Bai when abie live in wite man kuntry abie muss depend on de majority foh be open and generous to abie who run way from abie blackman-brownman kuntry. Me understand de politics. But dis is one ting me doan blame PPP foh. Guysuco and de thieving and de cocaine ing...and he hucksta and hustle and academic fraud...dat me blame dem foh. Me tink is good it call Arrival. Dem should a be brave and put it on wan anada day. 

Arrival Day is an official public holiday in Guyana that is observed every 5 May. It commemorates the beginning of the arrival of numerous indentured servants of diverse ethnic heritages to Guyana.

Originally, this holiday was known as Indian Arrival Day and celebrated specifically the arrival of people of Indian ancestry to Guyana on 5 May, 1838. However, the meaning of the holiday was later broadened to include all ethnic groups that came as indentured servants to replace slave labour on the sugar plantations after the abolition of slavery in the British Empire.

Many Chinese and other immigrants soon also came to Guyana as indentured servants, but the bulk came from India, which is why over 40 percent of Guyana’s population today is of Indian descent. And Arrival Day celebrations are strongest in Indian communities in Guyana, where cultural shows and exhibits have long been put on every 5 May.

Arrival Day is a day when the people of Guyana remember their diverse heritage but also their nation’s motto: One people, one nation, one destiny.

https://publicholidays.gy/arrival-day/

HAPPY INDIAN ARRIVAL DAY.

Today is also another significant day in the history of Migration of East Indians. Happy Indian arrival day to all my Guyanese friends and family.

The first set of East Indians to set foot in the Americas The Indians arriving in the New World called themselves Jahan or “People of the Ship,” referring to the ship that brought them across the oceans to the Americas.

On May 5th, 1838, after the abolishment of slavery in the British Caribbean, the first group of East Indians set foot in the Americas arriving on the Whitby, a British ship, where 244 Indians set foot in Guyana. The journey to the New World begun on January 13th 1838, from the Calcutta port with 249 Indians, and lasted 5 long months, traveling half way around the world, from the Indian Ocean, around Africa and up into the Atlantic Ocean and then to the waters of Guyana. The long voyage across the oceans brought seasick, hunger and diseases to the Indians onboard the ship, where 5 people had died and only 5 females arrived alive. Shortly after the arrival of the Whitby in Guyana, another ship known as the Hesperus, which left India on January 29th 1838, arrived in Guyana with another 165 Indians, where only 6 females arrived alive and 13 Indians died at sea

Image may contain: one or more people and outdoor

ARRIVAL Day has now become a calendar event and a national holiday in Guyana. It is celebrated annually on May 5 to commemorate the arrival of indentured immigrants of all races in the country.

This day was initially observed as Indian Arrival Day by the Indo-Guyanese community in commemoration of the first Indian emigrants who landed in the then British Guiana aboard the “Whitby” and the “Hesperus” on May 5, 1838.

The Indians kept their culture alive through oral and artistic forms of story-telling; thus their history and religious philosophies were kept alive and vibrant from generation to generation by elders and religious heads on the various plantations to which they were assigned.

However, despite the fact that they were displaced from their homeland in India and forced to work as labourers in the sugar cane fields of the British colonizers, various researchers and historians believe that many of the Indian immigrants had been professionals in various fields in India.

Writer Harry Hergash notes in a study that “Rev. Bronkhurst, in 1883 (The Colony of British Guiana and its Labouring Population), posits: “All the immigrants in the colony are, of course, looked upon as coolies or day labourers, and so they areâ€Ķ

“In their own native land, they were doctors or physicians, clerks, schoolmasters, teachers, sirdhars, shop or bazaar keepers, etcâ€Ķ”

In addition, Jenkins’ book of 1871 (‘The Coolie, His Rights and Wrongs: Notes of a Journey to British Guiana’), and more recent research by Bates and Carter of the University of Edinburgh, Scotland, suggest that ex-sepoys (former Indian soldiers) were among the immigrants.

This article looks at the oral history and documentation surrounding immigrant Surujbali, of whom three of his grandchildren have played important roles in the history of the country.

Surujbali arrived in 1891, and fathered two children in the country: a son, Joseph, and a daughter, Bhagwandai. In the mid-1950s, his grandson Harry Singh, through his daughter, became one of the first two Cadets of the British Guiana Civil Service.

Later, in 1967, Harry became the first Guyanese to be appointed Director of Bookers, the largest and most politically influential business entity in the country at the time; it was said to control the lives of Guyanese from birth to death.

The magnitude of this appointment is reflected in the article announcing his appointment in the then Guyana Graphic. “A young Guyanese who grew up on a sugar plantation has created history by being the first person to be appointed to the top post of an Executive Director of the Bookers complex in Guyana. Mr. Harry Singh, at 36, is the first Guyanese to be a member of what is regarded as the “Cabinet” of this concern.”

Implicit in Hergash’s paper is the suggestion that these academics and professionals were either fooled or forced to journey to colonized lands to work as agricultural labourers under slave-like conditions in mainly sugar plantations, but that their descendants broke the mould and once again rose out of the ranks of the servile and servitude to assume positions of power.

History and time evolved, and the Indian immigrant has come into his own, and today the Indian Diaspora strides the globe, proud and strong in super-achievements in every area of endeavour.

Yet, one cannot escape the fact that all the races that came to Guyana at whatever period, even Guyana’s first peoples, the Amerindians, have all contributed immensely to the growth and development of this country we all call our homeland.

Guyana is a beautiful country of many races and cultures which have evolved through miscegenation and acculturation; and our diversity is our strength. We are all very proud of our ancestors, who came here under very difficult circumstances, and who, through their hard work, helped to pioneer changes in this country and assisted in its development, working side by side. Thus we have to embrace Guyana’s total history.

The changing world needs greater tolerance and respect for diversity. What is needed is a world that understands different civilizations and the way people from different cultures can work across the cultures, across religion, across ethnic differences, to move and create a better life here on earth.

Our ancestors endured all of the difficulties; they persevered because they were strong in spirit and they were strong as a collective; and today we are the beneficiaries of that, so it is imperative that we use that strength to move our country forward.

Former President Bharrat Jagdeo said, “This country belongs to a large number of beautiful people, all of them having equal rights.  No-one is inferior and no-one is superior’ we are all equal in this land.”

As Guyanese celebrate Arrival Day today, let us remember the way our ancestors collectively endured and prevailed to create joint endeavours for enhanced lifestyles and upward mobility, and let us strive to realize our national motto: “One People, One Nation, with One Destiny.”

http://guyanachronicle.com/201...-guyanese-nationhood

• mceclip0

Arrival Day is an official public holiday in Guyana that is observed every 5 May. It commemorates the beginning of the arrival of numerous indentured servants of diverse ethnic heritages to Guyana.

Originally, this holiday was known as Indian Arrival Day and celebrated specifically the arrival of people of Indian ancestry to Guyana on 5 May, 1838. However, the meaning of the holiday was later broadened to include all ethnic groups that came as indentured servants to replace slave labour on the sugar plantations after the abolition of slavery in the British Empire.

Many Chinese and other immigrants soon also came to Guyana as indentured servants, but the bulk came from India, which is why over 40 percent of Guyana’s population today is of Indian descent. And Arrival Day celebrations are strongest in Indian communities in Guyana, where cultural shows and exhibits have long been put on every 5 May.

Arrival Day is a day when the people of Guyana remember their diverse heritage but also their nation’s motto: One people, one nation, one destiny.

https://publicholidays.gy/arrival-day/

Hey Django, Indian again demonstrates their inclusiveness for all race . 

AGDA kept to their own, them nah even recognize you as black. 

Whats your thought about abe India inclusive of all race on this special day😊

Is May 5 officially referred to as "Indian Arrival Day" or "Arrival Day"?

I checked this out....in Trinidad its called "Indian Arrival Day"...why, if this day was recognized by an Indo government (PPP), were they ashamed to attach the word "Indian" to the name?

jes asking. 

You Mek all of We a fool, today is your day bhai. 

U en use google for your research. 

Dave,

you posted 2014 article from Guyana Chronicle, who you fooling ??

Stop drink that stuff man, it make you more stupid banna.

I man share a article to Vish question and me put the source. 

Whats wrang with that bhai? 

Told you don't partake in alcohol for months, you thinks you are sneaky, i am very observant.

Whats your point dude. Do you have a problem with the chronicle because it published the story during PPP government. Them copy and paste just like all a we do, unless you were the writer of this history... then you should be honour. 

Personally, I don’t see nothing wrong with that. 

The most important thing to note is Indian change its name to recognize every race. 

Dave,

you posted 2014 article from Guyana Chronicle, who you fooling ??

Stop drink that stuff man, it make you more stupid banna.

I man share a article to Vish question and me put the source. 

Whats wrang with that bhai? 

Told you don't partake in alcohol for months, 

Some body dropping something in that Chai tea of yours now and then. 

I checked this out....in Trinidad its called "Indian Arrival Day"...why, if this day was recognized by an Indo government (PPP), were they ashamed to attach the word "Indian" to the name?

jes asking. 

Since you start posting you ask more questions than the lies Trump told Muller in his investigation. Trump is a survivor, but you cork will duck if you don't do your research and fact-finding. You must not call people knucklehead when you fit the description.  

jes asking. 

Since you start posting you ask more questions than the lies Trump told Muller in his investigation. Trump is a survivor, but you cork will duck if you don't do your research and fact-finding. You must not call people knucklehead when you fit the description.  

huh...Hey Knucklehead...I mean Princess...

Sometimes a quick answer can be provided by some people here...Gilly, DJ, D-G, Ronan, Carib, Baseman and Iguana, etc look like dem know a lot about Guyana...dem is good resource too... jes like de internet....

jes asking. 

huh...Hey Knucklehead...I mean Princess...

Sometimes a quick answer can be provided by some people here...Gilly, DJ, D-G, Ronan, Carib, Baseman and Iguana, etc look like dem know a lot about Guyana...dem is good resource too... jes like de internet....

That's another bad judgment right there. I wouldn't put an ounce of confidence in any of them. Tell them Prince said so. These fellas can hardly remember what they had for breakfast. Alright, I give credit to DG. He always comes to someone's rescue and offers what he know. Me bad.  

HAPPY INDIAN ARRIVAL DAY.

Today is also another significant day in the history of Migration of East Indians. Happy Indian arrival day to all my Guyanese friends and family.

The first set of East Indians to set foot in the Americas The Indians arriving in the New World called themselves Jahan or “People of the Ship,” referring to the ship that brought them across the oceans to the Americas.

On May 5th, 1838, after the abolishment of slavery in the British Caribbean, the first group of East Indians set foot in the Americas arriving on the Whitby, a British ship, where 244 Indians set foot in Guyana. The journey to the New World begun on January 13th 1838, from the Calcutta port with 249 Indians, and lasted 5 long months, traveling half way around the world, from the Indian Ocean, around Africa and up into the Atlantic Ocean and then to the waters of Guyana. The long voyage across the oceans brought seasick, hunger and diseases to the Indians onboard the ship, where 5 people had died and only 5 females arrived alive. Shortly after the arrival of the Whitby in Guyana, another ship known as the Hesperus, which left India on January 29th 1838, arrived in Guyana with another 165 Indians, where only 6 females arrived alive and 13 Indians died at sea

Image may contain: one or more people and outdoor

One poster on this site claims to be decedents of these first arrivals.  With the men/women stats, clearly some of the boys had to hussle Afro females. 

Know your history and will not be shocked that you are a sister-sledge!!