The women of this village are just a microcosm of the strength and perseverance demonstrated by Indian women in Guyana, since the days of indentureship.
Modernisation
Lessons in life, love, happiness and business in one interview of a modest woman!!
"Questioned on whether or not it was strange for women to be involved on a male dominated platform, the women declared, “Not at all. Man and lady does work the same. Not in Hague. All we women are farmers.”
Very true,i can attest to the statement,i was born and bred in that village.
These are the ways of the Indians, and then when they rise up and build big houses, dem people seh dem mussy tief and do drugs!!
Rajkumarie Jeewan along with Bashantee Persaud striking a pose in front of a tractor parked aback her yard
The pic is a little blurred,could not recognize the person on the left,i post the article on Hague Back FB Page,just got some feedback that person is my first cousin.
BA$E, my mother's sister married and lived in Hague backdam from the 1940s to the 1980s when the whole family excluding one son emigrated to North America. I recall spending school vacations with them in the 1960s and witnessed my aunt working in the paddy fields and ground provision farm. Then, on Saturdays foreday marning she would load a donkey cart with rice, paddy, plantain, cassava, eddoe, tania, boulanger etc and trek from the backdam to Leonora outdoor market.
One of my first cousins still lives in Hague and when I phone in the evening his wife usually answers with something like "me just done look afta de cow dem" or "bai wha me go tell yuh? Plenty wuk." She is in her late 50s and complains about body pain but she also never fails to remind me: "When me bin young me was Hague Backdam Beauty Queen, yuh know dat?"
Gilbakka posted:BA$E, my mother's sister married and lived in Hague backdam from the 1940s to the 1980s when the whole family excluding one son emigrated to North America. I recall spending school vacations with them in the 1960s and witnessed my aunt working in the paddy fields and ground provision farm. Then, on Saturdays foreday marning she would load a donkey cart with rice, paddy, plantain, cassava, eddoe, tania, boulanger etc and trek from the backdam to Leonora outdoor market.
One of my first cousins still lives in Hague and when I phone in the evening his wife usually answers with something like "me just done look afta de cow dem" or "bai wha me go tell yuh? Plenty wuk." She is in her late 50s and complains about body pain but she also never fails to remind me: "When me bin young me was Hague Backdam Beauty Queen, yuh know dat?"
Gill,me thinks i know your cousin.
Django posted:Gill,me thinks i know your cousin.
Yuh getting senile or what? Yuh tell me suh already. Nah repeat yuhself like one old geezer.
Gilbakka posted:BA$E, my mother's sister married and lived in Hague backdam from the 1940s to the 1980s when the whole family excluding one son emigrated to North America. I recall spending school vacations with them in the 1960s and witnessed my aunt working in the paddy fields and ground provision farm. Then, on Saturdays foreday marning she would load a donkey cart with rice, paddy, plantain, cassava, eddoe, tania, boulanger etc and trek from the backdam to Leonora outdoor market.
My mother's sister also married into a pandit family and went to live in Hague. People refer to her as The Hague Beauty Queen with her white skin and long Rapunzel hair. I used to spend school vacations with her. She is in her 60s now so I know it's not the same person. Lol.
Bibi Haniffa posted:Gilbakka posted:BA$E, my mother's sister married and lived in Hague backdam from the 1940s to the 1980s when the whole family excluding one son emigrated to North America. I recall spending school vacations with them in the 1960s and witnessed my aunt working in the paddy fields and ground provision farm. Then, on Saturdays foreday marning she would load a donkey cart with rice, paddy, plantain, cassava, eddoe, tania, boulanger etc and trek from the backdam to Leonora outdoor market.
My mother's sister also married into a pandit family and went to live in Hague. People refer to her as The Hague Beauty Queen with her white skin and long Rapunzel hair. I used to spend school vacations with her. She is in her 60s now so I know it's not the same person. Lol.
Suh Shakira Baksh Caine outshine all the beauty queens from the village.
The story of these women is characteristic of many Indo farmers throughout Guyana, but not a trait embraced by this govt who favor street vendors over those who actually produce a commodity.