Holder says sugar workers ‘highest paid’ in the country

Tuesday , October 27 2015, Citizen’s Report, Source

SUGAR workers are calling for an increase and their union’s – Guyana Agricultural and General Workers Union (GAWU) – wage claim, according to a statement, was submitted to the Guyana Sugar Corporation (GuySuCo) since March 08, 2015. “The Union has been unable to get the Corporation to sit at the bargaining table for wages discussions,” GAWU said.  With no favourable response from GuySuCo the workers across the sugar belt opted for strike action.

Meanwhile, Agriculture Minister Noel Holder, when asked about his view of the actions, said, “GAWU has gone on strike. GAWU knows that GuySuCo workers are the highest paid in the country. I was surprised to discover it, until I saw bits and pieces of the Commission of Inquiry report.”

He has slammed the action as a political move, despite the fact that GAWU has made clear the reasons for the strike action, as well as the fact that the political opposition, the People’s Progressive Party/ Civic (PPP/C) has stated that the action in an industrial matter.

“Obviously they (GAWU) do not want GuySuCo to meet its target…why should they, when the industry is doing so well, call a strike?” Holder questioned, when interviewed by Citizens’ Report.

He added, “GuySuCo has been politicized over the years and it destroyed all the management systems…..they (the PPP) have not maintained what should have been done for political reasons…they destroyed the management systems that were there….the interim team is putting those systems back in place.”

Holder went further to point out that Chand is a member of the PPP. “Whether he is in the Parliament or not, he is a senior member of the PPP,” he said.

The decision to move to strike action followed a meeting of the GAWU General Council on Saturday, where the non-commencement of the negotiations was addressed and it strike action was unanimously agreed to.

I believe the strike is politically motivated, because of the positions of GAWU executive in the PPP and Jagdeo's  stance against the government.

I also do not believe, based on the work done by sugar workers, they are paid well for their services. Many with children in school struggle to make ends meet.    

Originally Posted by Tola:

I believe the strike is politically motivated, because of the positions of GAWU executive in the PPP and Jagdeo's  stance against the government.

I also do not believe, based on the work done by sugar workers, they are paid well for their services. Many with children in school struggle to make ends meet.    

Tola, what of those strikes called by GAWU when the PPP was in power? Were those political too? There is a collective agreement in place and it was not adhered to. This seems to be the practice of the coalition.  Previously, they criricized the previous government for not following the collective agreement and imposing a wage hike on public sector workers. Now, they imposed a raise for public service workers without following the terms of the collective agreement.

Z

SUGAR workers are calling for an increase and their union’s – Guyana Agricultural and General Workers Union (GAWU) – wage claim, according to a statement, was submitted to the Guyana Sugar Corporation (GuySuCo) since March 08, 2015. “The Union has been unable to get the Corporation to sit at the bargaining table for wages discussions,” GAWU said.  With no favourable response from GuySuCo the workers across the sugar belt opted for strike action.

Meanwhile, Agriculture Minister Noel Holder, when asked about his view of the actions, said, “GAWU has gone on strike. GAWU knows that GuySuCo workers are the highest paid in the country. I was surprised to discover it, until I saw bits and pieces of the Commission of Inquiry report.”

He has slammed the action as a political move, despite the fact that GAWU has made clear the reasons for the strike action, as well as the fact that the political opposition, the People’s Progressive Party/ Civic (PPP/C) has stated that the action in an industrial matter.

“Obviously they (GAWU) do not want GuySuCo to meet its target…why should they, when the industry is doing so well, call a strike?” Holder questioned, when interviewed by Citizens’ Report.

He added, “GuySuCo has been politicized over the years and it destroyed all the management systems…..they (the PPP) have not maintained what should have been done for political reasons…they destroyed the management systems that were there….the interim team is putting those systems back in place.”

Holder went further to point out that Chand is a member of the PPP. “Whether he is in the Parliament or not, he is a senior member of the PPP,” he said.

The decision to move to strike action followed a meeting of the GAWU General Council on Saturday, where the non-commencement of the negotiations was addressed and it strike action was unanimously agreed to.

it would seems that he is suffering from some kind of incurable diseases chopping away at his brains.

Originally Posted by Zed:

Tola, what of those strikes called by GAWU when the PPP was in power? Were those political too? There is a collective agreement in place and it was not adhered to. This seems to be the practice of the coalition.  Previously, they criricized the previous government for not following the collective agreement and imposing a wage hike on public sector workers. Now, they imposed a raise for public service workers without following the terms of the collective agreement.

Zed, I believe the government is still evaluating what the last government left them, including the sugar industry.

The COI is incomplete  and  I believe the government  want to get  a good handle on the sugar industry, to find the best way to go forward.

It is agreed that the sugar industry is in mess  and they cannot continue to subside it.

If the COI is recommending privatising  the sugar industry, I believe the government don't want to address binding contract, when others might be in control of the sugar industry.

I also do not support the wage increase for MPs.        

Originally Posted by VVP:
Canecutters the highest paid?  Oh s#nt yuh can't make these things up.  I am waiting for the facts with tremendous excitement.

I don't know if canecutters are the highest paid workers now. I know that when I left Guyana 19 years ago, a canecutter who used to visit my neighbour and who accompanied me and my neighbour to the airport was highly paid compared to public servants. In addition to regular bonus canecutters got annual production incentives [API]. I must point out, however, that unlike public servants, cane cutters don't work every week/month of the year because of the seasonal nature of sugar crops.

Let's wait for the release of the COI report to verify the numbers.

Canecutters the highest paid?  Oh s#nt yuh can't make these things up.  I am waiting for the facts with tremendous excitement.

I don't know if canecutters are the highest paid workers now. I know that when I left Guyana 19 years ago, a canecutter who used to visit my neighbour and who accompanied me and my neighbour to the airport was highly paid compared to public servants. In addition to regular bonus canecutters got annual production incentives [API]. I must point out, however, that unlike public servants, cane cutters don't work every week/month of the year because of the seasonal nature of sugar crops.

Canecutters did piece work,yes more punts they fill the more pay they get. But when the crop is over, there is NO unemployment benefits, they live on CREDIT until the next crop. The young, healthy and strong canecutter will earn a decent pay, as they get older the work becomes more difficult and the pay declines.I worked in the sugar factory, there is NO SUCH THING AS HIGHLY PAID CANECUTTERS. they just get by.Most canecutters are uneducated,doing unskilled hard work which very few would want to do.It's an insult to say canecutters are highly paid.

Plus, there seems to be corruption in the fields.

During one of my photo-shoots in the cane field, cane cutters had to wait for punts.

Favourites get punts first from the tractor driver, I was told he gets a raise.

Those without punts have to return later days when punts are available to load. Thus losing productive days, that does not including more pay.

As we are aware, cane cutters don't get paid, until their cane  is weighed at the factory.         

Citizen's Report.....

were they around before May 11th.

Never Heard of them.

Before May 11th

Jagdeo & Kwame use to thief Govt money to Print an Weekly Overseas Newspaper.

Where is Kwame Now....

lool like De PPP House of Israel Thugs busy with Citizens Report.

Originally Posted by kp:

Canecutters did piece work,yes more punts they fill the more pay they get. But when the crop is over, there is NO unemployment benefits, they live on CREDIT until the next crop. The young, healthy and strong canecutter will earn a decent pay, as they get older the work becomes more difficult and the pay declines.I worked in the sugar factory, there is NO SUCH THING AS HIGHLY PAID CANECUTTERS. they just get by.Most canecutters are uneducated,doing unskilled hard work which very few would want to do.It's an insult to say canecutters are highly paid.

If you're thin-skinned, you'll consider it an insult and may draw your cutlass when we meet. If you're thick-skinned, you'll recognize that we just have a difference of opinion.

Let's wait for the COI release of canecutters' annual wages.

Like you, kp, my father was a factory worker. He worked in Uitvlugt factory for 40+ years, retired in 1986 and migrated to Canada. He received his pension from Uitvlugt after submitting a Life Certificate every 3 months from the Guyana Consulate in Toronto to the pay office. After he died in 1999, my mother also got money from Guysuco upon submitting her own 3-month life certificates.

My father's wages financed the upbringing of 6 children, paid for school fees, textbooks and uniform for 5 of us, before Burnham introduced free education in 1976. He got a sugar welfare loan of $1,000 in 1959 to build his house and repaid it in 10 years with a deduction of $1 from his weekly wages.

After household expenses, box-hand and bank deposits, my father had money left over to drink every Friday and Saturday at Fred Ying's rum shop with friends like Sanko, Garam and Goolfaam.

Eight of us in the family ate three full meals daily. All from his sugar factory wages.

My father was only one of thousands of estate pensioners. I suppose GuySuCo has to foot a hefty pension bill every year, money that should come from sugar sales.

You sound like the esteemed Mr, Lucas here, but you did point out the pertinent fact highlighted in bold that made your prelude void.  It is the annual income that counts so you can have an oranges to oranges comparison.

Originally Posted by kp:

If you're thin-skinned, you'll consider it an insult and may draw your cutlass when we meet. If you're thick-skinned, you'll recognize that we just have a difference of opinion.

Like you, kp, my father was a factory worker. He worked in Uitvlugt factory for 40+ years, retired in 1986 and migrated to Canada. He received his pension from Uitvlugt after submitting a Life Certificate every 3 months from the Guyana Consulate in Toronto to the pay office. After he died in 1999, my mother also got money from Guysuco upon submitting her own 3-month life certificates.

My father's wages financed the upbringing of 6 children, paid for school fees, textbooks and uniform for 5 of us, before Burnham introduced free education in 1976. He got a sugar welfare loan of $1,000 in 1959 to build his house and repaid it in 10 years with a deduction of $1 from his weekly wages.

After household expenses, box-hand and bank deposits, my father had money left over to drink every Friday and Saturday at Fred Ying's rum shop with friends like Sanko, Garam and Goolfaam.

Eight of us in the family ate three full meals daily. All from his sugar factory wages.

My father was only one of thousands of estate pensioners. I suppose GuySuCo has to foot a hefty pension bill every year, money that should come from sugar sales.

Was your father a canecutter?  Did he support his family as a canecutter?

You sound like the esteemed Mr, Lucas here, but you did point out the pertinent fact highlighted in bold that made your prelude void.  It is the annual income that counts so you can have an oranges to oranges comparison.

Arright, man, read my answer to kp further down. I mentioned annual income. Me ent Lucas though.

Originally Posted by kp:

He had canecutta friends. Dem bai used to buy more rum than he.

Originally Posted by kp:

Yuh talking share shit Gil.

Originally Posted by kp:

Yuh talking share shit Gil.

Let's hold our breath till the COI report becomes public. We shall know whether Holder is lying.

He got a sugar welfare loan of $1,000 in 1959 to build his house and repaid it in 10 years with a deduction of $1 from his weekly wages.

Like yuh father did numbers like dem Coalition bais Gilly.

Let's hold our breath till the COI report becomes public. We shall know whether Holder is lying.

If Holder is mistaken about the sugar workers being the highest paid in the country, it would not be the first time this government made unsubstantiated statements. I doubt it would be the last.  

Originally Posted by ksazma:

Was there a COI before the ministers' pay increases?

The COI didn't look into pay increase anyway.  These people full of shit.  They think everybady dunda head like dem.

Originally Posted by kp:

I can take your reply in many ways, maybe your dad don't like to buy drinks, but on the other hand , them canecutters are the most free handed. I was offered many free drinks by poor hard working fellas. For awhile I worked in the pay office at Uitvlugt, every Friday afternoon, wives would be at the pay booth, so as soon as their husbands get pay, they would grab the envelope and take money to buy food for the family, otherwise ,he would go straight to the rum shop  [SAMLALL's}and pay his debts. I know sugar, my Grandfather, my Father and myself worked at Uitvlugt Sugar Estate, after leaving the Staff Compound we lived in Ocean View, everyone knew my grandfather those days.

This is what the PNC/AFC is made of.

AFC/PNC consists of a bunch of Shyte Heads and skunks.

He got a sugar welfare loan of $1,000 in 1959 to build his house and repaid it in 10 years with a deduction of $1 from his weekly wages.

Ooops!!!... that should be $2 weekly. Me sarry, man.

Originally Posted by asj:

it would seems that he is suffering from some kind of incurable diseases chopping away at his brains.

ASJ

The disease that the AFC/PNC suffers from is called KoKoBeah.

Originally Posted by kp:

I can take your reply in many ways, maybe your dad don't like to buy drinks, but on the other hand , them canecutters are the most free handed. I was offered many free drinks by poor hard working fellas. For awhile I worked in the pay office at Uitvlugt, every Friday afternoon, wives would be at the pay booth, so as soon as their husbands get pay, they would grab the envelope and take money to buy food for the family, otherwise ,he would go straight to the rum shop  [SAMLALL's}and pay his debts. I know sugar, my Grandfather, my Father and myself worked at Uitvlugt Sugar Estate, after leaving the Staff Compound we lived in Ocean View, everyone knew my grandfather those days.

He bought the drinks alright, but my mother used to send me to Fred Ying and Charran rum shops to pull him home before he blew out the brown envelope.

Originally Posted by kp:

He bought the drinks alright, but my mother used to send me to Fred Ying and Charran rum shops to pull him home before he blew out the brown envelope.

Fred Ying was across the Community Center, after hours Fred Ying used to drop a long rope with a basket, you put your money first then he would drop down the basket with the rum and change, later that shop was bought over by Niranjan Singh.[dispenser]

Originally Posted by kp:

It look like we had the same Papa, same story exactly.

You sure he na work at Albion factory one time ?

Originally Posted by kp:

Fred Ying was across the Community Center, after hours Fred Ying used to drop a long rope with a basket, you put your money first then he would drop down the basket with the rum and change, later that shop was bought over by Niranjan Singh.[dispenser]

Correct. In 1957 my father bought a new tube radio from Fred Ying. Fred's eldest son was a radio technician. I can't remember his name.

Originally Posted by kp:

Nah, Tolabai. Me great aja wuk ah Uitvlugt. Me aja wuk same place. Me daddy wuk same place. One ah me sissy wuk same place, in de office.

Ooops!!!... that should be $2 weekly. Me sarry, man.

In 1947 Mr.G. Giglioli produced a report titled ' The Population and Housing Problem on the Sugar Estates of BG'.

This report resulted in the Sugar Estate Welfare Fund offered loans for sugar workers to relocate in 1959 to housing settlements, from the logies.

The loans were paid back in $2.00 increments.    

Originally Posted by kp:

Nah, Tolabai. Me great aja wuk ah Uitvlugt. Me aja wuk same place. Me daddy wuk same place. One ah me sissy wuk same place, in de office.

It looks like KP, your sista and me have a connection with Catherina.

Its interesting how generations of people live on the same estate, unlike North America, where children want to move out at 19.