years from being a supplier of RAW commodities to one where there is more value added within the country, allowing for thr creation of more decent paying jobs.

But instead you baost of increasing commodity prices, and remittances and increased consumption of services within the domestic economy, due to inflows arising from these facts.

Not only are these not the result of any actions buy the govt, but if and when prices drop Guyana suffers greatly, and falls back to square one.

You do love to publish blatant lies including the part highlighted in red?

They are simply tired of telling you that recent growth in the Guyana economy is due to higher gold prices, which increases export revenues, and provides incentive for more marginal gold fields to be exploited.

So if gold prices collapse to former levels, what then.  You cannot point to a single new industry which has led to increased foreign exchnage earnings and high paying jobs.

There are many micro industry that are contributing to Guyana's stellar economy. Just go ask how many businesses open up each year, manufacturing from furniture to coconut oil. You people are pulling these stats out of your rear. No doubt high gold prices are a factor but it is not the only one. 

Like you a wan big skalla? Yuh get de evidence? Me daddy business bin a manufacture. He move am out de country.

Originally Posted by PRK:

Like you a wan big skalla? Yuh get de evidence? Me daddy business bin a manufacture. He move am out de country.

Who gives a rat's ass about your father's business? Leh abie no wen you daddy go bankrupt. Maybe he go put you fu do some real wuk.

Meh daddy gat nuff nuff nuff million US dallahs he save up ova de 30 years he wuk hard hard hard. He nah wan loser lika you ole shart squeky vice gurly man.

That is the mistake many misers make, those who save up money doing factory job and then decide that they can become businessmen without a business plan. ahahahaha

Look gal,

You ah wan badarayshan lil pickney. Tek yu pappa millions and shove it up he battie. All de poor people he rob, exploit and enslave to get rich; one day all dem eye wata go leak pan am. He moe bad dan BJ.. look at da. Jagdeo meet he match.

That is the mistake many misers make, those who save up money doing factory job and then decide that they can become businessmen without a business plan. ahahahaha

Me daddy nah gat foh live in de cold lika yuh. He gat de Orlando and he TT and He barbados praperties. He gat enough money foh live three place. Me a go set up business a miami. yu losa.

Look gal,

You ah wan badarayshan lil pickney. Tek yu pappa millions and shove it up he battie. All de poor people he rob, exploit and enslave to get rich; one day all dem eye wata go leak pan am. He moe bad dan BJ.. look at da. Jagdeo meet he match.

Me daddy na wan tieff lika yu and Jagdoe. He mek he millions in 30 + years of hard hard wuk stupid ass. Jagdoe get he wan in juss wan few years of tieff.

Look gal,

Me daddy na wan tieff lika yu and Jagdoe. He mek he millions in 30 + years of hard hard wuk stupid ass. Jagdoe get he wan in juss wan few years of tieff.

You did not address the fact that he robbed, exploit and enslave the poor to get rich. Your father was one of the persons who helped create religions. If it wasn't for religion and the fear of god, the poor would have scarificed your greedy, dishonest, craabdaag, neemakharam, shitface, fugly ass face, insignificant father. Tell him to go pray for forgiveness; and for you, go take a hike. It's past your bedtime..go to sleep.