Guyanese alcohol consumption is above global average:

The World Health Organisation (WHO)in a new report launched earlier this week said that on average, Guyanese consumed more than eight litres (17.5 grams daily) of pure alcohol in 2010 compared to the global figure of 6.2 litres (13.5 grams daily).

That is, alcohol consumption in Guyana in 2010 was equal to 8.1 litres of pure alcohol consumed per person aged 15 years or older (15+). However, the average drinker in Guyana consumed more than 3.5 gallons (13.7 litres or 29.76 grams daily.

A one-seventh of this consumption (14 per cent) was unrecorded, ie, homemade alcohol, illegally produced or sold outside normal Government controls. Of total recorded alcohol consumed, 77 per cent was consumed in the form of spirits, while 23 per cent was beer, less than one per cent wine, and less than one per cent other. Some 40.5 per cent of the population aged 15+ had not drunk alcohol in 2010, while 11.5 per cent of the males and 28.8 per cent of females in this age group were lifetime abstainers. About 15.2 per cent of male drinkers (10 per cent of the population aged 15+) engage in heavy episodic drinking, that is, consumed at least 60 grams of pure alcohol at least once per month.

Nehru, every bars on Liberty ave does full on weekends. It can't be just me and you that cause a sold out crowd. Some of them does drink piss and eat poke and wipe them mouth before they go home. Some of them does get even get licks like peas from them wife when them go home. They only know to talk tough on GNI. 

Ah who dem dah????

nehru say the rum more sweet when its free

Ah who dem dah????

Bhai, Ah stupid yuh stupid. DEm neva tell yuh free rum is the best rum.

Originally Posted by raymond:

only PPP people does drink like dis...check them ones from Berbice

Sorry Ray, the Amerindians drink more than people from Berbice. Weh you seh dem Amerinds from?

Skelly, I think Berbiacians drink more than our Amerindians. They does sell Bush Rum down the coast.

Kari, you did another good job by getting my thread closed as well. Ah watching yall.

Snakeman I'm for Internet freedom. No censorship - other than the obvious porn and race. Ii want to see people duke it out in the intellectual arena. I don't care shyte what you right, I will continue to educate you.