Justice Patterson’s previous post in Grenada does not affect his competence – State Minister.

November 3, 2017

The fact that Chairman of the Guyana Elections Commission (GECOM) Justice James Patterson was the acting Chief Justice in Grenada and not the substantive Chief Justice, as stated on his Curriculum Vitae, does not affect his competence.

Minister of State Joseph Harmon at post Cabinet press briefing.

The argument that this may be an issue was dismissed on Friday by Minister of State, Joseph Harmon.

Minister Harmon said that “I don’t know if it is something you should give all that problem to, because we have a lot of people in this country who are acting, but we don’t say that because they are acting they are not that. The Chancellor of the Judiciary, who just retired was acting at the time when he retired, we wouldn’t say that he wasn’t the Chancellor of the Judiciary.”

The State Minister noted that Justice Patterson has performed well in that capacity and has performed credibly as the Chairman of the recently concluded Commission of Inquiry (COI) into the fire at the Camp Street Prison, which is reflected in the report that was laid in the National Assembly on Thursday, November 2.

He pointed out that the new Chairman was deemed “fit and proper” by the Head of State.

Carter Formula

It was noted further that, “much has been said that the appointment of Justice Patterson is going to affect the Carter Formula and all of that…utter nonsense.”

Minister Harmon explained that the Carter Formula provides for three commissioners from the Opposition, three from the Government and the Chairman to sit on the GECOM. “You have three commissioners sitting there, you mean to tell me that you are going to sit there and see this Chairman acting on his own and won’t start to make noise?” the Minister questioned.

Response to Opposition on Elections

He also questioned why the Opposition is raising the issue of rigged elections now when the General elections are slated for 2020 and there are many other matters that need to be addressed presently. “I really don’t understand the argument, I think it is blowing hot air, it is really crying wolf … and there is no wolf that is going to come,” the Minister said.

So Django, does your highlighting mean that you agree with him, disagree, do you think that we cannot see or that we cannot determine for ourselves what the important parts of the article are? Or do you just love the colour yellow?

Not because Harmon says so, it is gospel. The opposition members can shout as loud as they want, it will not matter. Bringing election matter to the court does not make a difference because by the time it gets settled, the government would have governed for the full term. Look at what is happening with the election petition from the last election.

Z
Zed posted:

So Django, does your highlighting mean that you agree with him, disagree, do you think that we cannot see or that we cannot determine for ourselves what the important parts of the article are? Or do you just love the colour yellow?

Not because Harmon says so, it is gospel. The opposition members can shout as loud as they want, it will not matter. Bringing election matter to the court does not make a difference because by the time it gets settled, the government would have governed for the full term. Look at what is happening with the election petition from the last election.

Ask you self,are the opposition members of GECOM toothless? and by the way who is holding back the Election Petition ? give us your thoughts,spit it out.

What? No answers to the questions i asked? Tell us why Granger thought it necessary to make a unilateral appointment to the Chairman position.

two years and no resolution to the petition. These things should be expedited.  The court system, as all know, is very slow. A small matter like sueing  someone takes over  five years. Tell me who you think is responsible if it is not how the system works.

Z
Zed posted:

What? No answers to the questions i asked? Tell us why Granger thought it necessary to make a unilateral appointment to the Chairman position.

two years and no resolution to the petition. These things should be expedited.  The court system, as all know, is very slow. A small matter like sueing  someone takes over  five years. Tell me who you think is responsible if it is not how the system works.

Arright bass,you pushing me to the wall ,i have mentioned my disagreement with the unilateral appointment of the GECOM Chairman,the game had played out by both leaders of the teams,the one who hold the most power (enshrined by an illegal constitution) has acted,in a volatile divided nation,where the two major groups distrust each other,better actions by both leaders should have prevailed.

My old boss used to say when things are not right "It's not the end of the world"

The Justice System in Guyana needs overhaul,for ages it's corrupted,there seems to be no light at the end of the tunnel,it will be above board.

Recently due to moving up in age,i am putting things in order(Ownership) on one of my Residential Property and another Commercial owned by an LLC.Thirty minutes of my time and $258.00 (Lawyer and recording fees,i took the deed to Town Hall),the deed of residential property was recorded and two weeks after we received it in the mail.The Commercial Property owned by the LLC,from the comfort of my home using the SOTS.gov website,I changed the articles of Organization adding new members and elect a new Agent,all documents was emailed to me,costs $140.00.

Why Guyana can't moved up to these standards,the reasons are too much vision less corrupted leaders,civil servants and lawyers are in the land and some of the people follow like sheep.

Zed posted:

Arright bass,you pushing me to the wall ,i have mentioned my disagreement with the unilateral appointment of the GECOM Chairman,the game had played out by both leaders of the teams,the one who hold the most power (enshrined by an illegal constitution) has acted,in a volatile divided nation,where the two major groups distrust each other,better actions by both leaders should have prevailed.

My old boss used to say when things are not right "It's not the end of the world"

The Justice System in Guyana needs overhaul,for ages it's corrupted,there seems to be no light at the end of the tunnel,it will be above board.

Recently due to moving up in age,i am putting things in order(Ownership) on one of my Residential Property and another Commercial owned by an LLC.Thirty minutes of my time and $258.00 (Lawyer and recording fees,i took the deed to Town Hall),the deed of residential property was recorded and two weeks after we received it in the mail.The Commercial Property owned by the LLC,from the comfort of my home using the SOTS.gov website,I changed the articles of Organization adding new members and elect a new Agent,all documents was emailed to me,costs $140.00.

Why Guyana can't moved up to these standards,the reasons are too much vision less corrupted leaders,civil servants and lawyers are in the land and some of the people follow like sheep.

Django, you have a tendency to evade questions with your own questions, with silence, and with beating around the carrion crow bush. Zed asked you a straightforward question. Rather than wait to be "pushed against the wall", you could have given your answer above in the first instance.

BTW, yuh friend Gilly still waiting for a response to his challenging your "independent" claim and his suggestion that you admit honestly that you have a preference for APNU+AFC as I have done regarding the PPP. Me bin promise fo respeck yuh a notch. That promise stands.

Django, you have a tendency to evade questions with your own questions, with silence, and with beating around the carrion crow bush. Zed asked you a straightforward question. Rather than wait to be "pushed against the wall", you could have given your answer above in the first instance.

BTW, yuh friend Gilly still waiting for a response to his challenging your "independent" claim and his suggestion that you admit honestly that you have a preference for APNU+AFC as I have done regarding the PPP. Me bin promise fo respeck yuh a notch. That promise stands.

Bhai,i does like to play with Zed,i have respect for seniors,most of my friends were older than myself.

Regarding your last paragraph,it's very challenging for "Independents" to declare their full support,most of the time it's last minute decisions,suh will let you know in the future of my support,for now i am not a fan of the current opposition leader,as yuh does seh "lets wait and see"

Bhai,i does like to play with Zed,i have respect for seniors,most of my friends were older than myself.

Regarding your last paragraph,it's very challenging for "Independents" to declare their full support,most of the time it's last minute decisions,suh will let you know in the future of my support,for now i am not a fan of the current opposition leader,as yuh does seh "lets wait and see"

Hear ye, hear ye, ladies and gentlemen, boys and girls, comrades and friends: Gilly's respect for Django has risen 0.5 notch. 

"Minister Harmon said that I don't know if it is something you should give all that problem to, because we have a lot of people in this country who are acting, but we don't say that because they are acting they are not that. The Chancellor of the Judiciary, who just retired was acting at the time when he retired, we wouldn't say that he wasn't the Chancellor of the Judiciary."

Maybe we wouldn't say that he wasn't the Chancellor of the Judiciary but would he put on his resume that he was the Chancellor or the Acting Chancellor?

"You have three commissioners sitting there, you mean to tell me that you are going to sit there and see this Chairman acting on his own and won't start to make noise?  the Minister questioned."

Perhaps now that Patterson has witnessed actions from Granger that he doesn't care if others make noise, he may be inclined to act the same way.

Zed posted:

I must apologize for my late response. It was not my intention to push you to the wall. You did not answer the question I asked but that is ok. In some of our discourses, I asked that you think carefully about these things and what your position is. My question was meant for that purpose.

it was a brutal awakening for me on my return to Guyana. Often I heard when I suggested something innovative based on evidence, that was not yet used in Guyana, that that was not the way they do things in Guyana. The conversation always went towards why it cannot work in Guyana instead of how we can tailor it to fit here. They want better results while not wanting to change the way they do things.

in change theory, the concept of critical mass is important to understand because change cannot become self-sustaining until you have critical mass. Additionally, complexity theory informs that there are complex and many reasons why complex systems fail. We can discuss this for a long time without coming to an end in terms of reasons why things in Guyana happen the way it does.

Z

Zed,

No problem,sometimes i may not answer directly,the reasons are to get more info from where you are coming from,i have respect for you,and most of the times in our conversation i learn a thing or two.

Coming back to modernizing systems in Guyana,it can be done the ideas have to be implemented in smaller increments,drastic changes will get a negative reactions.

Information Technology is the key to improve all Government Services,or for that matter any business,manufacturing...etc,equipments are cheaper today,and most Gov't services and the private sector should take advantage.

One the reasons some folks are reluctant to adapt to these technologies,i will bluntly state is they can't thief and get their regular bribes.Keeping records on paper suits the corrupted folks,the documents can be easily destroyed.

"You have three commissioners sitting there, you mean to tell me that you are going to sit there and see this Chairman acting on his own and won't start to make noise?  the Minister questioned."

Bullshit! Does Harmon really believe the other three from the Government's side will not be part of the decision making process?

Three opposition against four govt, which side wins?