Originally Posted by Rev Al:
==========

hmmm . . . you've committed to a 2 front kamikaze defense of credibility u never had

DUNCY TK/redux:

The Rev will now be looking at the West Indies get hammered by the Aussies---hope the lose the series 5-0.

http://www.espncricinfo.com/au...nt/match/573026.html

After the great Shiv Chanderpaul was dropped by the WI selectors in onedayers the Rev has stopped supporting the WI team.

I'll give you the last word--but lemme say this to you DUNCY TK/redux---learn how to give simple and strightforward answers in the future  to simple econ questions---pull a Rev---keep it simple---and dont be afraid to copy the great ideas of others---the Rev does it all the time.hahahahahahaha

i have a dirty bread knife u can use . . . comedy cannot help u

Rev was talking about Japan and the Fed, not Spain, Italy or France.  Why you scurrying around like a headless old fowl?

rev is doing quite a good job cutting his own throat with a dull knife

i don't think he needs any more help from u

Redux, you are a fraud and jump around like a headless chicken when challenged.  So now, does Greece have a CB in the same light of BoJ of the Feds?

Rev was talking about Japan and the Fed, not Spain, Italy or France.  Why you scurrying around like a headless old fowl?

Redux, you are a fraud and jump around like a headless chicken when challenged.  So now, does Greece have a CB in the same light of BoJ of the Feds?

never argued that point with u [or rev] . . . are U dense?

u serious bai . . . u REALLY want me to detail this and embarrass U!

DUNCY TK/redux--his answer to a simple economics

question which he pompously posed was rambling disjoined,

and convoluted. He is vexed folks because the Rev's answer

was simple and straightforward--now he is bawling plagiarism.hahaha

You are a desperate and defeated man TK/redux---the Rev has exposed you as a duncy--you have been clobbered and pulverised---DUNCY TK.

Because you have been embarrassed, you DUNCY TK come here bawling and screaming that the Rev plagiarized.hahahahahaha

ahmmm, ok . . . here's rev, the fraud, lifting directly from Pedro DaCosta so that he sounds 'authoritative':

rev:

"like the US, Japan controls its own currency---it has its own central bank-that means no matter how high Japan's debt to GDP is---a debt default is impossible.

Greece doesn't have a central bank---their debt and interest burdens are therefore a problem.

Another thing regarding Japan, even thought it's debt to GDP is 235%---about half of it is owed to the central bank--what that means is that the interest on that debt owed to the central bank goes back to the treasury.

In the United States---our treasury now receives 80 billion annually from debt held by the Fed."

vs.

Pedro DaCosta, Reuters December 5, 2012

Is the U.S.on the road to Greece, as some politicians have proclaimed?

Most economists say the comparison is nonsense. At a towering $15 trillion, the U.S. economy is not only the world’s largest, it is also more than 50 times the size of Greece’s. This gap makes any type of comparison difficult – it would be like analyzing trends in Maryland in relation to the entire euro zone.

Another key difference: Unlike Greece, the U.S. actually controls its own currency. That means a debt default is effectively impossible. This reality, coupled with strong monetary stimulus from the Federal Reserve, helps explain why U.S. bond yields remain near historic lows despite larger deficits.

Mark Weisbrot, co-director of the progressive Center for Economic and Policy Research in Washington, says a country’s interest burden is far more important than its total debt levels in determining the government’s ability to service it. He argued in a recent editorial:

Contrary to popular nonsense about America ‘ending up like Greece,’ the U.S. doesn’t even have a public debt problem. Net interest on the federal debt is currently less than 1 percent of our national income, the lowest it has been in more than 60 years. And it’s the interest burden that matters, not the big numbers like $16 trillion that are thrown around in scare stories.

Why is that? Weisbrot explained further in response to an email:

Imagine you had a credit card debt of $40,000 but the interest rate was just 0.1 percent – you wouldn’t have much of a problem. It’s the same thing for a government – 1 percent of GDP is not a lot of money to come up with. Greece hit 6.8 percent last year, that’s why they are in trouble. (Also, because they have a “foreign” currency that they can’t create). In fact, none of the other countries would even have run into problems if their interest rates hadn’t shot up.

Note that I used net interest payments for the U.S. – that’s because the government also receives interest. The gross interest is still pretty small though, about 1.4 percent of GDP. But it’s net interest that matters: that’s why Japan has no problem even though its gross debt is about 220 percent of GDP. About half is owed to the central bank. What this means is the interest on that debt goes back to the Treasury. Our Treasury now receives about $80 billion annually from debt held by the Fed.

btw, this statement "Greece doesn't have a central bank . . ." by rev is actually false. That's what happens when [as usual] you low IQ posers get a bit too clever trying to camouflage the copy & paste exercise

for the simplest of questions, this moron could not confidently give an answer without stealing from a random www 'authority'

heh heh heh heh

This is priceless! 

The Rev has been busted as a plagiarist. Waaaahhhhh hahahahaha 

Originally Posted by God:

This is priceless! 

HA HA HA HA

Tarron Khemraj aka TK aka redux

CHECK THIS OUT FOLKS:

* Tarron Khemraj aka TK aka redux has been exposed as a DUNCY.lol

* TK/redux pompously asked the question: "Why is Japan's 235% debt to gdp ratio sustaniable while Greece's is not ?"

* DUNCY TK, a 3rd rate economic professor then gave a muddled, disjointed, convoluted answer to his own question---he exposed himself as a DUNCE.

* The Rev who has never taken an economics course checked out the internet and provided a simple and straightward and answer to TK's question---Japan has a central bank that can print money; Greece cannot print money--so Japan's debt/gdp is sustainable.

* DUNCY TK embarrassed and ashamed by his mumbo jumbo answer then googled and found out where the Rev got his information from---he then tried to conceal his mumbo jumbo answer and his dunceness by accusing the Rev of plagiarism.

* This is a message board---not a college class room---the Rev is no academic--he is just a businessman---so if the Rev borrows ideas from others no biggie.

* DUNCY TK, a man with a 3rd rate economics Phd gave a confused answer to a simple economics question---the Rev with a simple, straightforward answer gotten from some source on the internet exposed TK as a DUNCY.hahahaha

* TK spent donkey years getting his phd and cannot give a clear answer to a simple economics question---the Rev who has never taken an economics course--just pops on the internet and gives a more intelligent answer than DUNCY TK---TK is deeply embarrassed---and starts bawling the Rev plagiarized.

REMEMBER FOLKS:

TK is the one who brags about his intelligence and IQ---his answer to a simple economics question revealed he is a BIG DUNCY---he is now trying to camouflage his dunceness by saying the Rev plagiarized his answer---the Rev is no academic he can copy and paste all he wants--and expose Dr. Tarron Khemrah aka TK aka reduc as a BIG DUNCE.hahahahaha

This is priceless! 

* The Rev who has never taken an economics course checked out the internet and provided a simple and straightward and answer to TK's question---Japan has a central bank that can print money; Greece cannot print money--so Japan's debt/gdp is sustainable.

ahmmm . . . actually THAT would have been a perfectly adequate answer.

unfortunately u liard lil antiman, THAT WASN'T your answer . . . u had to pretend to be 'taller' than u are and reach and teef like here:

[rev's actual answer] ". . . like the US, Japan controls its own currency---it has its own central bank--that means no matter how high Japan's debt to GDP is---a debt default is impossible.

Greece doesn't have a central bank---their debt and interest burdens are therefore a problem.

Another thing regarding Japan, even thought it's debt to GDP is 235%---about half of it is owed to the central bank--what that means is that the interest on that debt owed to the central bank goes back to the treasury."

In the United States---our treasury now receives 80 billion annually from debt held by the Fed."

now, after DARING me to 'put up or shut up,' u blowing plenty smoke out of your ass to confuse everybady . . . using misdirection  . . . reduced to whining:

[rev in abject antiman mode] "This is a message board---not a college class room---the Rev is no academic--he is just a businessman---so if the Rev borrows ideas from others no biggie"

heh heh heh . . . u would have been better served without the platform shoes lil man

This is priceless! 

unfortunately u liard lil antiman, THAT WASN'T your answer . . . u had to pretend to be 'taller' than u are and reach and teef like here:

[rev's actual answer] ". . . like the US, Japan controls its own currency---it has its own central bank--that means no matter how high Japan's debt to GDP is---a debt default is impossible.

Another thing regarding Japan, even thought it's debt to GDP is 235%---about half of it is owed to the central bank--what that means is that the interest on that debt owed to the central bank goes back to the treasury."

now, after DARING me to 'put up or shut up,' u blowing plenty smoke out of your ass to confuse everybady . . . using misdirection  . . . reduced to whining:

[rev in abject antiman mode] "This is a message board---not a college class room---the Rev is no academic--he is just a businessman---so if the Rev borrows ideas from others no biggie"

heh heh heh . . . u would have been better served without the platform shoes lil man

I have a Jetblue flight back to Sarasota/Bradenton in the morning. From 7:35AM to 10:46. Make some comments when I am in the air. Thank you 

Originally Posted by TK:

I will be writing a column on this soon. I have not done it yet because I am trying to get a concrete estimate of the Petrocaribe debt. 

I guess we can all expect the usual convoluted, mumbo jumbo claptrap from you.hahaha

Like I said to you---you spent donkey years getting that 3rd rate Phd and you still can't present your ideas in a simple and straight forward manner.

Anyway, let the forum know when your article comes out---it will be fun reading and critiquing the drivel you present.

And yes--the Rev will be stealing from sources on the internet to further expose and uncover your shallowness.hahahaha

Originally Posted by TK:

This is priceless! 

I have a Jetblue flight back to Sarasota/Bradenton in the morning. From 7:35AM to 10:46. Make some comments when I am in the air. Thank you 

roger dat

This discussion started with a comparison of Guyana's Public Debt in 1992 (US$2 billion) and 2013 (US$1.7 billion).

We've learnt the following:

(i) The 1992 debt level was a much higher percentage of GDP than the       2013's

(ii) The level of Guyana's debt to GDP ratio is high by comparison with   

similar-sized economies

(iii) Most of the 1992 debt was written off in negotiations with the Paris 

Club and in bilateral negotiations. This was done under the Dr. Jagan's

Presidency.

(iv) The current debt accumulation grew under the Jagdeo regime when 

it was professed that the macro-economic infrastructure, destroyed

under Burnham, was in working shape.

The subjective contributions can be analyzed with the facts on the ground as well as statistics.

We know that both debt accumulations were part of a loan-led strategy for economic development. The foreign private investment wasn't eschewed because both the Burnham and Jagdeo regimes were against it, but because political circumstances mitigated against this healthy investment-led growth.

In Burnham's case he had nationalized the "commanding heights of the economy". There were tremendous inefficiencies in the local economic infrastructure (disincentives and raping of state assets).

In Jagdeo's time there was civic instability due to the mo fiah slo fiah campaign and the drug violence following the Mash 2002 jail breakout. While Burnham's time benefited from commodities' price hikes in 1974 - 76, Jagdeo;s time benefited from surges in mineral prices (especially gold). Jagdeo's local economic infrastructure gave rise to land reforms and infrastructure rebuilding. The former helped the private sector and latter is what governments do. An argument can be made that one similar statistic is the (mis)use of State assets under both regimes.

It comes down to how well can the loans be serviced without curtailing needed infrastructural investment (sea defenses, irrigation, roads, hospitals, etc.), and whether these are loans that pay off in revenues (Skeldon sugar estate, the hydro power investments, etc.). The developed economies' debt-to-GDP versus those of poorer countries is misplaced. This is about micro-Economics and political leadership. Both of these were found wanting under Burnham and the same questions face the Jagdeo legacy. Was Jagdeo a good economic steward? Did he face conditions on the ground (like the mid-2000s violence, floods, etc.) that were not of his making? Or is he found wanting in leadership to overcome this? For answers there are those who point to synergy with the narco-violence (Roger Khan), contracts being awarded on a corrupt basis (BK) and State assets being squandered (the Leonora estate sale).

The debate continues.................

====

The country central banks of the EU are still in existence. For example, the Germans still have the Bundesbank. These former central banks are branches of the European Central Bank. They don't issue their old currencies anymore. So yes their old central banks still exist but as a member bank of ECB. The Bundesbank is very powerful, BTW.  

===

rEV, i HNOPE mR t AND tk WHO IS BUST TAKING nOTES WILL PAY YOU FOR THIS eDUCATION.

Nehru:

TK said he is writing a book---dont be surprised to see him copy and pastes some of the useful knowledge he picks up on GNI.hahahahahaha

Listen! The Rev challenged TK to debate an issue recently---the man said he gets paid to teach and write economics---and he refused to debate---but in the meantime he sends his alter ego redux to talk about antiman and other nonsense on this forum.

TK delights in labelling posters on this forum as having low IQ and low intelligence--the truth is TK is a DUNCE---he is a UG graduate who went on to 3rd rate schools like Manchester and New School in NY---he is a 3rd rate/3cents economics Phd who has no business berating others about intelligence and IQ.

====

You've got to be really good to get a contract (get paid) to pass the anonymous review process to get an original book accepted. Five anonymous referees already verified its original nature. They don't hand out contracts like that. 

Originally Posted by TK:

I will be writing a column on this soon. I have not done it yet because I am trying to get a concrete estimate of the Petrocaribe debt. 

I guess we can all expect the usual convoluted, mumbo jumbo claptrap from you.hahaha

Like I said to you---you spent donkey years getting that 3rd rate Phd and you still can't present your ideas in a simple and straight forward manner.

Anyway, let the forum know when your article comes out---it will be fun reading and critiquing the drivel you present.

And yes--the Rev will be stealing from sources on the internet to further expose and uncover your shallowness.hahahaha

You've got be very good to be asked to have a column space. Why don't you see them in Stabroek News and other peer-reviewed outlets.

Originally Posted by TK:

====

The country central banks of the EU are still in existence. For example, the Germans still have the Bundesbank. These former central banks are branches of the European Central Bank. They don't issue their old currencies anymore. So yes their old central banks still exist but as a member bank of ECB. The Bundesbank is very powerful, BTW.  

Understand the point originally raised.  You are talking what we all know, no need to "educate" me on that.  The discussion was managing national debt using levers like BoJ and the Feds have.  These "central banks" no longer have this.  So, they may be called Central Banks, but they are not full central banks in the true sense.

The Bundes is powerful as it represents the German agenda and Germany is the largest and most powerful EU member economy.  The Germans have huge influence over the policies of the ECB, thus the power of the Bundes bank.  However, with all it's power, the Bundes is still beholden to the poicies of the ECB.

Originally Posted by TK:

====

Understand the point originally raised.  You are talking what we all know, no need to "educate" me on that.  The discussion was managing national debt using levers like BoJ and the Feds have.  These "central banks" no longer have this.  So, they may be called Central Banks, but they are not full central banks in the true sense.

The Bundes is powerful as it represents the German agenda and Germany is the largest and most powerful EU member economy.  The Germans have huge influence over the policies of the ECB, thus the power of the Bundes bank.  However, with all it's power, the Bundes is still beholden to the poicies of the ECB.

===

They are units of the ECB. They have to help defend the ECB interest rate target. For them to do that they must all do open market operations.

Originally Posted by TK:

====

===

They are units of the ECB. They have to help defend the ECB interest rate target. For them to do that they must all do open market operations.

You are an Economist but dont knoe Economics, how the hell you gun kno Banking and Finance???? Abee Canecutta gat Commom Sense.

The discussion was managing national debt using levers like BoJ and the Feds have . . .

baseman, you created a fake issue . . . that was NOT the discussion

re-review the thread

Originally Posted by Ronald Narain:

AHA, Nagas got them!

He finally expose Aswini fuh lying to the People.

Nagas is trying to cover for his own sins that he committed in parliament. Tell Nagas to come forward with his proof and face Ashni. I would like to see Nagas and the AFC/APNU convicts the government on one single issue that concerns them. That's the day I am waiting for.

Classic move Nagas, the tamil tiger.  You mek shattie poop his pants. 

u serious bai . . . u REALLY want me to detail this and embarrass U!

DUNCY TK/redux--his answer to a simple economics

question which he pompously posed was rambling disjoined,

and convoluted. He is vexed folks because the Rev's answer

was simple and straightforward--now he is bawling plagiarism.hahaha

You are a desperate and defeated man TK/redux---the Rev has exposed you as a duncy--you have been clobbered and pulverised---DUNCY TK.

Because you have been embarrassed, you DUNCY TK come here bawling and screaming that the Rev plagiarized.hahahahahaha

ahmmm, ok . . . here's rev, the fraud, lifting directly from Pedro DaCosta so that he sounds 'authoritative':

rev:

"like the US, Japan controls its own currency---it has its own central bank-that means no matter how high Japan's debt to GDP is---a debt default is impossible.

Another thing regarding Japan, even thought it's debt to GDP is 235%---about half of it is owed to the central bank--what that means is that the interest on that debt owed to the central bank goes back to the treasury.

vs.

Pedro DaCosta, Reuters December 5, 2012

Is the U.S.on the road to Greece, as some politicians have proclaimed?

Most economists say the comparison is nonsense. At a towering $15 trillion, the U.S. economy is not only the world’s largest, it is also more than 50 times the size of Greece’s. This gap makes any type of comparison difficult – it would be like analyzing trends in Maryland in relation to the entire euro zone.

Another key difference: Unlike Greece, the U.S. actually controls its own currency. That means a debt default is effectively impossible. This reality, coupled with strong monetary stimulus from the Federal Reserve, helps explain why U.S. bond yields remain near historic lows despite larger deficits.

Mark Weisbrot, co-director of the progressive Center for Economic and Policy Research in Washington, says a country’s interest burden is far more important than its total debt levels in determining the government’s ability to service it. He argued in a recent editorial:

Contrary to popular nonsense about America ‘ending up like Greece,’ the U.S. doesn’t even have a public debt problem. Net interest on the federal debt is currently less than 1 percent of our national income, the lowest it has been in more than 60 years. And it’s the interest burden that matters, not the big numbers like $16 trillion that are thrown around in scare stories.

Why is that? Weisbrot explained further in response to an email:

Imagine you had a credit card debt of $40,000 but the interest rate was just 0.1 percent – you wouldn’t have much of a problem. It’s the same thing for a government – 1 percent of GDP is not a lot of money to come up with. Greece hit 6.8 percent last year, that’s why they are in trouble. (Also, because they have a “foreign” currency that they can’t create). In fact, none of the other countries would even have run into problems if their interest rates hadn’t shot up.

Note that I used net interest payments for the U.S. – that’s because the government also receives interest. The gross interest is still pretty small though, about 1.4 percent of GDP. But it’s net interest that matters: that’s why Japan has no problem even though its gross debt is about 220 percent of GDP. About half is owed to the central bank. What this means is the interest on that debt goes back to the Treasury. Our Treasury now receives about $80 billion annually from debt held by the Fed.

btw, this statement "Greece doesn't have a central bank . . ." by rev is actually false. That's what happens when [as usual] you low IQ posers get a bit too clever trying to camouflage the copy & paste exercise

for the simplest of questions, this moron could not confidently give an answer without stealing from a random www 'authority'

heh heh heh heh

This is priceless! 

What is the Guyana dollar amount of the National Debt?

Dear Editor,

Leon Trotsky reminded us that the “depth and strength of human character are defined by its moral reserves.” Reading Dr Ashni Singh’s statement in the Guyana Chronicle, one is flummoxed by the attempt to distort the truth by someone who ought to know better.  Is this the core skills-set of ministers these days?

While the Minister would want to submit himself to measuring the debt in US dollar terms, he cannot disregard the right of the Guyanese people to know the Guyana dollar amount of the National Debt.  After all, the people of Guyana do not earn US dollar salaries. Would it be an act of insurrection if the people are informed of the debt figure in Guyana dollars?  If the Minister disputes these Guyana dollar figures, all he has to do is present an alternative number for scrutiny.  There is no need to dive into the gutter. Attacking Mr Moses Nagamootoo will not save the nation from the burden we all have to carry as a people since no organization of repute, be it the IMF or the World Bank or even the ordinary man trusts the accuracy of the figures coming out of the government.

To date Minister Singh has not disputed the fact that the government was responsible for borrowing of $93 billion more in debt than the PNC left us in 1992.  This revelation by Mr Nagamootoo has forever buried the myth that the PNC borrowed more than the PPP. And we have not even considered all the pipeline debt that Mr Jagdeo lined up hurriedly before he vacated office.

Why run on public TV and try to defend the indefensible?  It is a national shame and disgrace that the government has failed the people, and most importantly destroyed the vision of Cheddi Jagan who was committed to a lean and clean administration.

20130214tablePlease find below a more comprehensive picture of the debt situation:

National Budget and the Bank of Guyana Quarterly Bulletin

Why 2007?  That was the year when Guyana had the lowest debt position under the PPP.  The year 2007 exposes how much has been borrowed over the last five years: $202 billion at an average of $40 billion per year.
If one is to look at 2012 versus 1992 then the debt per each child born in Guyana went up to $543,440 in March 2012.  For those in the working class, this is more than one year’s wages.

We call on the AFC and civil society to engage in a campaign of mass education of the people on the issue in every village, dam and street.  Walter Rodney did this in 1979 and Burnham buckled then. It is time for Freedom House to buckle under people’s power. The people, especially the  Indians and Amerindians must be informed of the reasons why a vote for the PPP is a vote for economic destruction.

Yours faithfully,
Dr. Asquith Rose
Harish S Singh