I will be protesting at the opening of the Marriott Hotel

Posted By Staff Writer On April 13, 2015 In Letters |

Dear Editor,

On April 11, 2015 I received by hand delivery, a ‘Personal Invite’ from Mr. Winston Brassington (on behalf of Atlantic Hotel Inc.) to a ‘Grand Opening Reception’ to celebrate the opening of the Guyana Marriott Hotel Georgetown! I hope Mr. Brassington will forgive me responding via this medium but I feel it is necessary to do so in the public interest and it is to advise him that I have to decline his invite.

I intend, however, to be present at this activity but on the outside! I will have a placard in hand to greet Donald Ramotar (whose presence the invitation signals) and other invitees. I will do so as I share the view expressed by my colleague Joe Harmon who described this structure as an ‘edifice of contempt (for the Guyanese people)’ as well that of Mr. Christopher Ram who suggested that while ‘financial treason’ might not yet be a crime, if it were, government officials who are responsible for this lawless undertaking, should be tried for it.

Sydney Allicock of Surama and former APNU MP in the 10th Parliament often says that ‘doing wrong is so common, that doing the right thing seems wrong.’ More of us should be guided by his caution. If so, the lawlessness and recklessness perpetrated by the Ramotar administration and advocated by many of his Ministers and HPS Dr. Roger Luncheon would be seen by more, as wrong.

Yours faithfully,

Ronald Bulkan

The Marriott is built and ready for business. Y waste valuable time to protest. 

It is going to serve the nation. Maybe, it was intended for devious ends, but it will be for good of the patrons of business activities.

The bad and the ugly are going to jail for their unlawful ways. They going to Hotel Mazaruni.

Keep protesting. 

HEHEHE  Leh deh man experience REAL DEMOCRACY.

this hotel was build with real democracy,who is the owner

It is going to serve the nation. Maybe, it was intended for devious ends, but it will be for good of the patrons of business activities.

The bad and the ugly are going to jail for their unlawful ways. They going to Hotel Mazaruni.

look, no one wants to tear down the hotel . . . it's the ownership, arite!?

you actually think that it is "serv[ing] the nation" for taxpayers to pay for this and then hand ownership over to brassington, he family dem, and barat & Co for a song?

you may feel fine bending over for that kind of "service" and all . . . honest, non-moron Guyanese, thank gawd, doan feel that way

in China, this kind of crime used to carry a capital charge with yuh family paying for the bullet

you actually think that it is "serv[ing] the nation" for taxpayers to pay for this and then hand ownership over to brassington, he family dem, and barat & Co for a song?

you may feel fine bending over for that kind of "service" and all . . . honest, non-moron Guyanese, thank gawd, doan feel that way

in China, this kind of crime used to carry a capital charge with yuh family paying for the bullet

Oh! no bro. There will court battles over the ownership. No bady goan tek Guyanese money. Many opposition lawyers are going to line up for that case.   

The Chinese have executed a few officials and CEOs of companies only recently for this kind of corrupt practices .That they let it happen here is reason for us to be weary. Noticed they blocked their own people from traveling to Hong Kong to buy quality goods. The rush there was overwhelming given what the produce for local consumption is crap. I guess that is what they ship to us and is what will ruin local own businesses. I suggest that our people begin to emphasize Quality of product and service to compete.

Moses would call this another $50 million US goadie we have to carry.

The Coalition will have to revisit all the arrangements and make sure the Chinee man does not get control by putting in only US$8M of the $50Million.

This is now national "goadie" property.

I will be protesting at the opening of the Marriott Hotel

Posted By Staff Writer On April 13, 2015 In Letters |

Dear Editor,

On April 11, 2015 I received by hand delivery, a ‘Personal Invite’ from Mr. Winston Brassington (on behalf of Atlantic Hotel Inc.) to a ‘Grand Opening Reception’ to celebrate the opening of the Guyana Marriott Hotel Georgetown! I hope Mr. Brassington will forgive me responding via this medium but I feel it is necessary to do so in the public interest and it is to advise him that I have to decline his invite.

I intend, however, to be present at this activity but on the outside! I will have a placard in hand to greet Donald Ramotar (whose presence the invitation signals) and other invitees. I will do so as I share the view expressed by my colleague Joe Harmon who described this structure as an ‘edifice of contempt (for the Guyanese people)’ as well that of Mr. Christopher Ram who suggested that while ‘financial treason’ might not yet be a crime, if it were, government officials who are responsible for this lawless undertaking, should be tried for it.

Sydney Allicock of Surama and former APNU MP in the 10th Parliament often says that ‘doing wrong is so common, that doing the right thing seems wrong.’ More of us should be guided by his caution. If so, the lawlessness and recklessness perpetrated by the Ramotar administration and advocated by many of his Ministers and HPS Dr. Roger Luncheon would be seen by more, as wrong.

Yours faithfully,

Ronald Bulkan

Yall can protest all you want, but that wouldn't make PNC win election. If a cow shit on the roadway, yall can protest, but that's all cow shit when all is said and done.

At least the govt will know that we do not agree with all the secret deals and secret investors getting majority control with a minority investment.

How do they have the gall to say taxpayers money was not involved and they have used Guyana funds to build it?