President predicts… May 11 will rectify losses of unsupportive 10th Parliament –‘Guyanese will support peace, progress, continued economic growth’

IT WOULD have been better if the 10th Parliament was more supportive of Government programmes, but nonetheless, May 11 will rectify this.This is the conviction of Head of State, President Donald Ramotar, who will be up for re-election come May 11, having led a minority government for just over three years.

The President was at the time speaking, in his capacity as Commander-in-Chief, at the Opening Ceremony of the Guyana Defence Force (GDF)’s Annual Officers’ Conference on Thursday last, where he debriefed his subordinates on political developments here in light of an imminent election.

President Donald Ramotar [at podium, right) addressing GDF Officers and Special Invitees on Thursday last

President Donald Ramotar (at podium, right) addressing GDF Officers and Special Invitees on Thursday last

In providing his recap, the President said that Guyana has been spared the worst of the numerous international crises, and that this had been accomplished through the good governance of the social-economic sector.
He reminded those gathered at Base Camp Ayangana for the Officer’s Conference that over the past nine years, the country has experienced continuous economic growth, accompanied by an increase in the provision of social services.
President Ramotar reminded his audience too that Guyana is close to attaining several of the Millennium Development Goals, such as Universal Secondary Education, “while our housing programme has great success, allowing young people to own their own home.”
It was at this juncture that the President indicated that the successes could have been even greater, had the 10th Parliament been more supportive of Government’s developmental plans and projects.
The 10th Parliament, which was elected in November 2011, saw the Peoples Progressive Party Civic, while winning the largest plurality of votes, lose the Majority in the National Assembly by one seat.
This situation, the Administration has argued, led to obstructionism on the part of the Poltical Opposition — A Partnership for National Unity (APNU) and the Alliance For Change (AFC)— eventually leading to the holding of General and Regional Elections almost two years ahead of its Constitutionally due date.
“The 11th Parliament will be elected on the 11th of May of this year; this I am sure will rectify this situation… I have every confidence in the collective intelligence of the Guyanese people,” President Ramotar said, adding:
“I therefore know that they (the Guyanese electorate) will support peace, progress and prosperity, and for the continued upward trajectory of our economy.”

The President also seized the opportunity to caution the Army Forces to be vigilant in the event of any untoward developments during the election season.
He told the Army’s top brass, “As we approach elections, my fervent hope is that the climate is one of peace; [where] good sense will prevail, even as contesting political parties and their supporters, as is their democratic right, vigorously conduct their campaign.”
Reminding the chieftains of the Armed Forces of their role when it comes to the nation and its security, the Commander-in-Chief cautioned that an election can be divisive in a multi-ethnic society, since ethnic insecurities can be aroused.
The President was stern in his edict, and warned that in such an election climate, “forces of reaction and fragmentation must not be allowed to fester in our society.”
He also used the opportunity to remind the Army’s ranks that voting is their democratic right enshrined in law, and early voting will afford them the opportunity to cast their ballot for a leader of their choice.
Early voting is meant to ensure that the ranks of the Armed Forces are able to stand guard on May 11, when the rest of the electorate take to the polls.
Having emphasised the need for the Armed Forces to play its part in any event that may require their input in the maintenance of law and order, President Ramotar directed: “Any attempt to create a feeling of insecurity and fear among our citizens, or in any segment of our population, based on rumour, subjective gutter politics or worse, must be publicly frowned upon, and action taken by the Security Forces to arrest any such tendency.”
This, he said, must be done through the application of the “full weight of the law and our Constitution,” against those culpable.

(By Gary Eleazar)

extracted from the Guyana Chronicle

However, the PPP/C will emerge with more than 51% of the votes; in another free and fair elections; and Donald Ramotar will be the President.

How far up the planet Uranus did you go to get the 51%?

Donald Ramotar is singing his swan song as commander-in-chief.

Nothing will please the soldiers more than to have David Granger as their commander-in-chief.

The army is very loyal to the PPP. 

Nothing will please the soldiers more than to have David Granger as their commander-in-chief.

I would say that the army as a professional organization is loyal to the government of the day.

The army was loyal to the past government.

The army is loyal to the present government.

The army will be loyal to a future government.

That's how it goes.

I would say that the army as a professional organization is loyal to the government of the day.

That's how it goes.

I cannot disagree. 

We must forget out history though when the PNC used them for 28 years to steal Ballot Boxes and helped in the PNC rigging Machinery.

Facts.

That's how it goes.

I cannot disagree. 

We must forget out history though when the PNC used them for 28 years to steal Ballot Boxes and helped in the PNC rigging Machinery.

Facts.

So you couldn't be a man for 28 years? Now you're gonna online wage jihad against these old black men in 2015 when they're all collecting Old Age Pensions and walking on canes or dead?

That's how it goes.

I cannot disagree. 

Facts.

So you couldn't be a man for 28 years? Now you're gonna online wage jihad against these old black men in 2015 when they're all collecting Old Age Pensions and walking on canes or dead?

No.70 Village almost beat two GDF soldiers to death at the polling station when they tried to steal the ballot box in 1973 Election.

Burnham had to send in the troops.

That's how it goes.

I cannot disagree. 

Facts.

No.70 Village almost beat two GDF soldiers to death at the polling station when they tried to steal the ballot box in 1973 Election.

Burnham had to send in the troops.

Don't claim credit here, yuji. You were only 7 years old. Wha you coulddah beat besides some fowl-chicken?