Teenage gunman killed during robbery

May 10, 2014 | By | Filed Under News 

By Abena Rockcliffe and Romila Boodram

Loud cries, expressions of anger and calls for vengeance characterized the scene at the Lot 87 Hill Street, Lodge, residence of Lloyd Hazel Junior who died in a hail of bullets.

The 19-year-old was shot dead yesterday reportedly after he and an accomplice snatched a bag of cash from employees of a Main Street store. He died on the spot, on Main Street, shortly after 16:00hrs yesterday.

Relatives of the killed teen as they mourned the lost at GPHC

Kaieteur News understands that a plainclothes police rank who was escorting two employees of a Main Street store to the bank opened fire on Hazel, mortally wounding him. This is after the 19-year-old reportedly grabbed a bag of money from one of the employees with back up from his accomplice, who managed to escape.

According to a senior police source close to the investigation, Hazel’s accomplice stood next to a CG motorbike which was parked in Tiger Bay just off Main Street, Cummingsburg, while Hazel walked onto Main Street and pointed his weapon at an approaching car occupied by the employees.

The rank recalled that the car stopped and a licensed firearm holder, who was in the vehicle, came out and confronted Hazel. Hazel reportedly opened fire but his assailant used the car door to block the shots. He then rose up and returned fire, fatally wounding the 19-year-old.

Hazel was shot first on the leg then received another seven shots about his body, mostly to the chest and abdomen.

Hazel’s lifeless body was taken to the Georgetown Public Hospital where he was pronounced dead.

The source said that the licensed firearm holder also shot the unidentified accomplice who managed to flee the crime scene, escaping into Tiger Bay. The escaped person remained at large up to press time.

Police ranks reportedly recovered a bag of money and one fireman at the scene. Lloyd Hazel, the dead teen’s father, told Kaieteur News that his son left home to purchase cigarettes to stock his shop which is downstairs at his residence.

He said that about 30 minutes after the 19-year-old left, he was informed that his son was shot.

The father, who managed to hold back his tears, said he immediately made his way down to the scene where he received the tragic news of his son’s demise.

The senior Hazel said that he still can’t come to grips with the sequence of events as he saw his son left with a bus. “How he end up on a bike? I just can’t believe this; it don’t make sense to me.”

But the dead teen’s mother, Karen, gave a different account of the reason her teenage son, who is the owner of a Toyota Premio, left home.

Karen said that she sent her son at a relative to collect an envelope with pictures to send aboard. She said she expected him to return soon but “like he never coming back. Why he gone and left me?”

“Is this my Mother’s Day gift?”

The distraught woman said that her son had requested that she cook split peas cook-up “without de pickle pork because he feel like eating duh. I cook it and now he ain’t gone eat it. He dead before he could eat it.”

Rolling on the road in front her residence, Karen mourned, “Everybody deh hay. I seeing all a yall. Wheh Lloyd? Wheh he deh? How many more?”

Another relative was overheard saying that the dead Hazel was in bed when he got a call and headed out of the house.

The youth said, “God deh with me cause he (Hazel) tell me leh we go, but I didn’t.”

All the relatives of the dead teen who spoke to Kaieteur News maintained that the now dead Hazel was a law abiding citizen.

Eight bullets killed Lloyd Hazell at close range. That was overkill, not reasonable force.

Hazel committed a crime by grabbing the bag of cash, but excessive force to kill him was not necessary.

Eight bullets killed Lloyd Hazell at close range. That was overkill, not reasonable force.

Hazel committed a crime by grabbing the bag of cash, but excessive force to kill him was not necessary.

Where are you living?? Ever heard of Diallo???

Gili,

Stop it right here. He went to steal a bag and shots were fired, is either he was killed or the hard working people including the guard who shot him.

People fighting to protect their lives and you calling it  excessive force. I  would have been happy had they pumped some bullets into the other thief. 

You are stupid to compare this shooting with Amadou Diallo.

aND YOU ARE THE SMARTEST ON THE pLANET. i CAN SEE EVERYONE FLOCKING TO YOU FOR KNOWLEDGE AND WISDOM!!!

Nehru,

Ammadou Diallo was an unarmed civilian entering his home  and here is a bandit with a gun firing at police officers.

How on earth can you compare the two?

HAHA Chief Bhai, Yuh alrite dis marnin. Then you are with me and against Gilly. YUh see yuh point is what I was trying to convey to Gilly. If wan unarmed civilian can be shot 44 times and a Jurd declared it OK then a THIEF with a GUN shot 8 times should be no problem man. Uncle Nehru always here to help.

Originally Posted by Amral:

all kind of diff stories you will hear. Bottom line, you do the crime and you get shot too bad. One less criminal in the midst.

Amral, studies and surveys show that killing criminals does not result in killing crime.

It's not really true that we have one less criminal in our midst when a criminal is killed.

As the saying goes, another Rasta gon tek he place.

Under certain societal conditions a new criminal arises every day, every hour and even every minute.

In Guyana, criminals are killed all the time but crime is still increasing.

We need a non barrier pioneer corp in each of the cities to teach young people hands on skills like some of these construction/electrical skills and farming skills. Who would want to rob people if they can work as a mechanic or plumber or a ranch hand.  In Guyana we are still functioning on a 1950s British education system where just a few go to the top.  

dem need some Charles Bronson type living there rass, Death Wish. Out with the criminals, nah worry about them studies, dem is all American studies all hog wash. You start nipping crime, I bet you the rate will go down.

Amral

dem need some Charles Bronson type living there rass, Death Wish. Out with the criminals, nah worry about them studies, dem is all American studies all hog wash. You start nipping crime, I bet you the rate will go down.

Not when when 15,000 are leaving the school system and can't find employment.

Agreed Bhai. When one of these Chaps get robbed or god forbids their families are affected then their pretentious  Bullcrap will go out the window.

I visited Charles Bronson's farm.  The man was a very good farmer.  All skills that he learned in school.

Mits in America over ONE MILLION left COLLEGE last year and still looking for work. Sometimes trying to put yuh Country down can make your brain fart.

USA have the welfare system. Perhaps their jobs are taken away by the illegal immigrant. I am not putting down Guyana. Just pointing a fact and not burying my head in the sand. These 15000 are leaving school with no training or skills. What has become of the trade schools?

Mits, The Port Maurant Training School is the BEST in the Caribbean.

all kind of diff stories you will hear. Bottom line, you do the crime and you get shot too bad. One less criminal in the midst.

I agree. For too long Guyana has been a place where decent hardworking people are victimized by these criminals. I was only a teenager when a criminal put a knife to my neck and took away my bike which I had just shined up for the weekend. Three speed complete with nickel fenders and white wall tires. But the crime against me is minute compared to so many other victims some of whom has had their lives taken from them. So one less criminal is perfectly fine with me.

i look forward to similar venom and calls to action directed at bhai barat and associates who snatch billions in broad daylight to the self-satisfied nods (and sometime cheers) of the corrupted, race-blinded clique grave dancin hay

Mits, The Port Maurant Training School is the BEST in the Caribbean.

The school is still there. There is a shortage of skilled trainers. The yard needs some landscaping. Anyway when the students graduate there are no jobs. This is why they emigrate to the Islands or back track to the USA and Canada. Right now, Canada has a high demand for skilled tradesmen.

Is the licensed firearm holder name "Dirty Harry"?

Mitwah, what is the matter with you? When the police act against criminals, you blame them. When they don't do anything, you blame them the same. You just full of hate for the PPP. Take some sena and epsom salt and clean you bilge out.

why is the police not acting against the BIG TIME criminals operating out of (and taking orders from) OP and Freedom House, and . . .

WHERE IS THE OUTRAGE!!?

Mitwah, what is the matter with you? When the police act against criminals, you blame them. When they don't do anything, you blame them the same. You just full of hate for the PPP. Take some sena and epsom salt and clean you bilge out.

I don't hate the PPP. I hate the scumbags criminals that have laid a siege on the party for their own personal enrichment. My question was intended to draw a parallel between a similar scene in the movie with Eastwood.

How do you know the shooter is a police? The report says that he is a licensed firearm holder.... that is not a license to kill. I am in no way condoning the criminal activity. Just remember, he was 19 and a product of the PPP/C regime. 15,000 of them are dropping out of school every year; they have no jobs and no hope.

Last edited by Mitwah

i look forward to similar venom and calls to action directed at bhai barat and associates who snatch billions in broad daylight to the self-satisfied nods (and sometime cheers) of the corrupted, race-blinded clique grave dancin hay

Their time will come but for now lets deal with this idot who leave his parents home and end up with a gun to steal and kill.

he is dead; he paid the price! . . . what's to "deal"?

meanwhile . . . barat dem still snatching and stealing 1000000000X (burning and killing too) with impunity!!

So what do suggest should be done to the white collar thieves?

the laws of Guyana already "suggest" what should be done with the protected PPP class of thieves

those laws are being applied daily [heavy JAIL mostly] to sundry burglers, purse snatchers, stick-up men and other small-time tiefman . . . my input is not needed!

what else do u wanna know?

I don't hate the PPP. I hate the scumbags criminals that have laid a siege on the party for their own personal enrichment. My question was intended to draw a parallel between a similar scene in the movie with Eastwood.

How do you know the shooter is a police? The report says that he is a licensed firearm holder.... that is not a license to kill. I am in no way condoning the criminal activity. Just remember, he was 19 and a product of the PPP/C regime. 15,000 of them are dropping out of school every year; they have no jobs and no hope.

The report stated that he is a plainclothes police rank. How did you miss that?

Originally Posted by ksazma:

I agree. For too long Guyana has been a place where decent hardworking people are victimized by these criminals. I was only a teenager when a criminal put a knife to my neck and took away my bike which I had just shined up for the weekend. Three speed complete with nickel fenders and white wall tires. But the crime against me is minute compared to so many other victims some of whom has had their lives taken from them. So one less criminal is perfectly fine with me.

ksazma, when I lived in Georgetown I was robbed six times on the street. This included one incident when the robber held a .22 pistol to my chest and demanded my wallet.

Still, I believe that criminals should face justice and are entitled to due process. That's why we have laws, courts and jails.

If a robber is shot while committing the act, so be it. I'm just saying that pumping 8 bullets at close range into that young guy was excessive force.