I am at a loss as to why the rest of us feel that she should be the race we want her to be. Can't it just be it is however she views herself, which is clearly as a Black woman. While we like to think that it is for political expediency, the woman was born in Oakland, went to Howard University, a premier historically Black university and pledged Alpha Kappa Alpha the nation's oldest Black sorority. So its not like she just started calling herself Black yesterday. As Kamala wrote in her memoir: â€œMy mother understood very well that she was raising two Black daughters. She knew that her adopted homeland would see Maya and me as Black girls.” Full stop.

By the way she embraces the Indian influence on the person she is today. Her mom made sure she and her sister knew of their Indian heritage. In fact she vacationed there often and on those vacations she grew close with her extended Indian family with whom she is still close today. Importantly her grandfather was a progressive activist in India and was a great influence on her with respect to democratic activism helping to shape her current worldview.

All of the above can be and is true.

L

Kamala only saw the black side of her upbringing. Her father dumped her mother when she was 5 years old. I don't know how she was brought up as a black woman. I think she said this to solidify her selection as a black woman. I don't know of Indians giving up their culture and ethnicity to raise their kids as predominantly blacks in America.

she's rallying all blacks to vote for Biden & her

All you rass and left de man alone. Look how Tola and I fought yesterday and we are knocking glass today. 

Just like Jagan and Burnham. 

J & B were buddies.they are enjoying the afterlife.but on social media guyanese are tearing each other apart after the mayhem these 2 men left the country in

Bai Skelly, she paid glowing tribute to her Indian side of the family last night. Looks like her father may have separated from the family and she was raised mainly by her mother. I honestly can't confirm but that is what I gathered last night. 

This is politics and she has to walk a political tight rope. She is as black as she is Indian. She can claim both ethnicities. 

I am just wondering how her mother raised her as a black woman when her father was not there to instill the black culture on them. Could also be that they were living in a predominantly black neighborhood and she had no choice but to blend in with them. Well, "it is what it is".

A bit on the biography of Kamla Devi Harris ...

Early life and education

Harris was born on October 20, 1964, in Oakland, California.[4] Her mother, Shyamala Gopalan, a biologist whose work on the progesterone receptor gene stimulated work in breast cancer research,[12] had arrived in the US from India in 1959 as a graduate student at the University of California, Berkeley, and received a PhD in endocrinology in 1964.[13] Her father, Donald J. Harris, is a Stanford University professor emeritus of economics, who arrived in the US from British Jamaica in 1961 for graduate study at Berkeley, and received a PhD in economics in 1966.[14][15]

Until she was 12, Harris and her younger sister, Maya Harris, lived in Berkeley, California.[16][17] As a child, Harris lived briefly on Milvia Street in central Berkeley, and then her family moved to the upper floor of a duplex on Bancroft Way in West Berkeley, an area often called "the flatlands",[18] which had a significant Black population.[19]

https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/7/7c/Kamala_Harris_-_Berkeley_childhood_home.jpg/220px-Kamala_Harris_-_Berkeley_childhood_home.jpg

Harris's childhood home on Bancroft Way in Berkeley

When she began kindergarten, she was bused as part of Berkeley's comprehensive desegregation program to Thousand Oaks School, a public primary school in a more prosperous neighborhood in northern Berkeley[18] which previously had been 95 percent white, and after the desegregation plan went into effect became 40 percent Black.[19]

Harris grew up going to both a Black Baptist church and a Hindu temple.[20] She and her sister visited their mother's family in Madras (now Chennai)—on the southeastern coast of India—several times, the last time in 2009 when Harris returned with her mother's ashes and scattered them in the Indian Ocean waters.[21] [22] She says she was strongly influenced by her grandfather P. V. Gopalan, a retired Indian civil servant whose progressive views on democracy and women's rights greatly impressed her. She has remained in touch with her Indian aunts and uncles throughout her adult life.[23] She also visited her father's family in Jamaica.[24]

Her parents divorced when she was seven; she has said that when she and her sister visited their father in Palo Alto on weekends, neighbors' kids were not allowed to play with them because they were black.[20] When she was 12, Harris and her sister moved with their mother to Montreal, Quebec, Canada, where their mother had accepted a research and teaching position at the McGill University-affiliated Jewish General Hospital.[25] Harris attended a French-speaking middle school, Notre-Dame-des-Neiges,[26] and then Westmount High School in Westmount, Quebec, graduating in 1981.[27]

After high school, Harris attended Howard University, a historically black university in Washington, D.C. While at Howard, she interned as a mail room clerk for California senator Alan Cranston, chaired the economics society, led the debate team and joined Alpha Kappa Alpha sorority.[28][29] Harris graduated from Howard in 1986 with a degree in political science and economics.

Harris then returned to California to attend law school at the University of California, Hastings College of the Law through its Legal Education Opportunity Program for students from adverse backgrounds.[30] While at UC Hastings, she served as president of its chapter of the Black Law Students Association.[31] She graduated with a Juris Doctor in 1989[32] and was admitted to the California Bar in June 1990.[33]

Source & rest of article -- https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kamala_Harris

Kamala only saw the black side of her upbringing. Her father dumped her mother when she was 5 years old. I don't know how she was brought up as a black woman. I think she said this to solidify her selection as a black woman. I don't know of Indians giving up their culture and ethnicity to raise their kids as predominantly blacks in America.

She is a confused woman. And she was a frequent visitor to Tamil Nadu with her mother. She commented, he grandparents were vegetarians, difficult for her.

Her father was more Tamil looking than negro, perhaps that was mother's attraction. A soul mate in America. Uppity mixed Jamaicans are more Anglo in thinking.

Why she keep saying she is Black. There is a Black Professor who goes around finding the true ancestry of prominent ppl. He has a tv show. He should tell Kamala about her genes.

She should have ran on her abilities of being capable. The public already sees she is a colored woman. Being Black is not a good thing to govern America. NO BLack person so far in the world been able govern with progress in mind. If they could, places like Guyana and Africa could be like Singapore. 

After high school, Harris attended Howard University, a historically black university in Washington, D.C. While at Howard, she interned as a mail room clerk for California senator Alan Cranston, chaired the economics society, led the debate team and joined Alpha Kappa Alpha sorority.[28][29] Harris graduated from Howard in 1986 with a degree in political science and economics.

Harris then returned to California to attend law school at the University of California, Hastings College of the Law through its Legal Education Opportunity Program for students from adverse backgrounds.[30] While at UC Hastings, she served as president of its chapter of the Black Law Students Association.[31] She graduated with a Juris Doctor in 1989[32] and was admitted to the California Bar in June 1990.[33]

i have friends from Howard, and colleagues from California universities with JDs who know her

@Tola posted:

Ole yea, but goat na. He jus being heself. 

Sorry Skelly, arranging words could mek such a big difference.

I was rushed for meetings when I post this morning  and it should read 

Ole yea, but na goat. He jus being heself. 

I owe you a Guyana present when me come to see JG fat woman an he sons.  She invite and say, she preparing a nice desert.  I might now decline. 

Rass Rama, how come you na notice. You mus tink me just being me old self, right.  

@Tola posted:

Sorry Skelly, arranging words could mek such a big difference.

I was rushed for meetings when I post this morning  and it should read 

Ole yea, but na goat. He jus being heself. 

I owe you a Guyana present when me come to see JG fat woman an he sons.  She invite and say, she preparing a nice desert.  I might now decline. 

Rass Rama, how come you na notice. You mus tink me just being me old self, right.  

Right!

@Ramakant-P posted:

Black women are women who are of Sub-Saharan African and Afro-diasporic descent. The term black woman is of a multi-faceted cultural identity.

Do you work for Google ?  Also, are you a free thinking individual, other than something to write about the PPP ? Even then, are you a free thinker or you jus repeat their stuff ?