Hear de man now supportin de new political party from Ralph Ramkarran and Henry Jeffrey. Hear what de man seh pon SN:
TK: This is big news. I agree with the focus on constitutional overhaul, but I would settle for some crucial reforms as I have written for dankey years. Let me summarize what I have said several times for over a decade: (i) post-election alliances as a tool to add randomness to reduce the chance of race baiting by the dominant parties; (ii) weakening of the list system by allowing most or all MPs to be elected in constituencies; (iii) given that the parliamentary party's business is everybody's business (their actions and choices have spillovers - often negative - I want to see constitutional mandates for audited competitive party primaries; (iv) to tackle the ethnic distribution problems, I want to see the constitution mandates that the head of civil service must be independent of politicians; (v) further to the distribution problem, all contracts, scholarships, house lots, state-backed loans, and similar state-backed awards must be publicly available for all to see on a central website. I want to see deeper reforms particularly as it relates to the civil service and campaign finance, but I would be somewhat satisfied with these. Only under these conditions will Guyana be a place where independent minds can flourish. Happy Holidays!