March 23, 2016 Source

Sugar workers were yesterday told by GuySuCo that there would be no wage increase for 2015 considering the dire state of the corporation’s finances.

In a statement, the Guyana Sugar Corporation said it met earlier yesterday with representatives from the Guyana Agricultural and General Workers Union (GAWU) and the National Association of Agricultural, Commercial and Industrial Employees (NAACIE) to discuss the claims submitted on wages and salaries increases for 2015. The meeting was held at La Bonne Intention Estate.

The statement said that the Corporation through its Finance Director, Paul Bhim detailed the current financial state of the organisation which “depicted a very grim picture, the realities for 2015 and made it clear that there will be no increases in wages and salaries for 2015.”

The Corporation also told the unions of the impact that the El Nino drought will have on the sugar production target for the first crop. The projected figure is 80,270 tonnes for the first crop and the variance is likely to be 12,500 tonnes, the statement said.

“The management of GuySuCo is extremely pleased that the meeting was conducted in a most professional manner which augurs well for the relationship between the Corporation and the Unions.

“While the unions expressed some disappointment with the position taken by the company, a decision was arrived at for a subsequent meeting to discuss other benefits”, the statement said.

The Corporation said it has been in recent weeks informing employees about its current financial position and the actions being undertaken on the road to recovery.

Last year, GuySuCo had told the unions that it was not having any wage negotiations with them for 2015 until the government had deliberated on the findings of the Commission of Inquiry (CoI) into the sugar industry. Several strikes were called by GAWU over this as it argued that GuySuCo’s position was unprecedented.  The government is yet to issue a final position on the CoI report. In the interim, in January the government made the bombshell announcement that it was closing the Wales estate after the end of the second crop this year. This announcement has led to disquiet in the industry and fears over the jobs of those currently employed at Wales.

Sugar is in dire trouble as are rice and bauxite. The coalition took over the reins at a time when the traditional industries, the backbone of the economy are in trouble. I met yesterday with a keen economic/ political/ legal analyst from Guyana who is visiting for 2 weeks. He quickly and simply outlined just how bad the current economy is.   Foreign exchange reserves have plummeted due to the state of the sugar, rice and bauxite industries and lack of preferential markets for these products, and the failure of the petrocaribe arrangement. 

The coalition government has an uphill task to ensure that the Guyana economy not only stays afloat but also developes. As they clamp down on the drug trade (as should have been done a long time ago) the money circulating will be even less. 

Not a good picture for the country that some of us love so much. 

When I hear things like this I find it easier to understand why Granger is putting his squaddies in positions in authority. The military and para military fraternity is a strong one grounded in trust. He needs persons he trusts advising and working with him. Though there are also honorable and competent non military persons around. 

I wish them well. 

On Sugar, Sase Singh has a blog where he posted some pretty interesting articles discussing the sugar industry. 

Susan, the three industry you mentioned are major Foreign Exchange Earners,Sugar on the other hand is heavily subsidized,i still can't understand the economics of pumping G$9 Billion dollars in an industry to earn foreign exchange.

Rice is in private hands farmers will have to cut cost to compete with world market prices.

The cost of production for rice and sugar is nothing new,it was always higher than other producing countries,Burnham didn't helped to remedy the situation[that is a different story],the PPP depend on Petro Caribe never implement cost cutting measures,now this government is feeling the brunt.

INCOMPETENT, CLUELESS FOOLS WILL RUIN GUYANA. IT IS ONLY 10 MONTHS AND GUYANA ONCE AGAIN IS A MESS. THE LAST TIME WAS WHEN THIS VERY PARTY WAS IN CHARGE.  GUYANESE STUPID FUH PUNISHMENT!!

Girl, stay quiet.  There is a Maharaja name Sase Singh who will save the sugar industry and we will all live happily every after!!

Yea he is a brilliant guy isn't he? 

baseman posted:

INCOMPETENT, CLUELESS FOOLS WILL RUIN GUYANA. IT IS ONLY 10 MONTHS AND GUYANA ONCE AGAIN IS A MESS. THE LAST TIME WAS WHEN THIS VERY PARTY WAS IN CHARGE.  GUYANESE STUPID FUH PUNISHMENT!!

Well, seems like Granger has his cohorts lining up with a sh1tload of excuses for his Govt incompetence.  In 10 months everything turn upside down and not the clowns and jokers somehow linking it to the PPP.

These clowns wishing them well from 3000 miles off, sounds like a hand-off, no clue!  Did Sase not just meet with Harmon, what is he blogging about, he should be solving the issues.  He had lots of "solutions" writing articles all the time.  What happen with the sugar sachet solution?

Watch how all these clown and jokers who help install this regime will run for cover as the sh1t hits the fan.  Now this shameless "Susan" person even "supporting" Granger call to arms (GDF) to save their sorrowful pathetic, incompetent asses.  The PPP never called up military, they addressed the issues and did it against the PNC sponsored terrorism.  Why does Granger need the GDF, do they have a solution?

These clowns now admitting the Burnham era has returned and how shameless and insipid they sound taking their demonstrable, asinine stupidity and attempting to turn it into some type of "sense"!!  This must border mental retardation!

Mark my words, all that I predicted pre-May 11, 2015 will be back and all the sell-out katahars and traitors will have to deal with the wrath of the Indo-Guyanese, and Granger's GDF will just watch and scratch their heads!  I had an "inkling" of [reserved] trust in Granger, but it evaporated within a month!!  His best skill is opression, he was with the Burnham GDF when the rigged all the election and drove 30% of the population to foreign lands.  Why does anyone think he now knows to think and act any different!!

Oh dear guard against bursting those blood vessels! 

I am not shameless. I have my opinions and you yours. It is a good day today! So be nice! 

If you don't like what is happening in Guyana so what?! 

I thought he was a con artist!  Which party does be belong to these days - PPP, AFC, or PNC?????????

Oh and there I was talking your words literally! There are a few others  who like to be flexible and explore all political options right here in this board now. Sase is not here to say where his heart now rests. 

susan posted:
baseman posted:

Well, seems like Granger has his cohorts lining up with a sh1tload of excuses for his Govt incompetence.  In 10 months everything turn upside down and not the clowns and jokers somehow linking it to the PPP.

These clowns wishing them well from 3000 miles off, sounds like a hand-off, no clue!  Did Sase not just meet with Harmon, what is he blogging about, he should be solving the issues.  He had lots of "solutions" writing articles all the time.  What happen with the sugar sachet solution?

Watch how all these clown and jokers who help install this regime will run for cover as the sh1t hits the fan.  Now this shameless "Susan" person even "supporting" Granger call to arms (GDF) to save their sorrowful pathetic, incompetent asses.  The PPP never called up military, they addressed the issues and did it against the PNC sponsored terrorism.  Why does Granger need the GDF, do they have a solution?

These clowns now admitting the Burnham era has returned and how shameless and insipid they sound taking their demonstrable, asinine stupidity and attempting to turn it into some type of "sense"!!  This must border mental retardation!

Mark my words, all that I predicted pre-May 11, 2015 will be back and all the sell-out katahars and traitors will have to deal with the wrath of the Indo-Guyanese, and Granger's GDF will just watch and scratch their heads!  I had an "inkling" of [reserved] trust in Granger, but it evaporated within a month!!  His best skill is opression, he was with the Burnham GDF when the rigged all the election and drove 30% of the population to foreign lands.  Why does anyone think he now knows to think and act any different!!

I am not shameless. I have my opinions and you yours. It is a good day today! So be nice! 

What did I say that could possibly lead you to conclude that I am supporting granger in a call to arms? You are inferring what is not even remotely suggested. That is why I do not like to engage you in conversation. 

I think I shall not peek at your comments again. It is a waste of time and energy. 

Have a Holi day!

Sugar is dead. Close the facility and sell the land. If the incompetent PPP fools had not blown nearly U$300 million on various sugar related scams we might have stood a chance. But as it stands, the PPP thief the money. Close the business down now.

Your friends in the PPP ruined the industry. You can scream as much as you want that it is the current government fault. But every Guyanese know that it is the PPP that sank the business. Sugar is dead. Close the facilities.

alena06 posted:

No wage hikes for the poor, starving sugar workers;  but the big boys had a budget to give themselves big increases as soon as they took office.

Guysuco gets billions of dollars pumped in every year.  Why? So that those same starving sugar workers will keep their jobs.

As obnoxious as the pay increase was, it is NOT equivalent to the billions of bail out funding which Guysuco gets annually.

baseman posted:
will have to deal with the wrath of the Indo-Guyanese, and Granger's GDF will just watch and scratch their heads!  I

Always interesting the double standards of the brown bai KKK.  When the PPP abandoned the bauxite workers to the Chinese, who promptly fired 80% of them the PPP did NOTHING to help them transition to other occupations.  Even though alternate occupations in Linden are less available than on the coast where the sugar workers can be given land to farm other crops.

But Guysuco can be bailed out with multi billion dollar injections annually, and this for no other reason than to preserve sugar worker jobs.  Yet you scream at the notion that Lindeners get a light bill subsidy, when in fact its BOSAI which is the biggest beneficiary as the leading user of electricity in Linden!

The brown bai KKK operate with the notion that Indians are a special group in Guyana, so should get special privileges.

Mr.T posted:

Your friends in the PPP ruined the industry. .

Don't you know that when Jagdeo squandered millions of dollars (US) on Skeldon, and ran down Guysuco, that its blackman to blame.

Every thing that goes bad in Guyana, its "blackman fault".  Even the current drought.

baseman posted:
susan posted:
baseman posted:

I know, tell that to the all the Indians who people like you shamelessly threw under the bus, while you stay out of the fray some 3000 miles away!

Hey, Guyana going back to the PNC abyss and darkness, which YOU even [shamelessly] admitted, what is there to "like"?

Wow, the density abounds!!  You went from sour dough to runny chota mix, setting at the lowest point under the force of gravity.

Given your [scripted] response and your original post, compared to the "let-it be" moment yesterday, I guess your handlers in Congress Place stepped in and [not so not-obvious] upped your game.

makes you day to let it fly like that huh? GNI is therapeutic for you! It really is a waste of time trying to make you see that you do not comprehend anything I wrote. You are just being an erratic bully because you think you can try to bully me. Look after your blood vessels they might burst. 

You think all Indians must be bigoted like you! You are fooling yourself and you must be terrified of your own shadow. 

Now show if you have cojones and attempt to take up Carib and Storm, Kari, Redux and Chief, When you yap your nonsense they thrash you so much you cannot even squeak. 

I will not engage you further, no matter what more nasty nonsense you throw out because  It is an utter waste of time and energy to engage poor intellect like yours. 

baseman posted:

Happy Phagwah, Base. 

baseman posted:

Happy Phagwah, Base. 

My Dear Anscale Fish - Please stay away from these lovers' quarrels.  When they ride away into the sunset with Cupid's arrows plunged deep in their hearts, you and I will be left with our jaws-dropped wondering whatever happened to Romeo and Juliet!

baseman posted:

Happy Phagwah, Base. 

My Dear Anscale Fish - 

I hope you paid for Shaitaan's patented expression. I suspect you're infringing his copyright. In which case, you're provoking his ire and that is a terrible thing.