Guyanese-born vendor Ragoemani Munnsami at his stall last Saturday

Guyanese feeling the ‘squeeze’ in Nickerie

…mull returning home as SRD slides

By Alva Solomon
AS THE Surinamese economy hangs in free-fall mode, Guyanese businesses in Nickerie are feeling the effects of the sliding Suriname Dollar (SRD) and persons are contemplating returning to these shores after several decades of being away.

Deonarine Persaud, a pensioner who moved to Suriname from Berbice

Food and basic commodity prices in Suriname have climbed in recent months, and during a recent visit to the border district of Nickerie, in the western part of the Dutch-speaking Caricom country, most persons who spoke with this publication echoed similar sentiments: that business is slow, and some persons have closed their small commercial operations.

Last Saturday morning, businessman Ragoemani Munnsami stood over his stall of spices, which he has been marketing for years at the Nickerie Market. He said he migrated to the area more than three decade ago, looking for work. He changed jobs: from being a security guard to being a bodywork technician; and he even worked in the fishing industry before setting up his own business a dozen years ago.

This Berbice–born vendor complained of the rising prices of commodities in Nickerie

As time progressed, he settled on vending at the Nickerie Market. His trade includes the purchasing of spices and herbs, including geera, Chinese spice, curry powder and black-pepper, among others. He pointed to a packet of masala which he sells for SRD$4 per 75-gram packet. A year ago the item was selling at SRD$2 for the same quantity. The prices of most other spices on his stand have been doubled in recent months.

Munnsami said he relocated to Suriname around 1990, when “things in Guyana (were) hard and we come over here and we find it easy.” He does not own a mill, hence he pays a private entity to grind his spices, which he retails at the market. These days, however, sales are not bringing the profits he would wish for. The former West Coast Demerara resident noted that while Guyana’s economy is set to take off, he cannot envisage relocating, since he has built his life in the Dutch-speaking nation.

A Guyanese vendor stands beside his stalls where he sells fruits and cash crops

His children are all grown, and are employed in the public sector in Nickerie.

Further down the row in the neatly–kept market, another Guyanese vendor complained about the prices of commodities such as rice being costly. While not giving her name, she explained that the unstable SRD has been affecting business, and the consumers have felt the effects. Things have become expensive in the shops, she said.

Having moved to Suriname in the early 1990s, she has also built her life there, and has raised her two daughters in Nickerie. Now in her 50s, she said, she is contemplating relocating to Berbice, where she resided originally, but that decision is one the family will have to discuss.

A variety of tree barks which are used as nutritional supplements are on sale at the Nickerie Market

“One kilo of rice was affordable at the time,” she said, as she recalled her early days in Suriname.

A walk around Nickerie would create an impression that the cost-of-living is not affecting persons, since most households own a car, and vehicles are being sold at affordable prices there.

But Deonarine Persaud, who moved to Suriname from Berbice on November 6th, 1990, noted that the SRD has been fluctuating over the past year, and this has had a direct effect on the economy. As a result, cost-of-living is increasingly becoming difficult for some.

“That is the thing that killing business now,” he said of the sliding SRD, noting that he is examining the situation carefully. “If it doesn’t change, I have my property in Guyana as well, so I can always go home,” he said in a matter–of-fact tone.

Several motorcycles parked outside the Nickerie Market

Persaud expressed optimism about the Guyanese economy as he listed the various sectors which he noted would catapult development here. “Oil in Guyana would be the boss,” he declared as he noted that if Guyana’s economy booms in the years ahead, he would definitely relocate to Bush Lot. “It’s no big thing to relocate,” he added.

Like many other persons who spoke to this publication, Persaud had moved to Suriname in search of greener pastures. He was, in fact, attempting to go beyond the Dutch-speaking nation, but relatives had persuaded him to stay in Suriname. He said his last job was that of a supervisor at an aviation company which was involved in crop-dusting. Since retiring, he said, he travels to Guyana frequently.

“I’m looking at things, and if it doesn’t get better, Guyana is always home,” he added.

There are an estimated 3,000 Guyanese residing in Nickerie, most of whom are employed in the fishing and banana industries, while others work in the rice sector.

Surinamese authorities have reported in a recent New York Times’ article that the current economic free-fall is temporary. Economy Minister Gillmore Hoefdraad told the New York Times that the economic crisis is temporary, and will improve when gold and oil prices recover. For the Guyanese population in Nickerie, the situation is being carefully analysed.

Kari was painting Suriname as a Paradise.

HEHEHEHE  Dont bet yuh money on anything he promote. Well he is a PNC supporter, you have to expect that.

He also painted Guyana to be the MOST transparent, Democratic and Fair Govt. HAHAHAHAHAHA  See, I told you he is the new Einstein.

It was during PPP time, now is the other way round, as you can see those people return to their country and yall better doan call dem bad names when they stand behind the govt of the day.

In fact the PNC should fear Indians returning, it could shift the electorate.

Don't worry. For every Indo returning another is fleeing to Barbados to wash dishes for black women who are bank managers.  And to clean their toilets and wipe their baby's bottom.

Or to entertain Bajan men in those notorious brothels in the back part of Bridgetown.

Don't worry. For every Indo returning another is fleeing to Barbados to wash dishes for black women who are bank managers.  And to clean their toilets and wipe their baby's bottom.

Or to entertain Bajan men in those notorious brothels in the back part of Bridgetown.

How many bank managers in Barbados?  How many businesses do Bajans (Blacks) own in Barbados?  I spent time in Barbados and Bajans keep complaining about the old people (White Barbadians from British times) own most of the wealth in country and buying up most of tickets for test cricket. The White bajans argued that black bajans wait for the last minute to buy tickets when most are sold. Gafsons' commercials dominate radio and TV.  Guyanese own properties in Barbados, even the ones doing menial jobs. This is what frustrates some Bajans. Cut the bull Carib.  Most Bajans are wage earners and like the Guyanese living there.

HAHAHA  Being in a Basement enjoying US Welfare does frig up yuh brain. leave the IDIOT to BRAY!!!!!!

You shouldn't bring up your personal stuff here yu doan have shame?

How many bank managers in Barbados?  

99% of the bank managers in Barbados are black, as are 50% of the businesses.  This provided by a white Bajan when he refuted the fact that whites totally dominate Barbados.

And yes they hire a "Guyanese" to do menial work in their homes.  Indo Guyanese in Barbados are like Mexican immigrants in California.

How many bank managers in Barbados?  

99% of the bank managers in Barbados are black, as are 50% of the businesses.  This provided by a white Bajan when he refuted the fact that whites totally dominate Barbados.

And yes they hire a "Guyanese" to do menial work in their homes.  Indo Guyanese in Barbados are like Mexican immigrants in California.

I asked you how many.  I did not ask for a percentage. 99% could mean 9 9 or 99

Barbados is a financial hub within the Caribbean.  Loads of management in that sector.

It is clear that you are making this shyte up as you go along, spreading the myth of opulent Black Bajans and grovelling Guyanese Indians cleaning black babies bottom.  Yet you can not substantiate any of this with factual sources, just hearsay. 

What is factual is that as BRB stated, the whites run things in Bbados, I told you this years ago and you went into hysterics. 

Kari is a big mouth know-it-all.  He don't know squat, he just talk and pretend to know and try to fool the unsuspecting.  Apart from that, he's probably a decent guy!

It is clear that you are making this shyte up as you go along, spreading the myth of opulent Black Bajans and grovelling Guyanese Indians cleaning black babies bottom.  Yet you can not substantiate any of this with factual sources, just hearsay. 

What is factual is that as BRB stated, the whites run things in Bbados, I told you this years ago and you went into hysterics. 

dude, baby sitting jobs are plum jobs for the mainly uneducated Guyanese women. No one would employ them as secretaries or even store clerks given most recent arrivals do not even speak english! Professional nannies are highly paid and the Guyanese ones undercut that market and they often do very well. I do not know about barbadoes but here that is the reality. There are hundreds of women in Indian communities who love this kind of job and since they have been long in it there are always referrals for new arrivals. American black folks  do not want these jobs anymore. It is black africans, and west indians for whom this is a niche market

ba$eman posted:

Kari is a big mouth know-it-all.  He don't know squat, he just talk and pretend to know and try to fool the unsuspecting.  Apart from that, he's probably a decent guy!

Reading is an extremely strenuous activity for you as you haven't read anything I wrote about Suriname since the election of Bouterse and his re-election.

Kari posted:
ba$eman posted:

Reading is an extremely strenuous activity for you as you haven't read anything I wrote about Suriname since the election of Bouterse and his re-election.

Oh, again, I was responding to Yuji's comment.  Generally, you "overwrite" and much is lost in translation.  Reading your ramblings is extremely strenuous for anyone!

dude, baby sitting jobs are plum jobs for the mainly uneducated Guyanese women. No one would employ them as secretaries or even store clerks given most recent arrivals do not even speak english! Professional nannies are highly paid and the Guyanese ones undercut that market and they often do very well. I do not know about barbadoes but here that is the reality. There are hundreds of women in Indian communities who love this kind of job and since they have been long in it there are always referrals for new arrivals. American black folks  do not want these jobs anymore. It is black africans, and west indians for whom this is a niche market

Stick to the context, we are discussing Barbados and CaribJ's claim where no documented facts are there to substantiate his tall tales.  You are disconnected from Guyana and some even say you are a White pretending to be Buck evidenced by the famous Sakiwinki is a bird blunder. 

How does your claim above substantiate the lies perpetuated by CaribJ for a decade now? Opulent Bajan, grovelling IndoGuyanese?

ba$eman posted:
Kari posted:
ba$eman posted:

Oh, again, I was responding to Yuji's comment.  Generally, you "overwrite" and much is lost in translation.  Reading your ramblings is extremely strenuous for anyone!

Generally, you "overwrite" and much is lost in translation. 

I  see you've upped your IQ from single digits to low teens. You must be proud.

Kari posted:
ba$eman posted:
Kari posted:
ba$eman posted:

Generally, you "overwrite" and much is lost in translation. 

I  see you've upped your IQ from single digits to low teens. You must be proud.

yes yes, i'm trying hard to keep neck and neck with you!!

Stick to the context, we are discussing Barbados and CaribJ's claim where no documented facts are there to substantiate his tall tales.  You are disconnected from Guyana and some even say you are a White pretending to be Buck evidenced by the famous Sakiwinki is a bird blunder. 

How does your claim above substantiate the lies perpetuated by CaribJ for a decade now? Opulent Bajan, grovelling IndoGuyanese?

First, there is no sakiwinki bird blunder. That is your invention no less than the constant harping about a dollar store or that I am white. There is no "some" stating such  that is your fiction completely.  I am not responsible for your fantasy.

I said I do not know what is happening in Barbados. I said that the majority of guyanese women coming here with no education seek employment in child care or in home assistive health care. That is a fact jack

I can see why the Black Bajan women are complaining about the Guyanese women are taking their jobs. You fail to mention the hundreds of Indo Guyanese working as teachers in schools, colleges and universities in the Caribbean.they are paid well to educate the Dumb Blacks. In Barbados the Indians are well respected by the Whites because they are Hard working. You don't know Barbados, I lived for awhile in Barbados, I employed people.

First, there is no sakiwinki bird blunder. That is your invention no less than the constant harping about a dollar store or that I am white. There is no "some" stating such  that is your fiction completely.  I am not responsible for your fantasy.

I said I do not know what is happening in Barbados. I said that the majority of guyanese women coming here with no education seek employment in child care or in home assistive health care. That is a fact jack

Now you can add liar to your resume. Thankfully there are enough old timers such as Chief and others that can attest to you under the D2 moniker, claiming that a Sakiwinki is a bird.  

The section 8 client claimed that IndoG women are washing Black Bajans bottoms, specifically. Clearly a ploy to demean the IndoG women.