I grewup by the Berbice river and many times I would see Indian men by the river bank( in the water) dipping themselves in the water. Several times. And each time, they would pour out the water collected in a brass utensil. Facing the early morning sun. 

What is the correct name of the utensil?

LOTA

I grewup by the Berbice river and many times I would see Indian men by the river bank( in the water) dipping themselves in the water. Several times. And each time, they would pour out the water collected in a brass utensil. Facing the early morning sun. 

What type of " Indian men " ?  Native Indians or East Indians ?  For the East Indian the name is Lotha....I don't know the name of the utensil used by the Native Indian.....many cultures engage in sun worship....the ancient Greeks were foremost amongst them....present day Japan also indulge in such practises.....

This topic reminds me of a poem from Milton:

The star that bids the shepherd fold
 Now the top of heaven doth hold,
 And the gilded car of Day
 His glowing axle doth allay
 In the steep Atlantic stream,
 And the slope Sun his upward beam
 Shoots across the dusky pole,
 Pacing toward the other goal
 Of his chamber in the east."
Originally Posted by raymond:

YUh said you are Guyanese but have such a question????????????????

do you know there is a place in Guyana where the only mode of transportation is by canoe or speeboat? you have to use a canoe to go to your next door neighbour

And your point is?

what's the name of the place and where is it in Guyana since you're a qualified "Guyanaese" know it all

YUh said you are Guyanese but have such a question????????????????

do you know there is a place in Guyana where the only mode of transportation is by canoe or speeboat? you have to use a canoe to go to your next door neighbour

And your point is?

what's the name of the place and where is it in Guyana since you're a qualified "Guyanaese" know it all

Don't try to compare me with you and D2 but I will take a guess: Mahaicony Creek.

Originally Posted by Churchill:

What type of " Indian men " ?  Native Indians or East Indians ?  For the East Indian the name is Lotha....I don't know the name of the utensil used by the Native Indian.....many cultures engage in sun worship....the ancient Greeks were foremost amongst them....present day Japan also indulge in such practises.....

This topic reminds me of a poem from Milton:

The star that bids the shepherd fold
 Now the top of heaven doth hold,
 And the gilded car of Day
 His glowing axle doth allay
 In the steep Atlantic stream,
 And the slope Sun his upward beam
 Shoots across the dusky pole,
 Pacing toward the other goal
 Of his chamber in the east."

East Indian men.

Thank you for the name and correct spelling. I couldn't remember the name.

Thank u Dondadda.