Heavy rainfall washes away

sections of Linden-Lethem road;

traffic halted

A section of the road near Annai [photo by Citizen Reporter Delon Greaves)

A section of the road near Annai

(photo by Citizen Reporter Delon Greaves)

Sections of the Linden to Lethem Road have been washed away by heavy rainfall and the lone-north-south corridor to the Rupununi has become impassable, sources confirmed.
Several passenger buses and other vehicles have not departed Georgetown and Lethem.
A senior government official said the newly-elected administration was aware of the problem and was contemplating steps to commence remedial works.  In the past, road maintenance experts have said that it is almost fruitless to attempt to repair interior roads during very heavy rainfall.
road lethem(photo by Citizen Reporter Delon Greaves)Residents of Lethem said Tuesday night that the condition of the road was expected to worsen because more rain was expected overnight.
The road is the only communication link for the transportation of numerous passengers , large quantities of food, fuel and other supplies from the coastland to the Rupununi.
Cargo and passenger transportation by air is very expensive compared to road.

Originally Posted by antabanta:

The Key of Change.  Guyana gone fuh channa and is only day 4.

Damn lazy coalition. Imagine that. 4 days and they still can't fix the roads. What a frikkin waste. You know if was PPP still in power all dem roads woulda bin in good shape.

And wide enough for Jagdeo belly wuk jet to land.

This road is and will continue to be a problem. As a kid my dad hauled logs on the Maburama road and our trucks used to be more tractors on that brown slush. It is like quick sand. That road will continue to be that way for a long time because unlike what most of your fools here believe, our inland forested regions not a dry place but actually a seasonal swamp. It costs over a million per Km to build a road under the best conditions and this would definitely cost 10 times that much. This is not going to be solved soon. We do not have the money, brazil does not have the money to help as promised and we will have to make do with this seasonal poor roadway for another decade or so.

Here are some pictures from over the years

g_samer2

comingthrough3

muddyroads

Images (3)
  • g_samer2
  • comingthrough3
  • muddyroads

HAHAHA Finally, the truth, " these roads will forever be like this"  Snakeoil bought by the people/ Laad Ah Mercy

They have been that way from the beginning of the PPP administration so why are you commenting on their state in a five day old administration? Lord and Mercy has little to do with your chronic need for nonsense. You were born that way and will be that way on the dawn of your death. It is your curse due to a simple deficit...being a racist ass.

HAHAHA Finally, the truth, " these roads will forever be like this"  Snakeoil bought by the people/ Laad Ah Mercy

They have been that way from the beginning of the PPP administration so why are you commenting on their state in a five day old administration? Lord and Mercy has little to do with your chronic need for nonsense. You were born that way and will be that way on the dawn of your death. It is your curse due to a simple deficit...being a racist ass.

YOu have now been certified a stinking LIAR.  YOu were one blaming the PPP govt for not fixing the same road!!!!!!!!!!!!

They are going to blame Jagdeo for the rainfall.

No for his thievery and his corrupting of the PPP and the crafting of its means obsolescence!

How is this heavy rainfall going to affect your 300 acres cultivation of cassava?

YOu have now been certified a stinking LIAR.  YOu were one blaming the PPP govt for not fixing the same road!!!!!!!!!!!!

Nehru Bhai, PNC can do no wrong. These people speak from both sides of their mouths.

He is being blamed for PPP/C downfall.

Then he is as ass.   They will need money to fix all their problems.  I wonder when they will get time to bring in new ventures.  You should go and help them.  Moses alone cannot do it.

I could have blamed the PPP but I did not. I said it will take boatloads of cash to solve the problem.  They were too busy stealing.

No for his thievery and his corrupting of the PPP and the crafting of its means obsolescence!

How is this heavy rainfall going to affect your 300 acres cultivation of cassava?

Native peoples have been planting cassava for eons. Rains do little to them. Your poor attempt at race baiting sarcasm will get you nowhere but will add to that biliousness and stink that reside inside of dalits like you.

You said that if the coalition wins, you will return to Guyana and cultivate your family's 300 acres. Buckman like you are a disgrace to your own race. You only talk sheer shit not knowing anything about Guyana(sakwinki parrot man) Why not go to Guyana and wipe your ass with black sage leaves..feel the difference.

He is being blamed for PPP/C downfall.

Then he is as ass.   They will need money to fix all their problems.  I wonder when they will get time to bring in new ventures.  You should go and help them.  Moses alone cannot do it.

If they stop the Chinese pillaging, Germany especially and the Rest of the EU will give them lots of funds. That was already promised in the meeting of foreign ministers last week as a proposal to help nations like ours fight climate change.

Saving our forests from Chinese pillage ought to be the main focus of this administration. Harmon need to resist their lure since they have already plied him with freebies. That is what the Chinese do and the reason trey are now producing negative returns  everywhere in the economy due to their natural predatory habits. Blame that on jagdeo.

There are highways all over the Amazon so a proper road into the interior would have been possible. Maybe not now as Brazil has their own problems and is probably less interested in continental dominance than it once was.  Jagdeo blew that one.