I need help understanding our upbringing and mannerism. A friend of mine just return from Guyana and he said when you give something to a Guyanese, they don't say thanks. When they ask you for something, they don't say please. They feel as though you owe your life to them, and they don't show any appreciation for your kindness to them.         

How often Guyanese says to their mother and father, mom, dad, I love you? You don't have to wait for a special day to say kind words to them. Worship your parents like you would worship your God. This never happened in my time until now. Whether one was fortunate to be educated or not, we must maintain our love to our parents, respect our elders by saying uncle and aunty, and let our mannerism stand out at every occasion. Most of us were sent to school by parents who never see a school door.         

They make the sacrifice for us, and we must cherish it.         

I hate to mention that right here on GNI, Guyanese have shown the same trend of disrespect to calling people, jackass, idiot, antiman, illiterate and many other names to belittle them. This is totally inappropriate. Education starts at home. Our morals and principles are on the brink of collapse.

You have too see with your own eyes and hear with your own ears... ut snake don't have ears.

Go to Guyana your self. Berbicians are very polite and thankful. Then I am speaking  about my friends and relatives. Go to the orphanage in Albion, feed them children and make gifts to see how they will hug you and take a photo with you.

You have too see with your own eyes and hear with your own ears... ut snake don't have ears.

Go to Guyana your self. Berbicians are very polite and thankful. Then I am speaking  about my friends and relatives. Go to the orphanage in Albion, feed them children and make gifts to see how they will hug you and take a photo with you.

you want kids to hug a snake

"I need help understanding our upbringing and mannerism. A friend of mine just return from Guyana and he said when you give something to a Guyanese, they don't say thanks. When they ask you for something, they don't say please. They feel as though you owe your life to them, and they don't show any appreciation for your kindness to them"

This statement is not altogether true. For the most part guyanese as a whole are a very hospitable people. Reading this post, one would gather that you're not from guyana at all; that you don't know your own people. In every society, there are those who are appreciative and those who aren't. so don't paint the entire nation with the same brush. Further, this friend of yours must have had to much El Dorado or XM to be telling you this crap. 

Cobra, Yuh tek yuh rass eyes and pass Bhai Sheik.

Just after Sheik told me about Sammy birthday, he said this to me.

Quote by: Shiek101

Did they try to rape you before this so called guardian angel showed up?

This chap don't have any good in him. You can't teach old dogs new tricks.

What nonesense is this? you made a post and I ask a question concerning it. Did dem bais touch you under de battam house, Paul. Yes or no.

you want kids to hug a snake

Dem kids have a ladder. All dem need is a snake to play "snake & ladder". The one they had, someone made a pair of shoes and matching hand bag with its skin and the fellas at the bar nearby, bunjal the flesh and use it as chaysuh..

Originally Posted by Sheik101:

What nonesense is this? you made a post and I ask a question concerning it. Did dem bais touch you under de battam house, Paul. Yes or no.

You have a dirty mind. You know what my story relates to if you read between the lines. 

Sometimes cobby is so bored that he put up threads with no significance. What he needs to do, is take a trip back home and all his questions will be answered.

Now would be a good time. The GOG is now in the process of cleaning up the city and all hands would be most welcomed. Even prisoners I've read will be putting in their two cents worth. So why not the snake?

Originally Posted by Sheik101:

You have a dirty mind. You know what my story relates to if you read between the lines. 

They only thing that I can relate to, is what you wrote. And that was, you were taken to the wrong side of an island without even offering some kind of protest. This is the trademark of a mook. You have to real stupid to find yourself in a situation like that, if what you say is true.

The Guyana envisioned by our founding fathers was a land of certain key values, the most important of which was our abiding pluralism.

Cheddi Jagan and Janet Jagan were never a racist, the embraced all peoples.

Every person on the planet doan practice prejudices, until one race steps on the toes of the other. Afroes was good ppl for the Jagans, but they must never get to govern the Indoes Guyana. Is okay fot CBJ to skin his teeth and appeared to be a concerned politician for the Afroes but yet implant renowned racist in his govering party. Mrs.J hate country kulie ppl and if u r a Madrassie, god help yuh black rass. C wah she do wid Moses. Juss get some pictures whey she is wid Moses and look at the contempt in her face.  

This was mentioned to me on several occasions also by other people. My late mother has sent money several times to her relatives back home and only one use to write/call and thank her. After awhile she stopped helping out the others.

I need help understanding our upbringing and mannerism. A friend of mine just return from Guyana and he said when you give something to a Guyanese, they don't say thanks. When they ask you for something, they don't say please. They feel as though you owe your life to them, and they don't show any appreciation for your kindness to them.         

How often Guyanese says to their mother and father, mom, dad, I love you? You don't have to wait for a special day to say kind words to them. Worship your parents like you would worship your God. This never happened in my time until now. Whether one was fortunate to be educated or not, we must maintain our love to our parents, respect our elders by saying uncle and aunty, and let our mannerism stand out at every occasion. Most of us were sent to school by parents who never see a school door.         

I hate to mention that right here on GNI, Guyanese have shown the same trend of disrespect to calling people, jackass, idiot, antiman, illiterate and many other names to belittle them. This is totally inappropriate. Education starts at home. Our morals and principles are on the brink of collapse.

Amral
Originally Posted by Amral:

I think it is now a given that the folks back home think we are obligated to help them so they feel that they  need not thank us.

Some of them even abuse you if you're not helping enough in their eyes.

I know someone who traveled from Canada to meet his family in Guyana whom he was assisting financially from time to time.

His Guyana family asked him to buy a minibus for them. He said he couldn't afford it.

All of them ganged up against him and abused him horrendously. They each reminded him of what they did for him, from providing his first baby food to buying his last buckta.

When the poor guy returned to Canada he said he ain't going back at all, and he ain't sending more money either.

Originally Posted by Amral:

I think it is now a given that the folks back home think we are obligated to help them so they feel that they  need not thank us.

Some of them even abuse you if you're not helping enough in their eyes.

I know someone who traveled from Canada to meet his family in Guyana whom he was assisting financially from time to time.

His Guyana family asked him to buy a minibus for them. He said he couldn't afford it.

All of them ganged up against him and abused him horrendously. They each reminded him of what they did for him, from providing his first baby food to buying his last buckta.

When the poor guy returned to Canada he said he ain't going back at all, and he ain't sending more money either.

I have many friends and family that frequently visit Guyana. Each of them tells a different story. Everyone does enjoy themselves, but most of them return brook. There are so many that look forward to something when come from abroad. If one person open their mouth from New Amsterdam and say Cobra is in Guyana, the news will reach Corriverton within minutes. When you arrive at your destination, you would be surprised to see how many people are waiting to greet you. For those who want to be notice for taking jabs at my thread, FYI, my friends are genuine, well respected and responsible to tell the fact of his/her experience. For me, that is reasonably good. Many mature folks on GNI like D_G, Gilbakka, Amral, etc., will tell you differently. You say it the way you see it. Not everything that we debate on should be coated with politics. I trust you would understand.

The Guyana from the british and the Guyana today is two different nation.

The People see the PPP and PNC tief out all the sweetie and thus they cuzzing like a ras,

KishanB, that is no reason to be disrespectful. I am above that. Don't mix home discipline with politics.

The current crop of Guyanese are the product of the PPP/Crooks.

Made by you, perhaps! Aren't you a product of British Guiana? Why are you behaving like today's crop?