A journey from Parika to Hubu

Share on Facebook
Tweet on Twitter
Entering the village of Hubu, Parika and viewing one of the many boats that are made there

WHILE most persons are familiar with Parika, you may not know about the various small villages that fall within this large East Bank Essequibo community. This week, we venture into the communities within Parika and bring you stories on the way of life of the residents there. Stories by M. Margaret Burke and Shirley Thomas.

PARIKA is located approximately 19 miles from Vreed-en-Hoop. It is considered to be somewhat the parent village for many of the other small villages along the way.

Children out to play at the Blake Primary School with the nursery school in the background

Parika is seen as the port township and has been evolving into such with the mammoth economic activities that continue to see expansion within this central location. It is where hundreds of sellers and buyers from the many villages meet to transact business. These include some from islands in the Essequibo River, who seek to bring out their farming produce and other items for wholesale and retail sale at the Parika market.

HUBU, PARIKA
Hubu, also pronounced “Hoo-boo,” can be found some five miles up from Parika. Similar to many of the other villages along the way, Hubu is a very quiet place during most of the weekdays; on Fridays and Sundays however, the village comes alive with lots of activities, especially in relation to the marketplace.

Hubu has a landing that links other villages, not only along the stretch of road to Parika, but across the river. There it forms a major hub for river transport to many other islands and villages, such as Fort Island, Aliki, Morishi, Bonasika and other areas. While some people travel to Parika by using speed boats or the bigger ferry, others use speed boats to Hubu, then take the road to their other destinations.

Farming has been the main economic activity for a large percentage of the people of Hubu for many years. However, there are many people with well-established businesses such as sawmills, grocery shops and hardware stores, supermarkets, block-making, taxi and other transportation services, a modern three-storey car parking facility, a fuel station and other businesses within the community. There are also many public servants from Hubu who cover every scope of work in areas of public service.

A hardworking family who are obviously pleased with their harvest as they cruise home in a very relaxed mood

“In this area we do not have ‘limers,’ even though we sometimes sit outdoors in the open, by the landing, by a shop or sometimes just in front of a friend’s house; this is mostly late in the afternoons after a hard day’s work,” a group of young men told the Pepperpot Magazine.

Indeed, the Pepperpot Magazine discovered on the ‘Journey to Hubu’ there is that quietude, graced by some smiling and appreciative faces. Though spread with some amount of activities on the way, the people from this relatively small community live a very relaxed lifestyle with the essential services of electricity, potable water, telephones, an internet hub and a good family-type life, where they share in the good and sometimes not-so-good times.

IMPROVED FACILITIES
Starting from the front road at Parika, the road that took the team into Hubu had a smooth drive. While some parts seemed narrow, causing one vehicle to have to await the passing of another, moving through each village was undisturbed by potholes and other hindrances. Michael Smith and Sam Ruben told the Pepperpot Magazine that many of the roads and bridges that adjoin villages and most of the culverts were renovated or built over in recent times.

The bridge at Hubu, sandwiched by Unity and Saint Lawrence or Big Sands, received renovation works, as well as the landing that facilitates a lot of transportation activities to and from Hubu by persons living on neighbouring islands and villages.

In the area of education, while there are many teachers who come from the villages along the journey, there are a number of schools to facilitate at least some of the teachers; others teach outside of the community. In Parika, there is a nursery, primary and secondary school; while in some communities there is just nursery or primary. The Pepperpot Magazine was told that the children within the communities graduate to the school for which they are qualified after sitting the Secondary School Entrance Examination (SSEE), and Hubu is one such community.

The start of a journey through the Parika road leading to Hubu (Photos by Samuel Maughn)

The religious buildings in these communities are also very prominent in the villages. These include the many churches, mosques and mandirs or temples with shrines and murtis.

In what appears to be the coziness of the communities along the journey, are the recreational facilities, which also add to the laissez-faire atmosphere the villagers seem to enjoy. There is also the Stanley Hing recreational park and other smaller playfields within the community.

In transit through Hubu

Share on Facebook
Tweet on Twitter
Denita Harris receiving a copy of the Guyana Chronicle from Kim Halley of the Guyana National Newspapers Limited ( Photos by Samuel Maughn)

Lower Bonasika family among many who pass through on their way home

THE Pepperpot Magazine met Thelma and Hubert Harris, along with their daughter-in-law Denita Harris and her two-year-old son Paul Harris, at the Hubu landing. They were about to take a speedboat to cross over to their place of residence, which is Lower Bonasika.

Thelma seemed very happy to meet the Pepperpot team and even happier to acquire copies of the Guyana Chronicle, which were in our possession.

The Harris family and others are preparing to leave the Hubu boat landing for Lower Bonasika

According to Thelma, whenever the family come out to do business, they usually use a speedboat from the Hubu landing to take them back to the Lower Bonasika community.

Bonasika is an indigenous settlement on the eastern bank of the Essequibo River. Thelma informed the Pepperpot Magazine that her community is a very decent one and that her Toshao is Mr. Stassford Williams. She said that they are a very religious set of people and this helps the people to see things differently.

“As an interior location we live well with all the neighbouring communities and we do not encourage wrong things like stealing, limers, drinking up and behaving bad and so on, even though sometimes you have a few who may go overboard,” she related.

She added that the people in the communities, which include Aliki, Fort Island– which is just across the river from Hubu– Morashee and the others share in the many activities that the villagers hold from time to time. In addition, the church forms an important part of lives in the villages and as such, this is reflected in their lifestyles to a large extent.

FARMING, A WAY OF LIFE
Thelma said that farming is a general way of life for most, if not every member of the community. She explained that even though more and more people are taking education seriously; and many of the young people are writing the Caribbean Secondary Education Certificate (CSEC) Examinations and gaining places in other education and secular institutions, most people still see the need to “put down, even if it is a few plants in their yards.”

She mentioned that all the communities have a close relationship with Parika, explaining that this is where the large-scale farming and agro-processing items go for sale; also, it is where a lot of buying is done to renew supplies for shops and other businesses in the communities.

The Lower Bonasika community has just over 150 residents; however, they have a school, which is about three miles downriver. On the other hand, in Upper Bonasika, the population is much more and they do have some added facilities. Other than a school, there is a community centre and a health centre.

EXPECTATIONS

Heading into the speedboat with newspapers in hand are Thelma Harris and her daughter-in-law, Denita Harris

Last year, the government commissioned a computer lab at Lower Bonasika and according to Thelma, while the villagers are a contented bunch of people, they are also expecting more, especially to help the young ones to make themselves more marketable.

She stated that as villagers they are always willing to work hard and help themselves; and will continue to do so. However, improved services in every respect will always be welcomed, especially as it relates to education, health, community welfare and recreational facilities.

Suh Hubu backdam is fuh real!  And they have paved roads! 

Hubu is about 5 miles up from Parika, the paved road is from Parika  but as you approach Hubu it's a dirt road. Now, you have Hubu and Hubu Back Dam. Going into the back dam is the big farming area, in the rainy season the roads are deep with mud so people use the canals by boat or canoe to get to their farms. I had the sweetest pineapple at Hubu.

The Binnies are nice, they do farming, milk the cows, cook food, look after the pickney and them swim in the black water creek. It's a small village that consists of three main races, the Amerindians, Blacks and Indians.I had a school friend that lived in Hubu ,his father was a farmer, I visited him a few times and when I return home I would bring a rice bag full of fruits and vegetables, just t show the love ,my friend was Black.

Without any research, I think it is an African word, remember there were many sugar factories stretching along the coastal region in Guyana, Bonasika was a sugar plantation. Also , Hubu is known for ground provision farming, re: cassava, eddoes, yams, sweet potatoes, plantains and banana.

The Binnies are nice, they do farming, milk the cows, cook food, look after the pickney and them swim in the black water creek. It's a small village that consists of three main races, the Amerindians, Blacks and Indians.I had a school friend that lived in Hubu ,his father was a farmer, I visited him a few times and when I return home I would bring a rice bag full of fruits and vegetables, just t show the love ,my friend was Black.

Without any research, I think it is an African word, remember there were many sugar factories stretching along the coastal region in Guyana, Bonasika was a sugar plantation. Also , Hubu is known for ground provision farming, re: cassava, eddoes, yams, sweet potatoes, plantains and banana.

How much “cow” bobby  you milk ... you know what I mean 😊

I grew up on a Sugar Estate, as a little boy I go to the Cow pen for milk every morning, sometimes a man with a donkey cart would bring it for us. I asked the worker to teach me to milk cow, the two back legs were tied with rope, place the big bucket under ,rub some vaseline on both hands then start pulling. I did OK but lots of milk went out of the bucket

If that cow pen worker was a tall dark Indian, his name was Baba Debidin. 

Baba is correct  and there was a fair skinned man who was in charge.

There are no life jackets and there is a baby in that boat. 

Come on Mits, I crossed the Demerara River several times in small fishing boat with no life jackets on the boat whenever there is a strike by Transport and Harbour. Some boats were not more than 10 or 12 feet in length and packed with people, the waves would splash and soaked your skin.

There are no life jackets and there is a baby in that boat. 

Come on Mits, I crossed the Demerara River several times in small fishing boat with no life jackets on the boat whenever there is a strike by Transport and Harbour. Some boats were not more than 10 or 12 feet in length and packed with people, the waves would splash and soaked your skin.

I believe in the value of life. It ultimately depends upon our awareness and contemplation rather than our own survival back in the day. The GOG needs to do more for the safety of its Citizens.

Is HUBU a African word. Just asking. 

Ease your mind a little from the Africans. Perhaps the word can be Hindi.

Yes need to know, a claim of land ownership  may be put against my Indian farmers or the profit may have to be share.. 

Is like how Ginga from Annandale was killed and his land is now in the hands of Buxtonians . The same Ginga who used to feeds the Afro brothers and sisters or almost the entire village with his fruits and sugar cane. 

Now the land is abandoned, and for some strange reason, two years after Ginga death, all the fruit trees stop bearing... most die and the sugar cane field is barren. 

Yo rass better see if that house back home is on African brother land or if you still have ownership. 

Brother Dave. I am planning a trip to Guyana this summer. It is worth it to build a Florida style bungalow house with the necessary door and window security ? It would be nice to have a summer home in Guyana instead of Florida. 

I already own the land in Berbice. 

Thanks Bro. 

Good to be back. I will try to ease up on the political arguments but will still jab here and there. 

I plan to ruffle up Mitwah Bhai.

He eyes na see PNC corruption now. Looks like Katty hands are in the cookie jar again. 

Ramjattan is as clean as whistle. In the meanwhile, Trotty is pulling a Burnham on the AFC. 

Brother Dave. I am planning a trip to Guyana this summer. It is worth it to build a Florida style bungalow house with the necessary door and window security ? It would be nice to have a summer home in Guyana instead of Florida. 

I already own the land in Berbice. 

Welcome back, more FIRE at their Arss. The iron is hot. 

Is HUBU a African word. Just asking. 

Ease your mind a little from the Africans. Perhaps the word can be Hindi.

Yo rass better see if that house back home is on African brother land or if you still have ownership.

To date it's safe, no claims as yet. The brothers have the neighboring village, me thinks the oldest ran by local government.

I love to pull Bobby   

You like to play with Bobby's bubby, eh Nehru ???

One of those will rebound at him one of these days after attempting to pull it.  

Is HUBU a African word. 

No. Hubu is Arawak in origin. It is a shortened form of hububalli, a hardwood tree that grew aplenty near Parika ages ago.

There is also a hardwood call kabakalli. Not sure if they are the same.

Is HUBU a African word. 

No. Hubu is Arawak in origin. It is a shortened form of hububalli, a hardwood tree that grew aplenty near Parika ages ago.

Not the same. Silverballi and kakaralli and kabukalli and some other alli are other Guyana wood. A partial list here:

https://www.mcvantage.com/tropical-hardwoods-guyana/

Is HUBU a African word. 

Not the same. Silverballi and kakaralli and kabukalli and some other alli are other Guyana wood. A partial list here:

https://www.mcvantage.com/tropical-hardwoods-guyana/

Muslim origin