IAC Secretary Yvette Rambarack handing over the donation to Mrs. Farida Prasad yesterday [Delano Williams photo)

IAC extends monetary assistance to Sophia families affected by elections related violence

FOLLOWING the establishment of a hotline (223-5161) to receive complaints and concerns from persons affected by 2015 post-elections incidents of violence, the Indian Arrival Committee (IAC) yesterday handed over tangible contributions to two Sophia families that suffered tremendously.At a simple handing over ceremony at the IAC Office on Quamina Street, Georgetown, representatives from the families, Mrs Farida Prasad and Mrs Pooladai Khublall, received financial contributions and expressed their thanks to the organisation.

Mrs. Poonadai Khublall collecting her donation from IAC member, Safiya Gafoor yesterday

During the ceremony, they expressed the pains and suffering they endured during that period as well as significant losses which have severely affected their everyday lives.

Both Mrs. Prasad and Mrs. Khublall have informed the IAC that they are unsure of living in their current homes in the future and are contemplating relocating for the sake of peace, security and avoidance of such incidents which now seems routine with elections. They pointed out that the relocation would be costly, hence making it even more challenging on them.

According to the IAC, “many incidents of intimidation and humiliation have been received since the hotline was established”.

The IAC said it is in the process of compiling a comprehensive report for submission to both local and international authorities.

Executive members of the IAC, Raymond Azeez and Aditya Persaud noted that since the IAC’s formation in 2003, they have been targeting persons and communities that are in dire need of assistance. They stated that even though the committee is a non-commercial body, they would still lend support to persons in whatever little way they could.

“The IAC is not here to just promote culture, but also to render assistance to persons in need across Guyana,” said Persaud.
Adding to that, Azeez noted that the recent ‘Hamara Guyana Concerts’ have proven successful although it was a free event. He disclosed that all three events were well-attended and has nonetheless boosted the IAC’s finances, which will enable them to render assistance to persons in need.

THE VICTIMS
Speaking with the Guyana Chronicle in tears, Prasad expressed her appreciation to the IAC for their support and was thankful that they assisted her family in such a time of need. She reflected on the incident when her home was looted on the evening of elections day during the fiery unrest.

“They broke down my fence during the fire and broke down my windows and doors. Everything they took, even the mattress. The police were unable to control them,” said Prasad in tears.

Prasad also recalled that during past elections persons would threaten her and the family, adding that she is deeply hurt over the situation and believed that better could have been done.

Meanwhile, Mrs. Khublall also expressed similar sentiments to that of Prasad’s. She boldly said her family was not involved in any illegal work during polling day 2015. Like Prasad, Khublall also reflected on the incident and stated with tears in her eyes that she is deeply saddened by the behaviour of the residents in Sophia.

Finally, both the Prasad and Khublall families are urging the public and private sectors to help in restoring their homes in whatever way they could.

The IAC is a non-profit organisation that operates under a mandate to preserve and promote Indian Cultural activities, traditions and heritage while at the same time deal with social issues that affects Indo-Guyanese and to an extent, Guyanese of all ethnic and religious background. (Shivanie Sugrim)

that they are unsure of living in their current homes in the future and are contemplating relocating for the sake of peace, security and avoidance of such incidents which now seems routine with elections.

It's like burn dem coolie houses. We nah want dem hey. 1962 and 1964 all over again.

This is the kind of intimidation factor that makes the Indians afraid of embracing any party other than the PPP. Granger must insist the security forces find these people and prosecute them. He has to stamp out hooliganism or all this talk of inclusivity and broad based government is useless. I am going to stick my neck out and say that this was perpetuated on these people because they were simply Indian, and most likely PPP supporters. Nothing has changed since I was a young boy in the streets of Georgetown.

So far no one is arrested and charged while these people continues to suffer.

No one will be arrested.

ahmmm . . . see my instructions (previous) to your fellow antiman

"THE VICTIMS

Speaking with the Guyana Chronicle in tears, Prasad expressed her appreciation to the IAC for their support and was thankful that they assisted her family in such a time of need. She reflected on the incident when her home was looted on the evening of elections day during the fiery unrest.

“They broke down my fence during the fire and broke down my windows and doors. Everything they took, even the mattress. The police were unable to control them,” said Prasad in tears."

artfully constructed sentences to give the impression that these people's homes were burnt down . . . they were NOT! thank gawd

as i indicated elsewhere to the GNI liard crew, those who trespassed and robbed these people were arrested and face justice in the courts as we speak

"racial hooligans" huh? i understand bloody Joe Hamilton suffered the most "property damage" at Sophia . . . i guess IAC nah gat any money fuh he

alyuh need to come better

THE VICTIMS

“They broke down my fence during the fire and broke down my windows and doors. Everything they took, even the mattress. The police were unable to control them,” said Prasad in tears.

artfully constructed sentences to give the impression that these people's homes were burnt down . . . they were NOT! thank gawd

as i indicated elsewhere to the GNI liard crew, those who trespassed and robbed these people were arrested and face justice in the courts as we speak

alyuh need to come better

Beggars would come in all forms...

Granger has been true to his word. The Chronicle now gives equal access to one and all with their news report. This piece would not have seen the pages of the Chronicle under the PPP if it had been a couple of black families.

Mr. T, I hope T doesn't stand for truth, because you are not telling the truth. This is not party news. The Chronicle like most publications have an editorial bias; ever read the Kaieteur News?

Sure you want to demonize the PPP; nothing new there as that happens all over the world when one party wants to destroy the other. Ever read American news?

The test of this presidency is yet to come. I hope for the sake of the Guyanese people, that the current administration can do abetter job that the two recent ones. The people deserve a "break". But the government must not get a free pass. They should be held accountable, especially by their supporters.

Originally Posted by Mr.T:

Granger has been true to his word. The Chronicle now gives equal access to one and all with their news report. This piece would not have seen the pages of the Chronicle under the PPP if it had been a couple of black families.

You are a racial bastard..  

The IAC is a political entity set up by the PPP, with a political agenda. The presentation was staged for the press as a good photo opportunity.

More racism from you....

Originally Posted by Franky:

This is the kind of intimidation factor that makes the Indians afraid of embracing any party other than the PPP.

And how has embracing the PPP helped them?

This is the kind of intimidation factor that makes the Indians afraid of embracing any party other than the PPP.

That is a good question, because even though the PPP was in office, like a repeat of history, it did not have control over the security of the nation.

That is so much nonsense.  Henry Greene was a Jagdeo soupy, as was Gary Best, though the latter saw the writing on the wall, and has since fled.

You are a racial bastard..  

And what exactly is racist about it? Are you implying that you got more rights to call yourself Indian than me? 

sooo . . . just who exactly was "[in] control over the security of the nation" when the police gunned down the Linden protestors at the bridge?

Does anyone know what the Kaieteur news and its analysts are saying about this Sophia incident. It appears to me that they are conspicuously quite. Am I missing something from the "beacon of free speech and democracy"

I read the story in both newspapers when it happened

sooo . . . just who exactly was "[in] control over the security of the nation" when the police gunned down the Linden protestors at the bridge?

Here is the PPPs problem.  Its narrative is that of Janet Jagan who never grew up beyond 1964.  Given that British Guiana was a colony she didnt have full control over governance.

Scroll forward to 2014 and the PPP is still whining that they cannot control the police and the GDF, even though they appopinted their loyal soup drinkers.

Of course now that the PPP bowl is empty the soupies have long ago fled.

The PPP should have known that their time  was up when Gary Best and Gouvieia left them.

These Indian victims used to feed these hooligans and treat them like good neighbors until they turn on them. No one from the PNC extended their hands to help the victim, but the Indians themselves came forward to the rescue.

I notice how some PNC loyalist who are Indian are victimizing the victims all over again. No one should ever protected the hooligans and go against the victims. Karma will meet you one day.

These Indian victims used to feed these hooligans and treat them like good neighbors until they turn on them. No one from the PNC extended their hands to help the victim, but the Indians themselves came forward to the rescue.

I notice how some PNC loyalist who are Indian are victimizing the victims all over again. No one should ever protected the hooligans and go against the victims. Karma will meet you one day.

Given that the whole incident was triggered by games being played by the PPP hooligan how come the PPP is not also supposed to assist.  All day the PPP was busy trying to create mayhem to force the cancelation of the election, when they saw how heavy the Gtwn turn out was.

During the PPP time, KNews front page will have ever kind of murder, rape and everything that deemed bad. Today, I am surprise that Guyana get so good that there is nothing bad to mention. Common sense will tells you what's happening.

But I understand that one of their analysts/columnists was on the scene of the fire etc. I am surprised that a daily journal that is dogged in its investigations etc. has not commented further.

This is the kind of intimidation factor that makes the Indians afraid of embracing any party other than the PPP. Granger must insist the security forces find these people and prosecute them. He has to stamp out hooliganism or all this talk of inclusivity and broad based government is useless. I am going to stick my neck out and say that this was perpetuated on these people because they were simply Indian, and most likely PPP supporters. Nothing has changed since I was a young boy in the streets of Georgetown.

Yes it scares the hell out of the rural Indos. The educated ones can see the bi-directional causality between the race-baiting position between PPP leadership and the aggressive disposition of some Afros against some Indos. These incidences do have a multiplier impact on negative perceptions. It seems like the IAC will not provide the kind of intellectual leadership the Indos need right now, but will project the imagery of victims that the PPP could find appealing in 2020.

Originally Posted by TK:
, but will project the imagery of victims that the PPP could find appealing in 2020.

PPP already did this and it didnt work.  Unless Indos stop migrating, the vote will be even smaller by 2020.

Originally Posted by TK:

Yes it scares the hell out of the rural Indos. The educated ones can see the bi-directional causality between the race-baiting position between PPP leadership and the aggressive disposition of some Afros against some Indos. These incidences do have a multiplier impact on negative perceptions. It seems like the IAC will not provide the kind of intellectual leadership the Indos need right now, but will project the imagery of victims that the PPP could find appealing in 2020.

could you explain to me how one's right to a basic desire for personal and property safety is a race baiting position. Labelling it as race baiting appears to me to be a attempt to stifle expression of a real and legitimate fear. Exactly what kind of intellectual leadership would you suggest the IAC make. Tell these people that the attacks of them are justification for all the wrongs perpetrated against the attackers. The PPP does not have to use this in any future election campaign; it is evident without the advent of the PPP. In fact I would hope the current administration view this as a very serious problem and aggressively go after these kinds of perpetrators. Furthermore, I think the coalition, if it does survive to contest a future election, would be the beneficiary if in fact they take this seriously and do something about. This is not a "made up" thing; it is very real, so don't intellectualize it away. It is an insult to that woman and people like her who have faced similar attacks.

Originally Posted by TK:

could you explain to me how one's right to a basic desire for personal and property safety is a race baiting position. Labelling it as race baiting appears to me to be a attempt to stifle expression of a real and legitimate fear. Exactly what kind of intellectual leadership would you suggest the IAC make. Tell these people that the attacks of them are justification for all the wrongs perpetrated against the attackers. The PPP does not have to use this in any future election campaign; it is evident without the advent of the PPP. In fact I would hope the current administration view this as a very serious problem and aggressively go after these kinds of perpetrators. Furthermore, I think the coalition, if it does survive to contest a future election, would be the beneficiary if in fact they take this seriously and do something about. This is not a "made up" thing; it is very real, so don't intellectualize it away. It is an insult to that woman and people like her who have faced similar attacks.

The PPP's campaign was race baiting plain and straight. Soldiers kicking your doors down, comments on Arrival Day, They will share out guns, etc. All adverse stereotypes that many Afros and Mixed people interpret as negative. Granger is taking the opposite approach right now. Even Brazzy and Raj have wuk in the Granger admin. I hope they will resign, however.

Lets Build Vanessa a Home

Be the first to like this campaign

This Vanessa the head of her household and solely bread winners and is in great need of a secure home.
Her shelter is very unhealthy and not safe for her children.
She is 29 yrs old living on minimum income since the father of her kids died.
Lets build this family a home for Christmas since she already has a piece of land.

IAC Secretary Yvette Rambarack handing over the donation to Mrs. Farida Prasad yesterday [Delano Williams photo)

IAC extends monetary assistance to Sophia families affected by elections related violence

FOLLOWING the establishment of a hotline (223-5161) to receive complaints and concerns from persons affected by 2015 post-elections incidents of violence, the Indian Arrival Committee (IAC) yesterday handed over tangible contributions to two Sophia families that suffered tremendously.At a simple handing over ceremony at the IAC Office on Quamina Street, Georgetown, representatives from the families, Mrs Farida Prasad and Mrs Pooladai Khublall, received financial contributions and expressed their thanks to the organisation.

During the ceremony, they expressed the pains and suffering they endured during that period as well as significant losses which have severely affected their everyday lives.

Both Mrs. Prasad and Mrs. Khublall have informed the IAC that they are unsure of living in their current homes in the future and are contemplating relocating for the sake of peace, security and avoidance of such incidents which now seems routine with elections. They pointed out that the relocation would be costly, hence making it even more challenging on them.

According to the IAC, “many incidents of intimidation and humiliation have been received since the hotline was established”.

The IAC said it is in the process of compiling a comprehensive report for submission to both local and international authorities.

Executive members of the IAC, Raymond Azeez and Aditya Persaud noted that since the IAC’s formation in 2003, they have been targeting persons and communities that are in dire need of assistance. They stated that even though the committee is a non-commercial body, they would still lend support to persons in whatever little way they could.

“The IAC is not here to just promote culture, but also to render assistance to persons in need across Guyana,” said Persaud.
Adding to that, Azeez noted that the recent ‘Hamara Guyana Concerts’ have proven successful although it was a free event. He disclosed that all three events were well-attended and has nonetheless boosted the IAC’s finances, which will enable them to render assistance to persons in need.

THE VICTIMS

Prasad also recalled that during past elections persons would threaten her and the family, adding that she is deeply hurt over the situation and believed that better could have been done.

Meanwhile, Mrs. Khublall also expressed similar sentiments to that of Prasad’s. She boldly said her family was not involved in any illegal work during polling day 2015. Like Prasad, Khublall also reflected on the incident and stated with tears in her eyes that she is deeply saddened by the behaviour of the residents in Sophia.

Finally, both the Prasad and Khublall families are urging the public and private sectors to help in restoring their homes in whatever way they could.

The IAC is a non-profit organisation that operates under a mandate to preserve and promote Indian Cultural activities, traditions and heritage while at the same time deal with social issues that affects Indo-Guyanese and to an extent, Guyanese of all ethnic and religious background. (Shivanie Sugrim)

My heart goes out to this family.    Great to see they are getting help.

Who & where is Vanessa from? I would donate regardless.

Lets Build Vanessa a Home

Be the first to like this campaign

This Vanessa the head of her household and solely bread winners and is in great need of a secure home.
Her shelter is very unhealthy and not safe for her children.
She is 29 yrs old living on minimum income since the father of her kids died.
Lets build this family a home for Christmas since she already has a piece of land.