How to eat dim sum: The best five dishes in Hong Kong
Zoe Li, for CNN • Published 30th November 2017, http://www.cnn.com/travel/arti...t-dim-sum/index.html
(CNN) — Dim sum menus can lead to utter confusion if you don't know your har grow from your cha siu bao.
Did we order too much, or not enough? Will this satisfy everybody's tastes?
But the dim sum dilemma could be a thing of the past with our handy guide.
Here is a list of the top five essentials to order at a Hong Kong dim sum restaurant.
Har gow
The shrimp dumpling, har gow, is arguably the king of dim sum. It is the dish against which a dim sum restaurant's worth is weighed.
Or it should be. These days, gimmicky new dim sum inventions distract the jaded diner. Why eat a har gow when you can have a lobster dumpling decked with gold foil and shaped like a swan?
But a classic is a classic and the har gow should always make it to the dim sum table.
The best kind should have a wrapper that has been folded at least seven times to demonstrate the dexterity of the chef. The wrapper should be translucent, showing the pink glow of shrimp inside it.
At the best tables, the filling is made with fresh, sweet shrimp mixed with finely chopped bamboo shoots for a crunchy dimension.
Dipping them into chili sauce is an option. Polite dim sumers will wait for everyone to have a piece before going for seconds.
Where to get har gow: Man Wah at the Mandarin Oriental in Central serves one of the most expensive har gow in Hong Kong.
Made from tiger prawns and bamboo shoots, each dumpling is folded 10 times by our count and is a benchmark for the flavor and feel of har gow across the city.
Man Wah, 25/F, Mandarin Oriental Hong Kong, 5 Connaught Road Central; +852 2825 4003