Citizensreportgy.com

‘I don’t think many of them (overseas based Guyanese) will come back’- Granger

A 16-member delegation, including four ministers and ‘honorific’ advisors, addressed the one-day investment conference held on June 10 at the Harvard Club, New York.

And in last Friday’s broadcast of ‘The Public Interest’, President David Granger was asked about a New York trip he made the day after, where he and several other officials attended a jubilee celebration event. The question put to Granger was, “You spoke to importance of diaspora investments to the country. What impact do you see these investments having on the local economy?”

Admitting that he did engage persons in New York about investing in Guyana, he said, “I don’t think many of them (overseas based Guyanese) will come back.”

He added, “What I asked them to consider is the possibility of investment…the diaspora has access to capital…they have capital to invest…many of them have expertise….I appealed to them on those two grounds.”

Granger did not answer the question put to him, relative to what impact investments will have on the local economy.

The Head of State did mention the June 10 investment conference, saying that his New York trip the day after was a follow up visit, not a stand-alone trip for the jubilee celebrations. He also mentioned a visit to Canada last October by a large Government contingent, aimed at getting Guyanese based in Canada to invest.

Eight months after the Canada trip and nine days after the June 10 investment conference in New York, there have been no disclosures by the Granger-led A Partnership for National Unity and Alliance For Change (APNU+AFC) Government about what investments proposals materialised from the two trips – if any.

Granger was also asked if he was privy to any of the business plans put forward at the June 10 investment conference. He said, “I don’t have any concrete plans; like I said Minister of Business, Dominic Gaskin was there before (on June 10).”

On the question of concessions for foreign investors, he made clear that he has not “committed” himself to any concession regime. “At this point in time, I cannot confirm a package,” Granger said.

In the last year, there have been no major announcements regarding foreign direct investments in Guyana.  The country’s Gross Domestic Product (GDP) growth at the end of 2015 dropped below projections to three per cent.

So then he should reimburse the Guyanese taxpayers for the grand cost of hosting the event at the Harvard Club, including the other costs that the ministers racked up for the trip to New York.

Granger is on the spot. A significant percentage of the PPP administration were come backees. People do not want to come back to start over. They come back to help, offer up expertise and in rare occasions start business. Those rare occasion left the Guyanese business class dominated by come backees.

Danyael posted:

Granger is on the spot. A significant percentage of the PPP administration were come backees. People do not want to come back to start over. They come back to help, offer up expertise and in rare occasions start business. Those rare occasion left the Guyanese business class dominated by come backees.

Peaople going back are not starter-overs but well established a want to do something back home.  Given the crime, racism and ineptmness of the Govt, who will want to return!

I was hoping all the Coalition supporters would be buying one way tickets to Guyana.  They were cheering on their big win last year May elections and now all a dem gone guh hide under dem bed.  Disappointing!

Prince Juno posted:

When the PPP take over, Guyana will be flooded with re-migrants. Indians will never go back when cradaags are running the country.

I guess the Indian Crabdaags almost ruin people like Seignet here! He went and ran away! What do you know about the Indian Crabdaags in the PPP who ran away every investor who were not the PPP friends and family. I bet you can find lots of those people here. 

Danyael posted:
Prince Juno posted:

When the PPP take over, Guyana will be flooded with re-migrants. Indians will never go back when cradaags are running the country.

I guess the Indian Crabdaags almost ruin people like Seignet here! He went and ran away! What do you know about the Indian Crabdaags in the PPP who ran away every investor who were not the PPP friends and family. I bet you can find lots of those people here. 

Now is a great time for them to go back and invest.  Granger looking for them. Where are they?

Danyael posted:
Prince Juno posted:

Now is a great time for them to go back and invest.  Granger looking for them. Where are they?

Guyana is a cesspool of debauchery now. When the PPP entered it may have been poor but it had an almost zero murder rate, no gun culture or drug culture and was a blank canvas with lots of areas to create a masterpiece. However, those never came to fruition but in its place a necrotic drug culture and money laundering business sprang up and stabroeak market t shirt vendors became mall builders and resort owners. No one care to go back into that cesspool.

Listen all the Brooklynite who went back for the dan hall party, when asked if the staying, their response was.  Stay where.  Look I want to go back to the Projects in New York.

Me, my catamaran in the bahamas waters is my heaven.  Blue sea, calm life and no gun man trying to rob me.

I have many acres of waste land in Guyana that is filled with bush and snakes. Granger can take and share it with the poor. Only last night I had a dream that people thief all meh money and belongings as soon as I landed at CJIA.

I was hoping all the Coalition supporters would be buying one way tickets to Guyana.  They were cheering on their big win last year May elections and now all a dem gone guh hide under dem bed.  Disappointing!

When you celebrate PPP win, does that mean that you will go back?

Here, there, yonder and everywhere else except returning to Guyana.

RiffRaff posted:

Ask the PNC boys on GNI, PPP never going back in power.

Brian Teekah posted:

Listen all the Brooklynite who went back for the dan hall party, when asked if the staying, their response was.  Stay where.  Look I want to go back to the Projects in New York.

Me, my catamaran in the bahamas waters is my heaven.  Blue sea, calm life and no gun man trying to rob me.

LOL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

RiffRaff posted:

During the PPP era lots of people returned and invested in the country, the government even offered concessions. Today, there are long lines at all foreign offices and passport office for Guyanese wanting to escape.Granger and his boys are using these trips abroad as personal vacations, knowing people overseas don't want to return. First, he must convince the locals to remain and invest and that is a big failure. It is sad to know with all the rigging and help from the ABC countries for the coalition to gain power, now they can't govern, the tax base is shrinking, unemployment is increasing and crime is at a high. Fail to plan is Plan to fail.

RiffRaff posted:

Ask the PNC boys on GNI, PPP never going back in power.

Well..they were in power for a long time...did you go back?