Granger now says will accept any GECOM Chair’s declaration ` made in keeping with laws’

David Granger

As the 2020 Elections drag on, de facto President David Granger appears to be slowly shifting the goalpost of what exactly it would take for him to concede.

Yesterday, a statement from the Ministry of the Presidency declared that Granger “would abide by any declaration that the Chairman [of the Elections Commission] makes in keeping with the laws of Guyana.”

While the position at first reading is similar to the position Granger has held since March it is not the same.

https://www.stabroeknews.com/2...yCAqgVOA2lAj4xSwmgjU

Could this be a kind gesture on his birthday?  

It is not as simple as it seems. Granger bowing to pressure at home and abroad is one thing. But what about the factions within his party? They don't appear to be bothered by threats of sanctions. Volda said when it come we gon deal with it.

It's the APNU supporters that attention should be focused on. U can't promise the people a good life and not deliver. Especially with all that oil flowing off our coast. No sir! Cyant wuk .  That's good grounds for a riot. And u can rest assure they wouldn't be venting their anger and displeasure on Granger.

Ah wonda what is de price fuh kero in G\T dese days.

I heard those anti-PPP crab dogs are ticked off. To make a statement like that someone may have convinced him that Claudette will declare a win for the Coalition or he convinced himself that the Court will rule in his favour.

@Sheik101 posted:

It is not as simple as it seems. Granger bowing to pressure at home and abroad is one thing. But what about the factions within his party? They don't appear to be bothered by threats of sanctions. Volda said when it come we gon deal with it.

It's the APNU supporters that attention should be focused on. U can't promise the people a good life and not deliver. Especially with all that oil flowing off our coast. No sir! Cyant wuk .  That's good grounds for a riot. And u can rest assure they wouldn't be venting their anger and displeasure on Granger.

Ah wonda what is de price fuh kero in G\T dese days.

If Afro-Guyanese accepts the good life to be under Granger leadership then so be it. But this is not about Afro-Guyanese only. It's for the entire country. This is my only gripe with Granger and he continues to defy the will of the people. 

@Ramakant-P posted:

I heard those anti-PPP crab dogs are ticked off. To make a statement like that someone may have convinced him that Claudette will declare a win for the Coalition or he convinced himself that the Court will rule in his favour.

You and Baseman share the same habit. You are not getting anywhere with this. 

@Ramakant-P posted:

It is GECOM who is not getting anywhere because of the PNC dogmatic behavior. 

OK, Rama, analyze the heading and tell me what it means?

Granger now says will accept any GECOM Chair’s declaration ` made in keeping with laws

OK, Rama, analyze the heading and tell me what it means?

Granger now says will accept any GECOM Chair’s declaration ` made in keeping with laws

The heading is ambiguous period! Granger and the APNU goons interpretation of the law is different from everyone else. That’s why the people are very wary of whatever he says.

Ace