It was the first for a marathon:  runners, just shy of meeting their goal of reaching the finish line, abruptly  stopping in their tracks as the air rocked with the sounds of explosions.

“We saw the runners just stop running,” said Carla Berrios, who was watching  the Boston Marathon on Monday with co-workers from a building downtown,  overlooking the finish line. “The police and paramedics started running in the  opposite direction.”

The death toll from the two explosions rose to three, according to the Boston  Police Commissioner, Edward Davis. One of these included an 8-year-old boy. More  than 150 injured have been reported so far. There was also a fire at the John F.  Kennedy Presidential Library & Museum but it is not clear if there is any  connection to the other two explosions, according to police.     

The one thing I was commenting about with a friend is that we don’t  feel safe. It breaks my heart to see that this could happen.

- Javiera Lagunas

Berrios said she was watching the race with about 35 others in support of a  co-worker who was running.           

“All of a sudden, the building [shook] a little bit and the windows cracked,”  said Berrios, who is from Puerto Rico and has lived in Boston for three years.  “We heard one explosion after the other.”

Berrios said that police arrived about 45 minutes after the explosions and  ordered everyone to evacuate the building. Outside, there were no cabs to be  found and the buses and subway had been shut down. Berrios said it took her  nearly an hour to walk home to Brookline, a neighborhood near Boston.

Adrian Budhu, Berrios’ co-worker, said he was “literally a minute from  crossing the finish line,” when he saw the first explosion. 

“The first one sounded like a cannon and the second one was clearly an  explosion like you would hear on TV,” he said. “At first I thought it was a  transformer. Last year one of the transformers blew out by the Sheraton Hotel,  but then I saw the second one and things were flying.”

Budhu, who said this is his fifth time running the Boston Marathon, tried to  call his co-workers from a spectator’s cell phone but couldn’t get through due  to lack of cell phone service.

“The crowd was just shocked,” he said. “No one knew what was going on and  everyone in the crowd assumed it was a bomb.”

Budhu, who is originally from Guyana in South America, said he was saddened  and angered by the incident.

“Marathon Monday is a big deal in this city and it’s such an amazing event to  see,” he said. “For this to happen and to see all the pictures and the blood,  it's so shocking and surreal.”

Read more: http://latino.foxnews.com/lati...-safe/#ixzz2Qg9TIshd

I would imagine that the marathon was immediately stopped at the onset of the attack, but I did notice a woman runner nonchalantly looking at her watch to measure her time after the explosion. 

Originally Posted by Errol:
Originally Posted by Mr.T:

Did he cross the line of did he act as a coward and ran away?

-------

I am sure that this is too difficult for you to fathom but stupidity and ignorance are not virtues!

-------

I am sure that this is too difficult for you to fathom but stupidity and ignorance are not virtues!

Several people who were close to the explosions and fell down to the floor from the blast got up and finished the race. It was a show of resolve against any terrorist attempt to disrupt the event.

Your cowardly reply shows how brave you are when faced with terror.

-------

Several people who were close to the explosions and fell down to the floor from the blast got up and finished the race. It was a show of resolve against any terrorist attempt to disrupt the event.

Your cowardly reply shows how brave you are when faced with terror.

Your bravery from behind a computer keyboard is indeed commendable and exemplary.  The tens of thousands who were "cowardly" running from the terror of 9/11 and recently in Connecticut can only genuflect to your bravery.  As it is, my original observation stands - stupidity and ignorance are not virtues.

Adrian is my nephew.  We are all proud of him and relieved that he was not hurt.  Right on, Bro!

happy to hear he is safe. The injuries from the blast are horrific. These are people with no concern for the innocent.

Knowing that Adrian is the nephew of Errol, how you have the nerve to ask that question? You should put yourself in that situation to find out who is coward and who is brave in the presence of danger. 

Your bravery from behind a computer keyboard is indeed commendable and exemplary.  The tens of thousands who were "cowardly" running from the terror of 9/11 and recently in Connecticut can only genuflect to your bravery.  As it is, my original observation stands - stupidity and ignorance are not virtues.

I have had to live under the bombing barrage of the IRA in London. I missed death myself by about 30 minutes after they tried to blow up the bridge just five minutes from my home. But did it scare me or cause me to flee.

The plain fact is that your nephew was a coward for not finishing the race. He gave in to terrorism. I gues that's why he run to the US. Too scared to stand up to the PPP regime.

Mr T, Do you have an ounce of decency?????!!!!!!!!!!

Decency towards a coward? Go look at the videos of the event. People got up and finished the race. Others came the next day and finished the race so that the could pick up their participation medal.

I am ashamed of my fellow Guyanese for feeling sorry for a coward.Even Obama is going to the place. He ain't afraid.

I would kick this Guyanese ass till he goes back and finish the race.

BG-S, Stormborn, Abidha, Nehru, Mitwah:

Thanks for your concern.  I will communicate this with him and I am sure he will appreciate it.  Adrian is a fine young man.  He went to Boston College and hails from No. 7 Village, West Coast Berbice. He competed in the last five Boston marathons.

It takes a lot of character to compete in marathons. Those who sit on the sideline and snicker at this unfortunate event will have their day coming soon.

As Obama said just an hour or so ago in Boston,

"They picked themselves up and finished the race. They would not be beaten."

But then again, Guyanese are not Americans. They just want to live in the lad of the braves, but not be one.

For a moment I thought you said No 7 East berbice. I know everyone in No 7 east berbice. I did not even know there was a No 7 West Cost Berbice!

Anyways, that is a lot of running. I am aiming to finish at least one but to this point the farthest I ever ran was 10 miles and that was ages ago. I currently can run 3 miles but that is in almost half an hour.  Even at my pathetic rate it would take me 4.5 hours and I doubt I can even make six miles at that pace.

My sympathies go out to the families of the three persons who died as a result of injuries sustained from the bomb blast. I also wish the 200 plus folks who were injured full and speedy recoveries. I read where a victim's foot had to be amputated just below the knee.....

Errol I am glad that your nephew is unharmed....I saw from newsclips that there were several runners who dropped out before the finish line....

I may know the young man's  family from WCB.....is he Marcie's brother or nephew ?....

Adrian is my nephew.  We are all proud of him and relieved that he was not hurt.  Right on, Bro!

Congratulations to your nephew and you. 

-----

Thanks Bro.

Originally Posted by Churchill:

My sympathies go out to the families of the three persons who died as a result of injuries sustained from the bomb blast. I also wish the 200 plus folks who were injured full and speedy recoveries. I read where a victim's foot had to be amputated just below the knee.....

Errol I am glad that your nephew is unharmed....I saw from newsclips that there were several runners who dropped out before the finish line....

I may know the young man's  family from WCB.....is he Marcie's brother or nephew ?....

---------

He is Marcie's nephew (Livy's son).  BTW, just disregard that fool who is pimping off the IRA to prove that he is brave.  Adrian did finish the race.

Hey Errol, ask the nephew if he still tired. How nuh?

------

The man already preparing for the next run.   Hope to see you when next I am in your neighborhood.

For a moment I thought you said No 7 East berbice. I know everyone in No 7 east berbice. I did not even know there was a No 7 West Cost Berbice!

Anyways, that is a lot of running. I am aiming to finish at least one but to this point the farthest I ever ran was 10 miles and that was ages ago. I currently can run 3 miles but that is in almost half an hour.  Even at my pathetic rate it would take me 4.5 hours and I doubt I can even make six miles at that pace.

-------

No0. 7 Village is about 5 miles from Rosignol.  I never knew about a No. 7 Village in East Berbice.  I know of No. 2 (I lived there for a few years) and the next one was No. 19.  I suppose it is about the Sea Well area.

I can't even think of running a marathon.  I cannot even complete a mile.

-------

No0. 7 Village is about 5 miles from Rosignol.  I never knew about a No. 7 Village in East Berbice.  I know of No. 2 (I lived there for a few years) and the next one was No. 19.  I suppose it is about the Sea Well area.

#7 is about 2 miles east of Seawell turn.

-------

It is  a mile from Seawall turn  and  before where Jack Rose's ( PLN Louisiana) lived. You have at least 5 plantations  from No 7 to 19 ( No 11, Hermitage, Susannah Farm, PLN Bohemia) . No 19 is also divided into Kendalls, No 19 and Warren. I used to know all the names of the villages on the east cost but time is eroding the memory.

-------

It is  a mile from Seawall turn  and  before where Jack Rose's ( PLN Louisiana) lived. You have at least 5 plantations  from No 7 to 19 ( No 11, Hermitage, Susannah Farm, PLN Bohemia) . No 19 is also divided into Kendalls, No 19 and Warren. I used to know all the names of the villages on the east cost but time is eroding the memory.

Before #7, there was Hanuman's estate just after Seawell and then another one before #7. I know the area, since we had rice lands there and pasture on the Atlantic or sea side for the cows.