GuySuco unable to pay staff

May 25, 2015 6:47 pm Category: latest news A+ / A-

guysuco[www.inewsguyana.com] – The Guyana Agricultural and General Workers Union (GAWU) and the National Association of Agricultural, Commercial and Industrial Employees (NAACIE) says it was informed that the Corporation is unable to pay senior and junior staffers of the sugar industry for this month – May 2015.

A joint release from GAWU and NAACIE stated that this may lead to termination of its operations which would mean that all employees – waged and salaried – except security personnel would not be provided with work from (Sunday) May 31, 2015.

The news was related to the unions by Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of the Guyana Sugar Corporation (GuySuCo), Dr. Rajendra Singh.

The CEO also advised the Unions that the Government has been apprised of the situation.

In the media release, GAWU and NAACIE says it, “believes that the ceasing of operations by the Corporation would further jeopardize the state of the industry and impact negatively on some 16,000 workers of the industry.”

The two unions are now calling on the new Government to ensure the continuation of the industry’s operation at this crucial time.

Quote "A joint release from GAWU and NAACIE stated that this may lead to termination of its operations which would mean that all employees – waged and salaried – except security personnel would not be provided with work from (Sunday) May 31, 2015."unquote

Watch and see how cobra, yuji and rama blame the PNC for this.

Whah yuh think bai? They had money to pay them last month. Notice how the security personnel will be paid? In any business there are profit and cost centers. For Guysuco, the security personnel is part of the cost center, yet they will get paid. Yuh wanted do job. Now do it and hold yourself responsible for the consequences.

Originally Posted by ksazma:

Whah yuh think bai? They had money to pay them last month. Notice how the security personnel will be paid? In any business there are profit and cost centers. For Guysuco, the security personnel is part of the cost center, yet they will get paid. Yuh wanted do job. Now do it and hold yourself responsible for the consequences.

Yes here we go.  These PPP folks are amazingly bold face.  APNU AFC took office on May 18th. Have they done anything with Guysuco management yet?  NO.  Guysuco is still beng run by the same thieves who ran it into the ground under the PPP.

Yet PPP thieves are going to excuse themselves.    Ksazma tell your buddies to put the money BACK!   I know when Granger locks them up for theft you all are going to scream race!

Yes here we go.  These PPP folks are amazingly bold face.  APNU AFC took office on May 18th. Have they done anything with Guysuco management yet?  NO.  Guysuco is still beng run by the same thieves who ran it into the ground under the PPP.

Yet PPP thieves are going to excuse themselves.    Ksazma tell your buddies to put the money BACK!   I know when Granger locks them up for theft you all are going to scream race!

Is it reasonable to think that the management at Guysuco could have gotten a call from the new Minister that there will be no disbursement for May. Do you think that Guysuco keeps the funds they generate? 

It is also reasonable to think that the new government have decided to allocate those funds elsewhere.

Is it reasonable to think that the management at Guysuco could have gotten a call from the new Minister that there will be no disbursement for May. Do you think that Guysuco keeps the funds they generate? 

It is also reasonable to think that the new government have decided to allocate those funds elsewhere.

You should be addressing how your PPP/C has abandon theses sugar workers who supported them on May 11th.

The article did not state that the were not paid for April. Now with new government in place, they are being told that they will not be paid. Only fourteen days after the elections. The new government seem unprepared to govern Guyana.

Originally Posted by TK:

Hope the govt has a plan to keep paying wages until the fundamentals are done to fix industry...don't give GAWU/PPP a cause on a silver platter.

I do also. Politics aside, those are poor people just seeking to pay for the basic daily needs.

Originally Posted by TK:

Hope the govt has a plan to keep paying wages until the fundamentals are done to fix industry...don't give GAWU/PPP a cause on a silver platter.

I do also. Politics aside, those are poor people just seeking to pay for the basic daily needs.

I agree with both of you. Guyana still needs our barrels and remittances.

16,000 Workers, (Salaries and Weekly) I do not know the payment per month, for workers so cannot do the maths. But if we do know what is the average pay per month then we can see by calculation what Guysuco (Workers Wages and Salaries) is per month.

16,000 Workers at average G$40,000 each, we are looking at G$640,000,000

that works out to Six Hundred and Forty Million.

Will the New Govt pump this amount into Guysuco? then comes again in June, still there will be no money for Salary and Wages, will the New Govt pump another 640,000,000?

The entire Guysuco needs revamping. For the next three months they will need like about two billion dollars.

Originally Posted by asj:

16,000 Workers, (Salaries and Weekly) I do not know the payment per month, for workers so cannot do the maths. But if we do know what is the average pay per month then we can see by calculation what Guysuco (Workers Wages and Salaries) is per month.

Will the New Govt pump this amount into Guysuco? then comes again in June, still there will be no money for Salary and Wages, will the New Govt pump another 640,000,000?

The entire Guysuco needs revamping. For the next three months they will need like about two billion dollars.

Guysuco needs to be privatized just like Bauxite was.

Originally Posted by politikalamity:

Its not viable, understand what that means.

Originally Posted by politikalamity:

Its not viable, understand what that means.

scuse me? 

To Congress Place or the GDF for example? You're thinking reasonably well.

??? Gilbakka please come in . . . i hope you are reaching for sarcasm here

Yuh mean yuh ent know me yet, frenno? I don't have to underline "Sarcastic remark" or whatever irony or metaphor.

Mar 22/15:

Sugar industry is dead, says former Parliamentarian

March 22, 2015 6:10 am Category: Politics A+ / A-

By Tracey Khan – Drakes

Stanley Ming

[www.inewsguyana.com]- The sugar industry in Guyana is dead and the ruling People’s Progressive Party Civic (PPP/C) is sinking millions of dollars into an industry that it knows cannot be sustained for much longer, according to former PNCR Parliamentarian and prominent businessman, Stanley Ming.

He says the PPP’s support base is traditionally from Guyanese who work in the sugar industry and as such they are deliberately using tax payers’ money to pump into an industry that is being eliminated in many parts of the world.

When asked to justify his statement Ming explained, “every time we hear from the Government that they are restructuring the Board for the sugar corporation, they are bringing in this person from this other country to fix the Skeldon Plant and every year it’s a new excuse, if it’s not the Plant, it’s the weather.”

According to Ming, the excuses that government continues to offer for the continued failure of the industry are all cover ups for their own political gains.

“Sugar all over the world is now being replaced by substitute sweeteners and the price that sugar is being sold for now on the world market is less than the cost of production and there is no way that we can bring the cost down to meet what is the world price for sugar is, so we are flagging a dead horse,” Ming told reporters during a lunch time series on Friday, March 20 which was organized by the

Guyana Press Association.Sugar

He went on to add that, “what is happening in Guyana is that politicians think about what they need to do in the next four years to win the votes of the next election; they don’t think about the long term future of any country and that’s not only Guyana.”

Ming’s alternative is a product called Quinoa which is a good gluten-free source of protein, iron and fiber. It is a $US6B product that a number of countries are transitioning to as a source of their country’s income and can be grown in any country.

“I went to the supermarket just last week in the United States and a pack of Quinoa is US$28 and the rice or any other grain is less than a quarter of the price.”

He used Taiwan as an example of how a country can diversify its income in an Agricultural setting, after transitioning from sugar.

“Taiwan doesn’t produce one ounce of sugar anymore; they buy it, they import it but they created plots of land throughout the country where they had agricultural scientist develop techniques and educate the people on how to grow better crops that are more valuable to the world market and today the farmers that were growing sugar for example one acre of sweet pepper is US$10,000, an acre of rice is 1.5 tonnes,” Ming explained.

Meanwhile, Head of the African Cultural & Development Association, Eric Phillips said phasing out the sugar industry is not intended to take sugar workers out of work.

Yuh mean yuh ent know me yet, frenno? I don't have to underline "Sarcastic remark" or whatever irony or metaphor.

arite man, didn't see your "?" . . . to be perfectly honest bai, i doan know where some 'coalitian' bannas coming from no more

Is wha mi juss seh by "not viable" to your stupid "divestment" proposal.  Why the hell you think the Govt is saddled with it.  Divestment is not an option, unless you want to buy.

Guysuco has no money to pay workers; govt to take steps to avoid closure

The Guyana Sugar Corporation (GuySuco) is running out of money to pay wages and salaries, but two senior government ministers Monday night assured that the sugar industry would not be allowed to collapse.
Minister of Agriculture, Noel Holder said based on a document provided to him at a meeting held Monday afternoon with GuySuco’s Chief Executive Officer, Dr. Rajendra Singh the corporation is forecast to generate “sufficient funds to pay its wages and small routine costs” for May, 2015 but “financing is required from June onwards.”
“There is no intention of having GuySuco go under…The funding of GuySuco would have to continue probably for the rest of this year,”  he said
Finance Minister, Winston Jordan said Cabinet would first have to meet and make a decision based on information that would be provided by the Minister of Agriculture. “I am sure that Cabinet is going to make a decision that is in the best interest of the Corporation,” he said.
Holder told Demerara Waves Online News that he first has to clarify with the Chief Executive Officer of GuySuco, Dr. Rajendra Singh whether the money is needed for May or June, 2015 because of different information being circulated. Holder said Singh informed him that there is no money to pay wages and salaries for June. “I am totally confused,” he said, adding that he needed to meet with Singh on Wednesday to ascertain what the accurate account is.
However, the two sugar workers’ unions- Guyana Agricultural and General Workers Union (GAWU) and the National Association of Agricultural Commercial and Industrial Employees (NAACIE)- claimed that Singh told them in a meeting Monday afternoon that Guysuco would be unable to pay senior and junior employees for May, 2015 and that the corporation “might have to cease operations on all estates” from May 31, 2015 “unless funding to the corporation becomes available within a few days.
“GAWU and NAACIE believe that the ceasing of operations by the corporation would further jeopardize the state of the industry and impact negatively on some 16,000 workers of the industry,” the unions said in a joint statement. “The two unions seek that the new government ensures the continuation of the industry’s operations at this crucial time.”
The President of GAWU,  Komal Chand told Demerara Waves Online News that the GuySuco  CEO informed the unions that there was no money to pay salaried workers for May and could not afford to pay wage-earners next week.
Asked whether he believed that the sugar corporation would have been on the verge of closure if the People’s Progressive Party Civic (PPPC) had been reelected on May 11, 2015, Chand said “no” because the then government had promised to a bailout package of GUY$4 billion per year.
Chand predicted massive unrest if government does not find money to pay the workers. “They will behave bad,” he said. GAWU is closely aligned to the main opposition PPP.
Chand said the corporation also badly needs cash to procure spare parts and provide maintenance to the factories at the seven grinding estates across Guyana during the out-of-crop period.
GuySuco’s  first crop recorded a 5,010 ton shortfall, having failed to produce the desired 86,201 tons of the sweetener.

The PPP made sure that  it emptied the account of GuySuCo before they left office. The workers have two choices: demonstrate to Granger that they can produce the goods on time and in budget, or find another job. The rest of the Guyanese tax payers cannot keep pumping money into a big PPP hole. These people should get it in their head that the government money belongs to the people of Guyana, and each public industry has as much right as another to a share of the money to keep running. GuySuCo has had more than its fair share so they need to haul their backside and show some productivity. The PPP freeloading days are over.

OLD news.

The only thing I am not happy with is that the CEO was with the Minister only Yesterday but he decline to share this information with him.

Interesting.

Who really in power?

Originally Posted by Prashad:
Raj and he cousin need to go see wan pandit. One lose the Presidency and.one going down with the sinking company in less than one month.

Raj Singh will resign and return to America.

"GAWU is closely aligned to the main opposition PPP."

Ok so I'm ignorant on this here, so, why is this allowed?

I believe that it was the PPP which established GAWU.  Political parties in the Caribbean were heavily aligned with the trade unions in the 40s, 50s, and 60s.  Check around the Caribbean and you will see "Peoples" or "Labour" within the names of many of these entities.

"GAWU is closely aligned to the main opposition PPP."

Ok so I'm ignorant on this here, so, why is this allowed?

I believe that it was the PPP which established GAWU.  Political parties in the Caribbean were heavily aligned with the trade unions in the 40s, 50s, and 60s.  Check around the Caribbean and you will see "Peoples" or "Labour" within the names of many of these entities.

The same could be said of the new Ministries being "established" by the new Govt, no?

If so, that could be one heck of disaster should the PPP ever get back in office.