Haitians “disappear” from city Guest House – AG

Haitians outside of a hotel at South Road, Georgetown. [Photo taken from News Room]

The 26 Haitians, who were detained and subsequently released by local authorities pending the determination of court proceedings, have left their city dwelling.

This is according to Attorney General Senior Counsel Anil Nandlall who told reporters on Thursday that the persons have disappeared from the Guest House they were staying at on South Road, Georgetown.

“The information I’ve now received is that they’ve all disappeared… they have left,” the Attorney General disclosed.

Meanwhile, when this publication visited the Guest House, it was confirmed that the 26 Haitians, including children, were no longer there.

INews was told that two Route 94 mini-buses (which operate the Georgetown to Lethem Route) on Thursday afternoon picked up all the Haitians from the South Road building and left.

It is unclear whether those persons are still in the country. When contacted, Crime Chief Wendell Blanhum said he was not aware of any development with respect to the Haitians.

It was initially reported that the Haitians were using Guyana as a transit point to get to Brazil and other countries.

However, Nandlall had previously pointed out that Government is grappling with immigrants abusing Guyana as a transit point and noted that the Brazilian government had complained about this practice.

“We have a complaint from the Brazilian Government to say that Guyana is being used as a transshipment point for people smuggling into Brazil. And we are being blamed for this. We are not an island. We are mainland. And we have extraordinarily wide borders that are almost impossible to monitor and police,” he had said during an interview with Trinidad’s morning edition last week.

The 26 Haitians were suspected to be victims of Human Trafficking and were detained by the Guyana Police Force and subsequently placed in protective custody at the Hugo Chávez Centre since last month.

It was reported that 13 of the Haitians were first picked up by Police acting on reasonable suspicion and information, at a hotel on South Road and taken to be interviewed by agents of the Trafficking In Persons (TIP) unit.

The remainder were picked up on November 8 after being intercepted at a Police roadblock in Linden. At the time, the Police became suspicious that they were being smuggled to Brazil through the Georgetown-Lethem route.

Chief Magistrate Sherdel Issacs-Marcus had subsequently issued deportation orders after being approached by the Immigration Office.

However, the Association of Haitian Nationals in Guyana successfully approached acting Chief Justice Roxane George on December 3, to block the deportation until the constitutionality of their detention comes up for the hearing of arguments.

However, with the ongoing court case, a decision was taken to release the Haitians since it cannot be determined how long the legal proceedings will last.

The government had said last week that the Haitians had requested to be transported to an address of their choice. As such, last Thursday they were dropped off at the guest house on South Road.

Nandlall told reporters that the Haitians were entitled to six months stay in Guyana, noting that they were legally allowed to stay in Guyana for several months more.

“If they’re no longer here, not only the case ought to go but the government’s position has been vindicated,” he asserted.

Nevertheless, the Attorney General noted that with the case coming up today, the court will be informed of their disappearance and those who had petitioned for them will have to now answer to court.

https://www.inewsguyana.com/ha...city-guest-house-ag/

@Nehru posted:

What the RACIST PIGS in the PNC and GHRA has to say now. Bloody IDIOTS!!!

Pandit, glad to see you over here. Wah happening at the backdam, bush and vines overran the place? PPP style maintanance mek the place redundant, swampy.

Last edited by seignet
@Nehru posted:

Before the PPP took office three months ago, many here were defending the Haitians but no one is saying anything after they disappear. The Ponzi Scheme was another issue where many did the same but all who jump the gun in defending the two individuals are nowhere to be seen. What do you call that, Nehru? 

Viper
@Nehru posted:

The PNC is hiding them.  They used the Faked situation that they were being ill-treated to distract the PPP from continuing progress.

@Prashad posted:

Brazil will close its border with Guyana if these Haitians continue to abuse the system.

It is not the Haitians but the PNC agents who are transporting them across the border. They should be locked up.

@seignet posted:

Pandit, glad to see you over here. Wah happening at the backdam, bush and vines overran the place? PPP style maintanance mek the place redundant, swampy.

The Bishop should send over some weed cutters, to clear the bush and vines.

Robert Persaud Inews and PPP Nandlall talking about Haitians.  Since when is the PPP government mouthpieces telling the truth ?

The PPP government  treated the Haitians illegally from the start. 

@Tola posted:

Robert Persaud Inews and PPP Nandlall talking about Haitians.  Since when is the PPP government mouthpieces telling the truth ?

The PPP government  treated the Haitians illegally from the start.

They deserve what they got. They tried to rip off the Government using people like you. How much did you get? Are you still a Canadian citizen? You better pay up your taxes or they are going to send me after you.

Last edited by Ramakant-P
@Ramakant-P posted:

They deserve what they got. They tried to rip off the Government using people like you. How much did you get? Are you still a Canadian citizen? You better pay up your taxes or they are going to send me after you.

The PPP ripping off people is nothing new to Guyanese, they do it all the time. Kickbacks and bribes. Its no wonder projects are not completed properly.   

@Tola posted:

The PPP ripping off people is nothing new to Guyanese, they do it all the time. Kickbacks and bribes. Its no wonder projects are not completed properly.   

The Haitians are hiding at Nabaclis and Anandale.

@Tola posted:

Because they are still afraid what the PPP can do to them.

It doesn't matter what you and Mitwah say, you are wrong about the PPP and you can't change the fact that the Haitians are criminals who broke the law and supported by you two Jackasses.

@Mitwah posted:

The Haitians are hiding at Nabaclis and Anandale.

What reasons do have to say such stupid things.  if we catch them we are going to jail them and you in the same cell. Why don't you own up to your ridiculous behavior and say you are sorry that you were wrong.

@Ramakant-P posted:

It doesn't matter what you and Mitwah say, you are wrong about the PPP and you can't change the fact that the Haitians are criminals who broke the law and supported by you two Jackasses.

Don't be an dankey. What law did they break ? CARICOM laws allowed them to remain in GY for six months.

@Ramakant-P posted:

What reasons do have to say such stupid things.  if we catch them we are going to jail them and you in the same cell. Why don't you own up to your ridiculous behavior and say you are sorry that you were wrong.

Jackass, jail them for what ?

@Tola posted:

Don't be an dankey. What law did they break ? CARICOM laws allowed them to remain in GY for six months.

They tried to extort money from the government.  If they were allowed to stay in Gt for six months why are they in hiding.  Why is the PNC protecting them? Why are the token coolies do not want them to be found?  They should be concerned about Guyana laws that they broke.

You are an accessory to a felon. You are going down.

Lock them up.

@Ramakant-P posted:

They tried to extort money from the government.  If they were allowed to stay in Gt for six months why are they in hiding.

Why is the PNC protecting them? Why are the token coolies do not want them to be found?  They should be concerned about Guyana laws that they broke.

Lock them up.

LIAR !!!!

@Ramakant-P posted:

They tried to extort money from the government.  If they were allowed to stay in Gt for six months why are they in hiding.  Why is the PNC protecting them? Why are the token coolies do not want them to be found?  They should be concerned about Guyana laws that they broke.

Lock them up.

How much did they extort from the government ?

Where did CARICOM laws allowed then to stay only in GT ?

Where is your evidence that the PNC is protecting them ?

Why do they need protection ?

Who are the token coolies that did not want to be found?

What Guyanese law did they break ?

How am I an accessory to a felon ?

Why should they be locked up ?

Are you brain damaged ? 

"They tried to extort money from the government. "  I know that Kakakant is a demented fool but he tells big , fat lies.  Here he makes the statement that the Haitians were trying to extort money from the government.  What is the source of this information?  How could the Haitians extort money from the government? 

@Tola posted:

How much did they extort from the government ?

Where did CARICOM laws allowed then to stay only in GT ?

Where is your evidence that the PNC is protecting them ?

Why do they need protection ?

Who are the token coolies that did not want to be found?

What Guyanese law did they break ?

How am I an accessory to a felon ?

Why should they be locked up ?

Are you brain damaged ?

Lock them up.

@Ramakant-P posted:

Go look in the mirror.

@Tola posted:

Look out Rama, dem coming for you. An admitted gay old fart will provide a useful service in prison.

Kakakant is a demented fool. He makes up stories as he goes along. Can you imagine how smart he was to spend 39 years in the same position at Nortel doing the same thing everyday with no promotion.

I should remind all of you big, educated men that all I see is personal attacks on each other and derailing to the topic. The admin should really take a good look at what is happening here. Can anyone say anything positive or negative ON the TOPIC? We are using the forum to discuss and debate published topics from OUR COUNTRY.

The five cocks are: Tola, Totaram, Mitwah, Ramakant, and Django, the admin.

Viper
@Viper posted:

I should remind all of you big, educated men that all I see is personal attacks on each other and derailing to the topic. The admin should really take a good look at what is happening here. Can anyone say anything positive or negative ON the TOPIC? We are using the forum to discuss and debate published topics from OUR COUNTRY.

Go take a flying leap in an empty lake, holy boy. 

@Viper posted:

@Tola posted:

Go take a flying leap in an empty lake, holy boy.

He did that already but survived with major head injuries. The result is in his posts on this forum.  Chupidness na gat cure.

@Nehru posted:

Look at dis stupid Drunkie. The Coalition always contended that the Haitians were in transit to Brazil via Lethem. I think at one point they set up some checkpoint or something.

It was YOU AND THE PPP with mass hysteria, jumping up and down and waving alyuh panty in the air that Granger was bringing in the Haitians to vote in the election.

Now it is seen not to be true. The Haitians are indeed trying to make it to Brazil or even French Guiana where they are more familiar with the language. Guyana has nothing for them and they cannot easily blend in.

This crew got on their "wagon" over to brazil or french guiana.

Guyana has no jobs unless you have skills. The Haitians have nothing. The Cubans have skills like butchering. The Venezuelans had skills like engineering. They are employed. Prashad says deport everyone before they become a danger for Guyanese.