From the News India Times newspaper

A Guyanese-Amertican man is among seven people sued May 22 by New York State for fraud in connection with a federally-funded program to provide job placement assistance to New York City residents.

Tagewatee Chandarpaul and the others are managerial employees with Structured Employment Economic Development Corporation (SEEDCO), a national not-for- profit corporation that is accused of fraudulently collecting millions of dollars in federal funds for job placement services that it did not provide, as well as obtaining con- tracts based on falsified perform- ance reports.

A lawsuit filed by the Office of the United States Attorney for the Southern District of New York seeks damages and civil penalties for the fraudulent claims and false statements submitted by SEEDCO, a press release said.

Originally Posted by ABIDHA:

It's amazing they only catch up with one non-profit org. Almost all non-profit associations in NYC did a course of embezzlement. I could name a few that I know of. Thief is in we blood. Show me a Guyanese that is not a thief.

YOU NEVER SAW THIS FACE. BUT YOU ARE WRONG, I AM NOT THE ONLY ONE.

I've never, ever, worked with, seen or know about any Guyanese-American based non-profit that is anything but on the level. There are many such organizations that are busting their behinds to be part of the growth of our community. SEECO - a national, not local, non-profit organization obviously has professionals at fraud. Not so our struggling non-profits.

That UK-flag waving poster is dead wrong and is up to no good. "Almost all non-profit...yadi yada...my foot. Provide examples. Better yet go to the authorities so they can be locked up.

Originally Posted by Sledgehammer:

Looko alyuh coolies up deh.  PPP teech alyuh good an prapa.  Alyuh rememba, da naa donk hay, lil bribe an connekshun ain gon save alyuh, is jail time.  Alyuh noo dah mi hope.

I didn't know they were rationing your meds....try the underground market

Bai, wah mi goa seh.  Dem oppasition cutt aff abie bugget, soa no meds.  Alyuh senn abie lil paisa nah fuh help abie out.