West Dem pensioners benefit from breakfast initiative

Share on Facebook
Tweet on Twitter
Some members of the National Commission for the Elderly prepare the hot meals for senior citizens

AS Guyana joins the rest of the world to observe International Day of the Elderly, pensioners from the West Bank of Demerara communities will now benefit from a breakfast initiative offered at Bagotstown and Wales post offices, on the first of every month.

On Tuesday the initiative was introduced at the two locations and Chairperson of the National Commission for the Elderly, Everette DeLeon, said it is one with which the Ministry of Social Protection is proud to be associated. “Some persons are in urgent need of this pension, so, they would be out as early as 03:00hrs. Recognising this fact, we decided to ensure that they have a hot breakfast. Sometimes we hear of persons fainting, therefore we felt it necessary that our pensioners are provided for,” Deleon explained.

Everette DeLeon, Chairperson of the National Commission for the Elderly

The chairperson also committed to having proper sanitary facilities for the general public constructed at these locations. She also said plans are being put in place for senior citizens to receive their pensions at any commercial bank of their choice. It was highlighted by Myrta Calderon, a member of the commission that a similar initiative will be offered at Vreed-en Hoop from November. Calderon noted that she has received much support from the region and several communities at large.

Thus far, the General Post Office and the Bourda Post Office in Georgetown have begun

Senior citizens awaiting their pensions

offering the monthly hot meal for pensioners. Ashton Crawford, a pensioner said that he welcomes the initiative, and made a request for a larger seating area. “I thank the Head of the Commission, the workers, and all of those involved for this effort…and since I have your attention I am hoping that we can [have] a bigger sitting area,” he said. The theme for this year’s Day of the Elderly is “The Journey to Age Equality.” (DPI)

You people living in the past....nuff oil coming to take care of these problems....

You live in La La Land. Venezuela, Nigeria gat Nuff Nuff Ile too. Think nah College student, think!!

You people living in the past....nuff oil coming to take care of these problems....

Equatorial Guinea got plenty hile fuh wan laang time now. Dem pickney ah waak wid big big belly, broomstick legs and ribs showing. Look like dem ah drink ah hile heh!

What happen to abee Indo pensioners that don't use pork, beef or haram food? Is there any dhal and roti fuh them?

This program is not for coolie areas. You see any coolie in de picha?

Equatorial Guinea got plenty hile fuh wan laang time now. Dem pickney ah waak wid big big belly, broomstick legs and ribs showing. Look like dem ah drink ah hile heh!

This government will not make the same mistakes of the Venezuelans and others....what makes you so sure that they will do the same things as the governments on EG or Venezuela??

You need a brain to know that they will do WORST, try growing one!!

Guyana don’t need oil to be rich. They are bless with natural resources but yet  they are the poorest country in the world. Guyana was once the food basket for the Caribbean, now they are importing almost everything. 

So tell us Vish, why Oil will make a difference to a curse nation when all the third world countries with oil are still poor. 

Banna, the Ministers have sold even their arss out, what other mistakes are left. 

What happen to abee Indo pensioners that don't use pork, beef or haram food? Is there any dhal and roti fuh them?

Bana, shut yuh.....What "abee"??? You don't give a rat's ass about indos.

Them Blackman PNC have a proven track record of FAILURE.

Bana, shut yuh.....What "abee"??? You don't give a rat's ass about indos.

Looks like it is always wide, wide W-I-D-E open.

Guyana don’t need oil to be rich. They are bless with natural resources but yet  they are the poorest country in the world. Guyana was once the food basket for the Caribbean, now they are importing almost everything. 

So tell us Vish, why Oil will make a difference to a curse nation when all the third world countries with oil are still poor. 

This is no ordinary find....it will put Guyana as the world’s fastest growing economy in the world, with the amount of oil that’s going to be produced. This will generate new industries and revenues.

Even if all of them are corrupt in Government, it will still leave enough to go around for the population....which is still small....

Vish is still going to school so he should be forgiven for his lack of understanding of some basis issues. Additionally, he knows not the inabilities of the PNC and their approach to economics, governance and politics. Ease up,on him a bit or he might quit school then we will be subjected to innumerable posts. 

Z

This is no ordinary find....it will put Guyana as the world’s fastest growing economy in the world, with the amount of oil that’s going to be produced. This will generate new industries and revenues.

Even if all of them are corrupt in Government, it will still leave enough to go around for the population....which is still small....

Sounds like you have your eye on corruption if not already involved in it.

Zed posted:

Vish is still going to school so he should be forgiven for his lack of understanding of some basis issues. Additionally, he knows not the inabilities of the PNC and their approach to economics, governance and politics. Ease up,on him a bit or he might quit school then we will be subjected to innumerable posts. 

Vish got a little bit dizzy about the tiger-striped buckta

Sounds like you have your eye on corruption if not already involved in it.

Its impossible to eradicate corruption, you can just control it....like the coalition is doing.....which one of them current ministers have a mansion like your hairless leada and de fat boy (who still lookin for his high school diploma)......