May be an image of 1 person and eyeglasses
GUYANESE NEED A MEDAL FOR SERVIVING ON THIS MEAGER WAGE
By Mr Persaud
Perhaps the figures may be different but somehow I'm thinking this is the reality for many especially in Berbice and other country areas. In the town, it's far higher.
Husband salary: $90000 (USD 450$), typical jobs teaching, driver, police, junior govt jobs, middle level private sector jobs etc.
Wife salary: $80000 ($USD400), typical clerical job, nursing, teaching, cashier, etc
Total family income: $170000 ($USD 850)
Typical Expenses
GPL: $10,000 (USD 50)
GWI: $3,000 (USD 15)
Landline: $2,500 (USD 13)
Cellphone: $2,500 (USD13)
Internet: $6,000 (USD 30)
Car loan: $30000 (USD 150)
House Rental: $20000 (USD 100)
Grocery: $30000 (USD 150)
Market Items: $20000 (USD 100)
Kids Needs (Average 2): $20000 (USD 100)
Pocket Piece: $10000 (USD 50)
Gas: $10000 (USD 50)
Savings: $6000 (30)
Total $170000
Guess what the above is generally about 10-15% more in reality and vary by location. In Georgetown, rental alone is around $50000 to $60000. Gas about $20000.
Unless we can talk about raising the minimum wages to decent livable amount, the poor will always be poor. To live a decent standard of living, a family must have atleast $250000 minimum disposable income in circulation.
The above is average but many Guyanese barely get a $100000 total income in circulation.
Imagine how difficult life is for them. Another reality is in many families, the wife does not earn an income. But who cares?
Bottom line: People are finding it rough out there, that's the reality. More need to be done to give people a chance to live a better quality life.... where the oil money deh?
Listen when they can only improve yuh life.
One day, Guyana!
Another view
Husband salary: $90000, typical jobs teaching, driver, nursing, junior govt jobs, middle level private sector jobs etc.
Wife salary: $0, Housewife
Total family income: $90000
Typical Expense
GPL: $4,000
GWI: $2,000
Landline: $1,500
Cellphone: $1,500
Internet: $6,000
House Rental: $15000
Transportation: $5000
Grocery: $25000
Market Items: $15000
Kids Needs (Average 2): $8000
Pocket Piece: $ 3000
Savings/ Box Hand: $4000
Total $90000
For the above scenario, remittance and help from family members go a far way.
Here's where it gets interesting: suppose someone needs private medical care, or say a funeral. Or kid going to UG , or if there is more than 2 kids.. you see where I'm getting at...
Imagine however how tough it is for the single parent, working at a supermarket for $60000 a month..... just imagine
You see why the lil bonus at Christmas is important for families.
On a serious, we need a medal for surviving on this meager wage, yet we living. Kudos to all the magicians out there! I'm dedicating this Independence to us ALL! We are survivors!

See Matthew 26: 11!

Poverty is a state of mind!

Plenty of jobs for those who realise that living is a job, whether by ingenuity or by hook or by crook, which makes stealing or begging a job, too! Just don't get caught and be made an example of, for smarter thieves! Do animals steal? Man is an animal! Laws are made to protect all from the depredations of the few who are a law unto themselves! But first, consider Matthew 7: 12!

Homos do!

As Sai Baba rightly observed : YOU are the only person that forces YOU to live!

All is experience, whether personally acceptable or not! And ALL experiences pass on into memory, whether for this lifetime, or others to follow!