Hoyte remembered: Guyana ready for another PNC leader – Corbin

December 23, 2014, By Filed Under News, Source - Kaieteur News Online

Former leader of the People’s National Congress Reform (PNCR), Hugh Desmond Hoyte, is being remembered for his calls for a new type of Governance in Guyana.

The former President was the one who engineered the economic recovery that sparked a rebirth of Guyana’s development.

These were among some of the tributes paid by former PNCR Opposition Leader, Robert Corbin, at yesterday’s ceremony at the Botanical Gardens in remembrance of Hoyte’s 12th death anniversary.

Former PNCR leader, Robert Corbin, at the 12th death anniversary observances for Hugh Desmond Hoyte.

According to Corbin, with Guyana again at the crossroads, the people are “quagmired” in a national crisis of unparalleled proportions.

“The crisis of governance is well known. Our democracy is under serious threat.”

He said that in his last Congress address, Hoyte had called for a different type of Government. He had urged for “an adjusted system of governance for our country – whether we call it “power-sharing”, “shared governance”, “inclusive governance” or any other name – appears to be an idea whose time has come.”

In that address, Hoyte had also noted the need for Guyana to “change to survive. And we must be in the forefront of the battle to bring about such change. Our Party will have to transform itself to cope with the inevitable change.”

Speaking to several senior PNCR officials, Corbin said that the time has come for another PNC Leader to again rescue the nation in a time of crisis.

Former President/PNCR Leader, Hugh Desmond Hoyte.

Former President/PNCR Leader,

Hugh Desmond Hoyte.

Born in Georgetown, Guyana on March 9, 1929, Hoyte was a teacher in Guyana and Grenada before qualifying as a British-trained Barrister-at-Law, where he was called to practice at the Middle Temple, London. He took silk as a member of the Inner Bar in 1969 and was designated Senior Counsel (SC) in 1970 when Guyana became a Republic.

He entered Guyanese politics in 1968 and served as Minister of Home Affairs, Minister of Finance, Minister of Works, Transport and Communications, Minister of Economic Development, and, Vice President and Deputy Prime Minister for Finance and Economic Planning.

When Prime Minister Dr. Ptolemy Reid, retired in August 1984, Desmond Hoyte was appointed Prime Minister of Guyana, a post in which he served until the death of President Forbes Burnham on August 6, 1985.

“It was at that crucial juncture of our country’s history, in the midst of uncertainty and fear for Guyana’s future, that Hugh Desmond Hoyte was thrust into the furnace of leadership. There is no doubt, even from his greatest critics, that he was the correct man for that season.”

Corbin argued yesterday that many historians and analysts have over the years since Hoyte’s departure speculated how much better Guyana’s fate as a nation would have been, had he been allowed by circumstances to complete his task as President beyond 1992 or as Opposition Leader beyond 2002.

Hoyte, Corbin said, was a visionary, and always conducted public policy and political strategy on the basis of deeply held and thoroughly analysed understandings of the needs of Guyana. “His work and writings demonstrate that he understood the needs and strategies for economic development and that he had a clear appreciation of the requirement and importance of social and cultural cohesion in our multicultural society.”

Hoyte, the former Opposition leader said, would also be remembered for not only assuming leadership in difficult times, but also for having the vision to chart a new political direction for PNC and the country; for introducing “electoral and other reforms, for which others want to claim credit today; and, successfully implementing the Economic Recovery Programme.

It is now widely acknowledged that Guyana’s remarkable economic recovery would have been inconceivable without President Hoyt.

Source - http://www.kaieteurnewsonline....r-pnc-leader-corbin/

According to Robert Corbin

He said that in his last Congress address, Hoyte had called for a different type of Government. He had urged for “an adjusted system of governance for our country – whether we call it “power-sharing”, “shared governance”, “inclusive governance” or any other name – appears to be an idea whose time has come.”

In that address, Hoyte had also noted the need for Guyana to “change to survive. And we must be in the forefront of the battle to bring about such change. Our Party will have to transform itself to cope with the inevitable change.”

Former President/PNCR Leader, Hugh Desmond Hoyte.

Former President/PNCR Leader,

Hugh Desmond Hoyte.

Hoyte remembered: Guyana ready for another PNC leader – Corbin, December 23, 2014, By Filed Under News, Source - Kaieteur News Online

Indeed there could have been increased development in Guyana had the PNC genuinely pursued that approach of “power-sharing”, “shared governance”, “inclusive governance” etc.

To this day, PNC has yet to make the needed transformation as noted by the late Desmond Hoyte.

The evil that men do lives after them; The good is oft interred with their bones; So let it be with Desmond. RIP Desmond Persaud.

Hope your bones will not  be fired.   

The evil that men do lives after them; The good is oft interred with their bones; So let it be with Desmond. RIP Desmond Persaud.

I did not come into this world to own a piece of earth. The earth does not belong to me. Yes, my bones will be cremated.

"The earth does not belong to me." U should tell the PPP them not to steal, because the earth is not to dwell on.  

Wha happen to you mouth? You gat bullet wood seed inside ah suck?

hehehehehehehe

Bhai, a telling all the time. Some day, you shall be aware of how much a seying. But the PPP gat Guyanese suh sweet, them giddy like they all have DIABETES. The PPP killing the people and the people doan even know dey dying. Dem have the bandits roaming around, there is the Ramotar gang of thieves and then u have the mosquitoes infecting the people. They all dying even the ones in Ramotar Parade.

hehehehehehehehehehehehehehe.

Last edited by seignet

And don't forget the mercury and cyanide in the water.

Under the PNC the Guyanese environment was is a pristine state. You could catch and eat crabs and fishes from the trenches. Try that under the PPP and see if you manage to make it till the next day.

Better watch it, seems like Siggy got lines with the BIG man up deh, he got the number on speed call tarass.

Maybe, juss maybe, from my lips to God's ears.

Bai cain, I believe in the big man "up deh". Let's protect this earth for the future generations after us. We enjoy it and hope future mankind will enjoy it too. I will do whatever I can to keep this earth a healthy place. We can all do that. Put the greed aside.

Iman not into da BIG man up deh but dat is another story but I sure hope we could all live up to those expectations.

Now when we notice someone taking advantage of us, letting greed take hold I hope we can all have the balls to give it to the man, let him know we aint takin shit no mo.