That is detailed in full many who have been tracking the rape of the Planet by these companies.

Financial records never showed Chinese Govt. as part of BaiShanLin –Forensic Auditor

April 17, 2016 | By | Filed Under News 

It appears that directors of Chinese logging company, BaiShanLin, were not as forthcoming as they should have

Chartered Accountant, Anand Goolsarran

been to authorities in Guyana about who really are the principal owners of the company.

During an interview with Kaieteur News last year, Managing Director of the company, Chu Hongbo, revealed that approximately 51 percent of the entity was owned by the Government of China.

In fact, Minister of State, Joseph Harmon recently revealed that the Government of China actually has a 55 percent hold in BaiShanLin through a company called Long Jiang Forest Industries Group. This company is situated in the Heilong Jiang Province of China.

Harmon said, “The Long Jiang Forest Industries Group is a state-owned company that had acquired 55 percent of the shares in BaiShanLin and is intended to fully take over the company in 2016.”

But this is in stark contrast to a forensic audit report which was conducted by Chartered Accountant, Anand Goolsarran. In his report, the forensic auditor said that BaiShanLin was first incorporated in Guyana on September 20, 2006 under the Guyana Companies Act 1991.
Goolsarran noted that the company listed three persons as its only shareholders/directors. These persons were Chairman, Chu Wenze, Managing Director Chu Hongbo, and Director Zhang Li Na.

Never once did it state in its statements to the Guyana Forestry Commission (GFC) or to the Deeds Registry or even in its financial records that the Government of China was ever a shareholder in the company.

Goolsarran emphasized, yesterday, that the Chinese company only listed three individuals owning and operating BaiShanLin as well as taking over five other major logging companies.

Managing Director for BaiShanLin, Chu Hongbo

The forensic auditor said that this company has literally “fooled the nation” while enjoying millions of dollars worth in concessions, the grant of an exploratory permit covering a period of six consecutive years whereas the law allows for a maximum period of three years for such a permit among other “premium” privileges.

Taking into consideration that the Chinese company has failed to fulfill its obligations to Guyana, and the fact that the Forests Act does not permit a renewal  of a SFEP at the end of three years, the contract with the company, Goolsarran said, should be terminated forthwith.
Goolsarran also recommended that State forest should be returned to the Commission for reallocation.

In addition, he said that the coalition administration should consider terminating the investment agreements with the company and recover the value of the fiscal concessions granted to it.

You are a genius who just discovered the wheel.  Everyone knew that the Chinese govt are owners or part owners of Chinese companies originating from China. 

No dummy, unlike you I am concerned with the facts as they are. I do not invent them or pretend I know what I do not know. Why don't you point to any statement by anyone with respect to to these companies what affirms your last statement that everyone knows that fact.

If they did then they are a bunch of idiots like you are  to be allowing the Chinese government to own most of the land in Guyana without voicing an objection. Imagine our prized hardwoods being siphoned away and all you stupid bastards were sitting on your hands.

Thanks to Glen Lall he did not drink the Chinese Cool Aid and began to highlight this criminal predation on our natural resources because small minded men in the PPP and knee bending supporters let it happen.

You are a genius who just discovered the wheel.  Everyone knew that the Chinese govt are owners or part owners of Chinese companies originating from China. 

No dummy, unlike you I am concerned with the facts as they are. I do not invent them or pretend I know what I do not know. Why don't you point to any statement by anyone with respect to to these companies what affirms your last statement that everyone knows that fact.

If they did then they are a bunch of idiots like you are  to be allowing the Chinese government to own most of the land in Guyana without voicing an objection. Imagine our prized hardwoods being siphoned away and all you stupid bastards were sitting on your hands.

Thanks to Glen Lall he did not drink the Chinese Cool Aid and began to highlight this criminal predation on our natural resources because small minded men in the PPP and knee bending supporters let it happen.

People don't go around restating the obvious just for the convenience of the uninformed like yourself. 

The PPP like the PNC have no choice but to court the Chinese as they are the only show in town. Look around the world and note Chinese influence in 3rd world countries where 1st world nations from the West used to be the desired investors.  In a sense you are being racist towards the Chinese as the Europeans and American were pretty much the same, predators. 

People don't go around restating the obvious just for the convenience of the uninformed like yourself. 

The PPP like the PNC have no choice but to court the Chinese as they are the only show in town. Look around the world and note Chinese influence in 3rd world countries where 1st world nations from the West used to be the desired investors.  In a sense you are being racist towards the Chinese as the Europeans and American were pretty much the same, predators. 

Druggie, you are as the man said, a small minded, knee bending, Chinese kisser, who would love to see them rape the land as though it belongs to them. Because the Europeans and Americans (as you put it) were predators the Guyanese people should put up with the same from the Chinese?

You people argue for no dam reason.

OK, lets assume you are smart and knew the Chinese companies were state owned. Why in the world would you let the PPP give so much of our land away to the totalitarian communist state of China? Note those leases are for one quarter of a century with options to extend.

The Amerindian minister, for example,  went as representative of amerindian peoples ( minus a lawyer to represent them) and facilitated the give away of away prime area to be a wharf and holding area for logs for 2 dollars a year per acre year for 25 years to  Banshanlin in February last year. Since when should such a con job would be allowed and no citizen protest knowing this was with the state of China? Where were you?

I protested, I protested Barama and the sambling group and also Banshanlin and its offshoots; where were you?

The west has courts we can access, can you access Chinese courts? You  are a royal jackass.

Druggie, you are as the man said, a small minded, knee bending, Chinese kisser, who would love to see them rape the land as though it belongs to them. Because the Europeans and Americans (as you put it) were predators the Guyanese people should put up with the same from the Chinese?

The only lease we ever made with the US government was Atkinson base and that was the doing of the colonial powers. No foriegn government owns long term leases to our natural resources or land. The PPP give all of our forest lands away to foreign governments who can remain there in perpetuity. Note the can change their leases from lumber to mining to farming to building communities....we are so royally f.ucked by the PPP I would fight tooth and nail never to see those crooks in office again. And if this present regime does not jail some of them I will shout them down also.  Another third party will rise if the AFC let Harmon and his crew sell us out to the chinese no less than the PPP did

I never stated any support for Chinese raping Guyana. I merely stated a fact, all the "foreign investors" are pretty much interested in the same thing,  exploiting the natural resources until it is no longer profitable, remember Canadian company Omai and now Guyana gold fields?  The PPP made a logical choice that many 3rd world nations have also done, take the Chinese "investment"  as they are the nouveau riche. And the PNC have followed suit. 

Guyana needs investors.  Could you please find the "non-predator" investors to fill the vacuum of the "predators"?  Ok, there are the Indians, but you hate them too!!

OK, lets assume you are smart and knew the Chinese companies were state owned. Why in the world would you let the PPP give so much of our land away to the totalitarian communist state of China? Note those leases are for one quarter of a century with options to extend.

The Amerindian minister, for example,  went as representative of amerindian peoples ( minus a lawyer to represent them) and facilitated the give away of away prime area to be a wharf and holding area for logs for 2 dollars a year per acre year for 25 years to  Banshanlin in February last year. Since when should such a con job would be allowed and no citizen protest knowing this was with the state of China? Where were you?

I protested, I protested Barama and the sambling group and also Banshanlin and its offshoots; where were you?

The west has courts we can access, can you access Chinese courts? You  are a royal jackass.

I don't have any influence over the PPP so I didn't "let" them do anything. Leases for 25years in Guyana is not uncommon when dealing with investors who are prepared to sink million of US dollars into the economy. A level of long term assurance is required before investments can be lured. You can't court an investor with 5 year lease.  

As for Chinese investments, I always was cautious about it, however I don't believe the PPP had a choice as no others in the West were interested. 

ba$eman posted

Guyana needs investors.  Could you please find the "non-predator" investors to fill the vacuum of the "predators"?  Ok, there are the Indians, but you hate them too!!

(Following Stormy's post to Druggie)

OK, lets assume you are smart, where did I ever say I hate Indians?

Side note: If India were to invest in Guyana and brought in their people to do the work as done by the Chinese, well yes I'd also be against them.

ba$eman posted

Side note: If India were to invest in Guyana and brought in their people to do the work as done by the Chinese, well yes I'd also be against them.

Ditto Cain,

I have read everyone views none, have touched on how much employment have been created,also how much revenue have been collected.

As things stand, Bai Shan Lin has signed contracts and permits issued by the PPP regime. Bai Shan Lin has been breaching some terms of those documents. While the coalition cannot scrap those contracts and permits without suffering legal and political repercussions, nothing is stopping Natural Resources Minister Raphael Trotman and/or President Granger from reading the Riot Act on BSL to comply with the letter and spirit of those documents. And the Guyana government should strictly monitor BSL operations at ground level. Evidently, there was hardly any official monitoring in the past, or officialdom was just turning a blind eye to BSL's improprieties.

The good thing Gilly is that the PPP lost and the new Government has the willingness, determination and ability to make sure that BSL comply with the letter and spirit of those agreements. Especially since nothing is stopping them from reading BSL the riot act. Harmon looks like the one perfectly in place to execute this on behalf of the Government,

Aaaahhhhhh yesssss!!!

This idea that we cannot break a contract is for the dogs. If the can break the provisions we can kick them out. I know one African nation give them  a few days notice to get the hell out. I have to check which one it is. Since then they are making more money on their forests by preserving it. Most africans are re evaluating their relationship with the Chinese because they are being eaten out of  food house and clothe. The Chinese are perfect predators and consume every thing that they can lay their hands on.

ba$eman posted

Side note: If India were to invest in Guyana and brought in their people to do the work as done by the Chinese, well yes I'd also be against them.

Ditto Cain,

I have read everyone views none, have touched on how much employment have been created,also how much revenue have been collected.

If a thief pays you to help him remove your belonging from your home you are not gaining much.

This idea that we cannot break a contract is for the dogs. If the can break the provisions we can kick them out. I know one African nation give them  a few days notice to get the hell out. I have to check which one it is. Since then they are making more money on their forests by preserving it. Most africans are re evaluating their relationship with the Chinese because they are being eaten out of  food house and clothe. The Chinese are perfect predators and consume every thing that they can lay their hands on.

Points taken. Thanks.

Aaaahhhhhh yesssss!!!

Yuh Prapa stupid!!!  Laad Ah Mercy . Kaz, please explain to the brother cause I dont teach DUMMIES!!!

ba$eman posted

Side note: If India were to invest in Guyana and brought in their people to do the work as done by the Chinese, well yes I'd also be against them.

Good, as I said, alyuh go find the "good" altruistic investors.  Listen banna, no investor will go and bring in labor if you have a readily available skilled, disciplined and dedicated workforce.  This is an issue in Guyana.  The GoG could also add a tariff on any imported labor giving investors an incentive to train and hire local.  That's how it works, not trying to bamboozle investors!  The PNC has no option, mouth don't count!!

ba$eman posted:
ba$eman posted

Good, as I said, alyuh go find the "good" altruistic investors.  Listen banna, no investor will go and bring in labor if you have a readily available skilled, disciplined and dedicated workforce.  This is an issue in Guyana.  The GoG could also add a tariff on any imported labor giving investors an incentive to train and hire local.  That's how it works, not trying to bamboozle investors!  The PNC has no option, mouth don't count!!

PPP could have done that also but instead stood quiet while the Chinese brought in their own as the Guyanese laborers were left high and dry.