Wuh, like add water?
#1 Not RinsÂing Your Rice
RinsÂing your rice unÂtil the waÂter runs clear reÂmoves most of the outÂer starchÂes from the rice. StarchÂes are what preÂvent you from deÂvelÂopÂing light and fluffy rice. Theyâre the culÂprits that cause gumÂmy, sogÂgy and slimy rice. We recÂomÂmend usÂing a strainÂer to wash your rice unÂtil the waÂter runs clear. You will end up with more deÂfined and disÂtinct rice grains. Try not to agÂgraÂvate the rice afÂter, as that just deÂvelÂops more starch.
#2 ConÂstantÂly StirÂring It While CookÂing
SpeakÂing of deÂvelÂopÂing more starch, stirÂring the rice as it cooks (deÂspite how temptÂing it may be) is an abÂsolute âno-noâ. AgÂgraÂvatÂing rice in any way, eiÂther beÂfore or durÂing cookÂing, leachÂes even more starchÂes inÂto its cookÂing liqÂuid and makes it gumÂmy and thickâbaÂsiÂcalÂly, everyÂthing you do not want your rice to be. You will know youâve agÂgraÂvatÂed the starchÂes as the liqÂuid the rice is subÂmerged in usuÂalÂly beÂcomes cloudy.
#3 CookÂing It At A High TemÂperÂaÂture
CookÂing rice at a high temÂperÂaÂture causÂes the rice grains to burst open. This causÂes the rice to reÂlease starch (#1 and #2 go inÂto deÂtail about why this is a probÂlem). AlÂso, the texÂture of the rice is comÂpleteÂly ruÂined beÂcause it ends up turnÂing inÂto a mushy potaÂto-like subÂstance. This is why itâs a good idea to use a rice cookÂer beÂcause that mainÂtains a conÂsisÂtent heat that isnât hot enough to oblitÂerÂate the rice. Even if cookÂing on a stoveÂtop, try to mainÂtain a conÂsisÂtent simÂmer inÂstead of a rolling boil for a perÂfect reÂsult.
#4 TreatÂing Every Type Of Rice The Same
Brown, jasÂmine, basÂmati and white rice all have to be treatÂed difÂferÂentÂly. Most perÂsons boil them in the same amount of waÂter for the same length of time and hope for the best. HowÂevÂer, fraÂgrant rice variÂaÂtions like jasÂmine should not be cooked with salt or oil as this would hinÂder its flavour. HardÂer grains like basÂmati rice should be soaked priÂor to cookÂing in orÂder to help them exÂpand to their full length and size. Brown or wild rice usuÂalÂly takes a lot longer to cook with a rice to waÂter raÂtio of about 1:2.5.
ReÂgardÂless of which type of rice you are usÂing, itâs a good idea to Google the type of rice in orÂder to cook it the right way.
#5 âCheckÂingâ On Your Rice
It may be temptÂing but do not lift the lid of your rice pot or cookÂer. Thereâs a reaÂson you get a rice faÂcial if you lift the lidâa lot of steam and heat is reÂleased if you even slightÂly lift your pot covÂer. This does not onÂly creÂate an inÂconÂsisÂtent cookÂing enÂviÂronÂment and messÂes up your rice to waÂter raÂtio (reÂmemÂber, steam is waÂter) but it alÂso deÂstroys any chances of you endÂing up with perÂfectÂly cooked rice. The rice knows what itâs doÂing so, leave it alone.
#6 Not LetÂting It Sit
Even if youâre droolÂing with hunger, you have to wait at least 10 minÂutes afÂter the rice has finÂished cookÂing beÂfore eatÂing. This is beÂcause imÂmeÂdiÂateÂly afÂter the rice has finÂished cookÂing, most of the moisÂture is toÂwards the botÂtom, and the rice at the top is dry. WaitÂing 10 minÂutes gives the moisÂture enough time to evenÂly disÂtribÂute around the rice so that you have one conÂsisÂtent dish.
cain posted:Wuh, like add water?
bannas...this not tennis roll
I would like to hear women opinion on cooking rice.
Even if youâre droolÂing with hunger, you have to wait at least 10 minÂutes afÂter the rice has finÂished cookÂing beÂfore eatÂing. This is beÂcause imÂmeÂdiÂateÂly afÂter the rice has finÂished cookÂing, most of the moisÂture is toÂwards the botÂtom, and the rice at the top is dry. WaitÂing 10 minÂutes gives the moisÂture enough time to evenÂly disÂtribÂute around the rice so that you have one conÂsisÂtent dish.
Ray posted:Even if youâre droolÂing with hunger, you have to wait at least 10 minÂutes afÂter the rice has finÂished cookÂing beÂfore eatÂing. This is beÂcause imÂmeÂdiÂateÂly afÂter the rice has finÂished cookÂing, most of the moisÂture is toÂwards the botÂtom, and the rice at the top is dry. WaitÂing 10 minÂutes gives the moisÂture enough time to evenÂly disÂtribÂute around the rice so that you have one conÂsisÂtent dish.
Since when you became a chef?
Stormborn posted:Since when you became a chef?
Stall tactics. Been hiding since yesterday.
I donât know about all that. I still strain my rice after boiling. Mar water! Also I donât boil till it split. That is âwetâ rice. I like it Indian style, dry and fluffy!
Stormborn posted:Ray posted:Even if youâre droolÂing with hunger, you have to wait at least 10 minÂutes afÂter the rice has finÂished cookÂing beÂfore eatÂing. This is beÂcause imÂmeÂdiÂateÂly afÂter the rice has finÂished cookÂing, most of the moisÂture is toÂwards the botÂtom, and the rice at the top is dry. WaitÂing 10 minÂutes gives the moisÂture enough time to evenÂly disÂtribÂute around the rice so that you have one conÂsisÂtent dish.
Since when you became a chef?
I does watch plenty cooking shows...when I have time later in life, I want to make meals that are healthy and filling
Baseman posted:I donât know about all that. I still strain my rice after boiling.
Me too. I strain mine and rinse it good and proppa. This makes it nice and loose. Now that I have been eating brown rice, I find that I am not fond of parboiled (white) rice anymore although I will still eat it.
I add some coconut to my rice just before it done boil, that ting does eat good.
ksazma posted:Baseman posted:I donât know about all that. I still strain my rice after boiling.
Me too. I strain mine and rinse it good and proppa. This makes it nice and loose. Now that I have been eating brown rice, I find that I am not fond of parboiled (white) rice anymore although I will still eat it.
I have been eating Basmati rice. A 20-pound bag lasts me about 8 weeks.
ksazma posted:Baseman posted:I donât know about all that. I still strain my rice after boiling.
I thought parboiled rice is Brown rice, then you have white rice and then whole grain rice. I eat parboiled rice which is more of a yellow/brown in colour.
skeldon_man posted:ksazma posted:Baseman posted:I donât know about all that. I still strain my rice after boiling.
Do you buy any of these brands ?
The premium grain stacked up in American supermarkets under brand names like Calmati, which comes from California, and Texmati and Kasmati, which are marketed by Ricetec.
Django posted:skeldon_man posted:ksazma posted:Baseman posted:I donât know about all that. I still strain my rice after boiling.
The premium grain stacked up in American supermarkets under brand names like Calmati, which comes from California, and Texmati and Kasmati, which are marketed by Ricetec.
I buy the one that is imported from India and grown at the foothills of the Himalayas(they say).
kp posted:ksazma posted:Baseman posted:I donât know about all that. I still strain my rice after boiling.
I thought parboiled rice is Brown rice, then you have white rice and then whole grain rice. I eat parboiled rice which is more of a yellow/brown in colour.
Brown rice is what you refer to as whole grain rice. We used to refer to parboiled rice as brown rice but that does not seem to be the case. I like Basmati rice because it is much lighter on the stomach but we usually only use it when me make biryani or other Indian styled dishes.
Django posted:skeldon_man posted:ksazma posted:Baseman posted:I donât know about all that. I still strain my rice after boiling.
We get ours from the Indian store but I never bothered about the details. I think we use this one.
ksazma posted:kp posted:ksazma posted:Baseman posted:I donât know about all that. I still strain my rice after boiling.
Brown rice is what you refer to as whole grain rice. We used to refer to parboiled rice as brown rice but that does not seem to be the case. I like Basmati rice because it is much lighter on the stomach but we usually only use it when me make biryani or other Indian styled dishes.
Kaz, they have parboiled Basmati rice, i tried a bag (Indian brand) not bad, used it for fried rice. We used American grown parboiled rice.
Django posted:ksazma posted:Brown rice is what you refer to as whole grain rice. We used to refer to parboiled rice as brown rice but that does not seem to be the case. I like Basmati rice because it is much lighter on the stomach but we usually only use it when me make biryani or other Indian styled dishes.
Kaz, they have parboiled rice Basmati rice, i tried a bag not bad, used it for fried rice. We used American grown parboiled rice.
I bought a bag of parboiled brown rice recently but my wife thinks it is probably not good for my health. I thought it would have been a good idea since it is 'clean' compared to how brown rice looks similar to how parboiled white rice looks cleaner than regular white rice. Nonetheless, I have grown accustomed to the brown rice and doesn't like white rice anymore. Similarly, I don't like white bread as much as I like whole wheat bread although I don't care for all the nuts on the bread. Keep in mind I don't cook so all my input is in critique.
ksazma posted:Django posted:ksazma posted:Brown rice is what you refer to as whole grain rice. We used to refer to parboiled rice as brown rice but that does not seem to be the case. I like Basmati rice because it is much lighter on the stomach but we usually only use it when me make biryani or other Indian styled dishes.
Kaz, they have parboiled rice Basmati rice, i tried a bag not bad, used it for fried rice. We used American grown parboiled rice.
I bought a bag of parboiled brown rice recently but my wife thinks it is probably not good for my health. I thought it would have been a good idea since it is 'clean' compared to how brown rice looks similar to how parboiled white rice looks cleaner than regular white rice. Nonetheless, I have grown accustomed to the brown rice and doesn't like white rice anymore. Similarly, I don't like white bread as much as I like whole wheat bread although I don't care for all the nuts on the bread. Keep in mind I don't cook so all my input is in critique.
How rice is processed and health benefits.
Django posted:ksazma posted:Django posted:Kaz, they have parboiled rice Basmati rice, i tried a bag not bad, used it for fried rice. We used American grown parboiled rice.
How rice is processed and health benefits.
So all those years when Burnham deprived us of that nice looking white rice, he was really doing us a favor.