West Berbice man murdered, male

partner in custody

February 18, 2014 | By | Filed Under News 

Police have arrested a prime suspect in the murder of Dinesh Harrylall, 20, of Lot 38 B Woodley Park or No. 11 Village, West Coast Berbice. Harrylall was found dead sometime between 12:30 hours and 01:00 hours Monday morning at a residence at D’ Edward Village, West Bank Berbice.

Kelvin

Kelvin

According to information Harrylall worked with his father, Jagdesh Harrylall, as a construction worker. According to his father, Harrylall left home around 10:00 hrs after being called by his  good friend, Satrohan Madray, called ‘Blue’ to go by his residence at D’Edward Village for  some jewelry which his son had pawned.  He did not return home.
Jagdesh said that he did not bother about anything since Satrohan and his son were very close friends. They would frequent each other’s place on a regular basis, the man said.
Around 01:00 hrs he received a call informing him that there was a problem at Bennet Dam, Rosignol, and that he need to go and see.
Jagdesh left immediately. Upon arrival he saw his son lying on the floor in a pool of blood. He was badly mutilated.
He had sustained about seven stab wounds and was also allegedly beaten with a Rolling Pin. His eyes were bulging, his head was swollen and he sustained injuries to other parts of his body.  His friend was nowhere to be seen.
Jagdesh reported the matter to the police who responded promptly. The friend who does Kali Mai Puja was subsequently arrested. He was found hiding at the back of the house.
According to reports the accused who is allegedly gay and the deceased had an intimate relationship. The accused would shower the deceased with luxurious gifts, including a car and a motorbike.
On the night in question, they had an arrangement over some money which went sour and an argument ensued leading to the killing.
One person stated that Harrylall was killed over jealously after a number of persons met at the residence. However, the father of the deceased is stating that his son was killed by more than one person.  Another relative stated that Harrylall was used as a sacrifice by his good friend who is a Pujerie .
The man’s body was taken to the Fort Wellington Hospital where it is  awaiting a post mortem examination.
The friend is in custody and charges are likely shortly.

Originally Posted by raymond:

bai...to be fair, you can;t blame the PPP for a lover's quarrel

you can if guyana society  is getting lawless as we are seeing it all start from the top.a non effective police force can be one cause for so much crime

The point being made Ray, is that, if everyday there is murders in Guyana then people will be scared to visit and even tour Guyana.

Why talk about tourist visiting when all these murders are scaring people away? 

Originally Posted by asj:

The point being made Ray, is that, if everyday there is murders in Guyana then people will be scared to visit and even tour Guyana.

janab, I tend to agree with Raymond in this case, but your point is duly noted. Don't expect things to get better anytime soon. It ain't happening.

Originally Posted by Sheik101:

janab, I tend to agree with Raymond in this case, but your point is duly noted. Don't expect things to get better anytime soon. It ain't happening.

There is a need to do do public hangings for any murder.

He blame the PPP for the shittings of his mouth.  What a jackass.

Laad Ah Mercy  WATAK!!!!   Rass meh Kafee slip out meh mouth.

You need to stop being an antiman and go pimp somewhere else, why dont you go to the library and brush up on your ignorance" better yet a girly like you once serenading yourself on GNI as a woman, should go get your buggering somewhere else, I am not into that, shithead.

Laad Ah Mercy  WATAK!!!!   Rass meh Kafee slip out meh mouth.

Bring your wife and this jackass will enjoy himself whilst you are looking and enjoying the action, yuh kafee slip out, because you dying for this jackass pole in your mouth.

Originally Posted by Sheik101:

There is a need to do do public hangings for any murder.

Janab, no problem there, I guess that Guyana is not ready for tourism on a large scale for now, apart from robbery and shake downs by the police, tourist have  to be on the alert day and night. The Corrupt PPP/C needs to do a lot before they can think of tourism for Guyana.  

The number of murders each year in Guyana is under 150. There are 365 days in a year. How can one conclude that there is a murder everyday in Guyana? Jamaica has about 1500 murders each year and their population is 2.3 million, about three times that of Guyana. If we multiply the number of murders each year in Guyana (150) by 3 we would arrive at a figure of 450. Lets compare 450 with 1500 and decide whether one's chances of getting murder in Jamaica is greater than getting murder in Guyana. The numbers clearly shows that the murder rate in Jamaica is at least three times that of Guyana. 

Police Blotter: Crime rate goes up 7%

police-blotter-1jpg-8b3044d9067deffe_medium1An overall increase of 7% in serious crimes has been recorded at the end of January 2014 in comparison to January 2013. The total number of reports of serious crimes made during January 2014 was 341 compared to 318 in January 2013. Some of the offences monitored are murder, robbery under arms, robbery with violence, larceny from the person, break and enter and larceny, burglary, rape and kidnapping.

A total of 17 murders were recorded at the end of January 2014 in comparison to 10 murders for the same period in 2013, a 70% increase. Of the 17 during January 2014, 4 were of the disorderly type, 3 were committed during armed robberies, and 3 were domestic related, while the other 7 are so far undetermined.

At the end of January 2014 robbery under arms overall has increased by 44%, with 105 reports compared to 73 for the same period in 2013. The statistics indicate an increase of 50% in the number of armed robberies involving the use of firearms; and a 30% increase in armed robberies where instruments other than firearms were used by the perpetrators.

In relation to traffic, there has been an increase 4 road fatalities at the end of January 2014 in comparison to the same period in 2013, with 11 fatalities from 10 accidents in January 2014 compared to 7 fatalities from 6 accidents during January 2013. January 2014 saw reductions in the other categories of accidents that comprise serious, minor and damage.

Pedestrians have been the main road users affected with 6 such persons having lost their lives at the end of January 2014. In addition 3 motor cyclists and 2 pedal cyclists have also lost their lives.

Speeding continues to be a major contributing factor to fatal accidents and was the cause of 7 of the 10 fatal accidents recorded at the end of January 2014.

Traffic enforcement by the police during January 2014 resulted in a total of 3,946 cases being made against errant motorists; of this total 1,786 cases were for speeding.

To date, one other person has lost her life on the roadways for February 2014.

Anytime that crime goes up, it is something to be concerned about.