Haitian Ministers tour Haitian Rice Company in Region Five

A new agreement that is at present being drafted will see Haitian students being trained at the Guyana School of Agriculture (GSA), according to Agriculture Minister Dr. Leslie Ramsammy.

During a tour of Saj Rice Mill in Region Five in the company of the Haitian Minister of Commerce, Industry Mr. Wilson La Leau and the Minister of Agriculture Jacques Thomas, Minister Ramsammy disclosed that the two countries will be signing another Memorandum of Understanding (MOU), which is currently being drafted for among others, Haitian students to be schooled at the GSA.

The Saj Rice Mill in Region Five

According to Minister Ramsammy the MOU will also provide collaboration in the areas of fruits and vegetable production, among other areas. The Minister explained that, “Guyana can offer a great deal to Haiti, we are not where we used to be eight years ago where we depended on other people for help, we are now in a position where we can help, in this context we are not looking at Haiti as just a market.”

Minister of Agriculture Dr Leslie Ramsammy and Haitian Minister of Commerce, Industry Mr. Wilson La Leau and Minister of Agriculture Jacques Thomas with team on tour of the Saj Rice Mill

Minister of Agriculture Dr Leslie Ramsammy and Haitian

Minister of Commerce, Industry Mr. Wilson La Leau and

Minister of Agriculture Jacques Thomas with team on

tour of the Saj Rice Mill

“Eleven million people represent a big market for Guyana, whether it is rice, sugar, fish or poultry, but our interest in Haiti goes beyond Haiti as a big market, we see Haiti as a sister a partner, where we can work together,” he stated.

Minister Ramsammy, while referring to the recently signed MOU to enhance Guyana’s traceability capacity, revealed the new MOU in the works. “We signed a MOU because Haiti has developed a traceability system that we want to piggy back on so we can build our own traceability system. Without it we cannot continue to export into the United States, Canada into Europe.”

“We are also going to be working on fruits and vegetables, to see how we could support Haiti in building some of that and at the same time Haiti has an excellent reputation in selling coffee and mangoes in Europe and North America and that is an area we can learn from them,” Minister Ramsammy said.

A staff of the Saj Rice Mill explaining the grading process to the team

A staff of the Saj Rice Mill explaining the grading process

to the team

The Agriculture Minister explained that motivation behind the Haitian Ministers tour of the rice facility. He said that whilst he was in Haiti recently, he enlightened them to the fact that the Haitian Saj-Steven Angele Jeff Khauly has been operating a mill in Guyana since 2006 under a 10-year lease.

Minister Ramsammy said that Saj has done a good job in Guyana and that the hope is that they will help to get rice into Haiti and other places. He said that the Rice Group has a great relationship with the local rice farmers and has invested significantly in modernising the leased mill.

Minister of Agriculture Dr Leslie Ramsammy and the Haitian Minister of Commerce, and Industry Mr. Wilson La Leau and the Minister of Agriculture Jacques Thomas with the GRDB executives and some of the staff of the Saj Rice Mill

Minister of Agriculture Dr Leslie Ramsammy and the Haitian

Minister of Commerce, and Industry Mr. Wilson La Leau and

the Minister of Agriculture Jacques Thomas with the GRDB

executives and some of the staff of the Saj Rice Mill

The facility has been upgraded with new equipment and a new generator system, among others. The company has indicated its interest in extending its lease to 20 years, and it is for all these reasons that the ministry is considering giving the company the extension, Minister Ramsammy said.

The two Haitian Ministers were in agreement of the importance of Haiti to develop partnership with other Caricom countries. The Agriculture Minister Thomas explained that agriculture is only one of the many areas in which the country is seeking to strengthen its partnership with Guyana and other Caricom countries toward the development of Haiti.

Originally Posted by Prashad:

Now this is something.  Haiti is now investing in Guyana.

No you misguided soul, typical AFC/pnc propaganda,  Hati is learning from Guyana, not investing. Guyana is now a role model for 3rd world nations on how to spur development. ahahahah

In two years Haiti will be growing their own rice, turning out a better product and exporting, thereby cutting into Guyana's market. Guyana will then send a few ministers back to Haiti to see how they are planting rice to improve Guyana's rice industry. It's gonna sound funny now but its gonna happen.

Logistics is a problem in Guyana. Dey can plant, grow and make sales deals all dey want, but if overall it is not profitable then who will want to loose money.

The Ministry want to promote coconuts, once I tried to export coconut meal to Fortelenza, Brazil. The cost of shipping the containers were more than shipping it to Belgium. 

Wish dem luck. I am surprised that Haiti doan buy rice from Lousiana.

Look at that, with all the limitations, Guyana is offering a helping hand to Haiti.  Things must be looking up in GT in spite of the nay-sayers.

I am actually sorry for the Hatians...can you imagine them take home a Guysuco/skeldon business model...

Originally Posted by Bruddaman:

In two years Haiti will be growing their own rice, turning out a better product and exporting, thereby cutting into Guyana's market. Guyana will then send a few ministers back to Haiti to see how they are planting rice to improve Guyana's rice industry. It's gonna sound funny now but its gonna happen.

You are an eternal pessimist when it comes to Guyana. You like to drag your fellow Guyanese down, a trait shared by many.

Originally Posted by Bruddaman:

You mean to say, after all this time, Haiti was never exposed to rice growing and other agro.  I did not realize the Haitians did not realize if they come to Guyana they will learn the game and beat Guyana at it.

So what should be the headline in this wonder story, "How Guyana Developed Haiti" or "How Haiti Underdeveloped Guyana"?

No you misguided soul, typical AFC/pnc propaganda,  Hati is learning from Guyana, not investing. Guyana is now a role model for 3rd world nations on how to spur development. ahahahah

Listen up you b---r guard my only concern is the return of the Jagans to their right full political place. 1. The leadership of the PPP party. 2. The Leadership of the country.  The rest of things is of lesser importance to me.

Give it up, Guyana is better off with the Jagans dead and gone, which happens to be true, they are dead and gone. So unless you plan to raise Janet and Cheddi from the grave I suggest you find some other hero to worship.

No you misguided soul, typical AFC/pnc propaganda,

like Yuh big Godie is now the Ramotar & Jagdeo guided missel.  

Hati is learning from Guyana, not investing.

Like how Suriname learning fuh export Lumber

Guyana is now a role model for 3rd world nations on how to spur development.

Role model...

(1) United States say Guyana is de Major trans-shipment point for Narco.

(2) Us Court records prove this Ramsammy Fella ......as one of the Jagdeo's Ministers who was heavily involved in smuggleing with Roger Khan.

ahahahah

Only one of Ramotar's Big Seed Donkey would Bray like this and believe everything from Ramsammy mouth.

Prashad .......De Big Seed Donkey cannot understand if the leadership of the PPP cant clean up their act now....stop all the thiefing and corruption... they will thrown out and we might be forced to deal with them PNC Bandits again.

People like Big Seed would never like what Jagan tell them about thiefing.

Ramsammy say Guyana will teach Haiti about Agriculture.

Luncheon say Guyana Sugar Industry under Jagdeo & Ramotar is a letdown.

US Govt say Ramsammy was involved in Smuggleing with Roger Khan.... and Jagdeo and Ramotar had to know about their runnings

Why would anyone trust those B@tty Boys who call thiefing Development.

Subscribe to Kaieteur NewsWeb Feed

US$200M Skeldon Sugar Factory

seen as a letdown

March 29, 2013 | By | Filed Under News 

The US$200M Skeldon Sugar Factory built as part of Government’s plan to reverse the sorrowful state of the country’s sugar industry is a letdown, says Dr. Roger Luncheon, Head of the Presidential Secretariat.

The beleaguered Skeldon factory “hasn’t realised its promise within the expected time”

Financing for the factory is derived from a mixture of state funds, grants from the European Union (EU) and loans from the Caribbean Development Bank (CDB) and World Bank.

Dr. Luncheon is doubtful whether Guyana has begun repaying the loans to the International Financial Institutions. Nonetheless, even if the factory never begins producing sugar to its optimum, as is currently the case, Guyana still has to repay the loan. Noting that it sometimes takes about 20 years to commence repayments on these loans, Luncheon said he is hopeful that the factory would have, at that time, achieved its objectives. The Cabinet Secretary was unable to reveal at his weekly press conference how much Guyana would have to repay because of the “intricate financing involving public funds and a variety of donor agencies that have different terms”. He explained that money from the EU was in the form of a grant and there is no loan or repayment associated with that assistance. However, financing from the CDB and World Bank were loans, and in time, Guyana has to repay. “Skeldon was and remains an incisive developmental initiative in agricultural and sugar in Guyana…We join with those who have expressed their concerns that it hasn’t realised its promise within the expected time,” he said. However, the Skeldon Sugar Factory is only a part of the challenges that the Guyana Sugar Corporation (GuySuCo) experiences. While some have called for Government to privatise the industry, others believe with proper management and necessary resources it has a chance of survival. Only recently, former Member of Parliament for the People’s National Congress Reform (PNCR) Anthony Vieira blamed Government for the decline of the sugar industry. Commenting on the industry being starved of funds, he said, “Beginning in 2006 the EU had started paying the development fund to Guyana which was our compensation for the loss of the preferential price for sugar in the EU markets”. The money was never released to GuySuCo, he said. However, Dr. Luncheon said that the money was for budgetary support and not directed for a specific project. He explained that a significant transition has been taking place to development aid by the donor community. There is a shifting from project financing to budget support which allows funds into the country’s revenue and is used for developmental priorities.

Originally Posted by antabanta:

Why is the PPP allowing MARDS and the entire infrastructure around MARDS to run down? Just because it was a Fat Boy project?

No comment from the PPP cabal? The entire MARDS area is in a complete state of disrepair. The potholed road gets a quick patch up days before any bigwig's visit which just as quickly reverts to disrepair.

Is the government doing anything to utilize this resource?

Is the government making any attempt to alleviate the hardships, boredom, suicides prevalent in such areas as Black Bush Polder, a massive rice-producing region?

20130328donkey

Buoi, stop being a jackass nuh.  We Guyana c00lies gon help feed dem poor Haitians and they will not have to risk their lives to come for menial work in the USA.  We must remember our suffering under the PNC despots and give a helping hand to those suffering due to nothing of their making.

Why is the PPP allowing MARDS and the entire infrastructure around MARDS to run down? Just because it was a Fat Boy project?

No comment from the PPP cabal? The entire MARDS area is in a complete state of disrepair. The potholed road gets a quick patch up days before any bigwig's visit which just as quickly reverts to disrepair.

Is the government doing anything to utilize this resource?

Is the government making any attempt to alleviate the hardships, boredom, suicides prevalent in such areas as Black Bush Polder, a massive rice-producing region?

Monkey know which limb fa jump pon. No response atall atall ?