Teixeira, Chandrapal back PPP/C Irfaan Ali presidential candidacy

Top People’s Progressive Party/Civic (PPP/C) executive members Gail Teixeira and Indra Chandrapal have come out in full support of Irfaan Ali as their party’s presidential candidate.

“Irfaan Ali won a democratic process and will receive the full support of his comrades,” said Chandrapal.

On Monday night, she described Frank Anthony, who pulled out of the race last week Saturday because he realised that he could not have won, as “the epitome of decency, integrity and commitment. Never change those values. It is who you are”. However, responding to media reports, Chandrapal charged that her words were used to suggest that she condemned Ali who defeated Anil Nandlall 24-11 among the 35-member Central Committee.

Teixeira, who shared the platform with Ali and PPP General Secretary Bharrat Jagdeo at a public meeting at Leonora, West Coast Demerara on Sunday, urged her Party colleagues to focus on teamwork to win the next General Elections. “That contest is over, let us focus now on winning. l am ready to work for the PPP/C victory on or before March 19, 2019. Are you ready?,” she said.

Teixeira expressed deep confidence in Ali, saying “he will do his utmost to not only win the elections, but also to be the President who will reverse the grievous damage and hardships that the APNU-AFC Coalition government has wrecked on the lives of our people and on the nation itself.”

She said Ali “cannot do this alone; he will be surrounded and supported by the entire leadership and membership of the party, supporters and sympathizers”.

“I, for one, will be one of those leaders who will support and assist him and work in the PPP to the best of my ability to ensure that the PPP/C wins with a significant majority,” Teixeira added.

Teixeira, a Canadian citizen, said she withdrew her candidacy and voted for Ali because she realised she could not have won. “Through a democratic process the PPP Central Committee elected its Presidential Candidate and President-in-waiting. I am proud to have participated in this process,” she said.

In a congratulatory message, the PPP’s Women’s Progressive Organisation (WPO) unequivocally supported Ali. “The Women’s Progressive Organisation endorses Irfaan Ali’s election as Presidential Candidate and pledges its support to ensuring that the PPP/C is returned to office to address issues affecting women, children, the elderly, youths and the fired sugar workers and to make Guyana a country that is once again free from discrimination and victimization,” the WPO said.

The WPO said Ali would be the kind of president who will serve all the people of Guyana and will continue to develop Guyana as his predecessors of the former PPP/C Government.

Jagdeo has acknowledged that all along he had supported Ali, his “friend”, because he is competent, experienced and hardworking at the level of the party, government and among the grassroots.

For his part, Ali has committed to teamwork in delivering the PPP’s promises such as the creation of jobs, investments and social sector development.

Checks with a number of senior party functionaries have revealed that while many are dissatisfied, they would in the end consolidate their support behind Ali whose academic qualifications and integrity have been called into question.

Concerns also linger about whether Ali could secure vitally needed crossover votes from other race groups

Jackass, how does the president of the US know if he will have enough votes to pass his border wall spending. Lots of ground work goes on behind the scenes to test the water before  bringing a motion to the floor.

They went to see Ms. Cleo before going in to vote.

Your Uncle???

You said you got a degree from a recognized institution? They owe you change. You can sue them for malpractice.

Jackass, how does the president of the US know if he will have enough votes to pass his border wall spending. Lots of ground work goes on behind the scenes to test the water before  bringing a motion to the floor.

Knucklehead....you miss de big picture...

Let me break it down for you:   Jagdeo manipulations, dual citizenship

You really think dem knuckleheads in the CC dat sophisticated? Why you think these candidates pull out at the last minute?? 

Buffoon,  the votes aren't secret so people will publicly disclose how they will vote.  We see that they weren't in the PPP either.

If the ballot was SECRET, how did these CANDIDATES knew they will not WIN

Top People’s Progressive Party/Civic (PPP/C) executive members Gail Teixeira and Indra Chandrapal have come out in full support of Irfaan Ali as their party’s presidential candidate.

“Irfaan Ali won a democratic process and will receive the full support of his comrades,” said Chandrapal.

[[Quote]]

[[Unquote]]

Think, think, think and perhaps in about 200 years you may understand.

Voting in the U.S Congress is not secret. Voting for the PPP presidential candidate is billed as "secret" when in reality it's not. The puppet was handpicked by Jagdeo and the voting manipulated to determine the outcome. Candidates were forced to withdraw so that the chosen one could be "elected", oops I mean selected. Democratic Centralism aka 1920's Commie system still in use.

Anthony was strong, why did he pull out?

The candidates get a feeling not only from the CC but their support at large.  Irfaan has locked up Essequibo, Leonora and other areas.  My understanding, from Guyana, he has a base of support!

Voting in the U.S Congress is not secret. Voting for the PPP presidential candidate is billed as "secret" when in reality it's not. The puppet was handpicked by Jagdeo and the voting manipulated to determine the outcome. Candidates were forced to withdraw so that the chosen one could be "elected", oops I mean selected. Democratic Centralism aka 1920's Commie system still in use.

Mars, it was done in secret. Only the candidates were tampered with. Guyana for you.

Knucklehead....you miss de big picture...

Let me break it down for you:   Jagdeo manipulations, dual citizenship

You really think dem knuckleheads in the CC dat sophisticated? Why you think these candidates pull out at the last minute?? 

Druggie is so silly that he doesnt even know that he just admitted that Jagdeo knew exactly how each person planned to vote and therefore knew that their vote was secret.

So Frank Anthony, who would have been a tough person to run against, given that he doesnt have baggage and so might have even won some cross over votes, was scared to run.  Not for him but for those who planned to support him who would have then been exposed to Jagdeo's wrath.

Jagdeo stated upfront who his preferred candidates were, and to the surprise of no one, these were the only ones allowed to run.

[[Quote]]

[[Unquote]]

Thinking about this process does not help me or drughead, or YOU understand clearly how, presumably, 4 popular candidates, perhaps better qualified, and long-serving members...knew they would loose the vote (at least this is what they say publicly now).

...lets not play with semantics or split hairs...  

You are assuming that they took a poll (but secret means that people will not necessarily reveal their hand in this poker game). You are also assuming that all members voted freely with their conscience, without fear...Surely, the controversy also surrounding Irfaan would have probably influenced more members to have a "negative" view of Irfaan.

Your logic, however, does not, more importantly, take into consideration the immense influence BJ would have exercised among those members...history shows us there is a historical pattern regarding CC members and how they vote. 

The candidates get a feeling not only from the CC but their support at large.  Irfaan has locked up Essequibo, Leonora and other areas.  My understanding, from Guyana, he has a base of support!

All conjectures, based on hearsays...

...Anthony may be a dual citizen.

Jagdeo may have told him to stay out.

He pulled out because two piece of silver is worth more than the well being of the whole country of Guyana.   

Mars, it was done in secret. Only the candidates were tampered with. Guyana for you.

Knucklehead...now you startin to mek some sense...since you took dat bukta off your head....

I am glad that you found it and washed before sending it back to me. Me smart, me get wan MD.

Irfaan is either landed immigrant or citizen of Canada.

Why would the PPP take that risk?

Why do you care if you don't know?

Tell im why nuhman?

[[Quote]]

[[Unquote]]

Thinking about this process does not help me or drughead, or YOU understand clearly how, presumably, 4 popular candidates, perhaps better qualified, and long-serving members...knew they would loose the vote (at least this is what they say publicly now).

You are assuming that they took a poll (but secret means that people will not necessarily reveal their hand in this poker game). You are also assuming that all members voted freely with their conscience, without fear...Surely, the controversy also surrounding Irfaan would have probably influenced more members to have a "negative" view of Irfaan.

Your logic, however, does not, more importantly, take into consideration the immense influence BJ would have exercised among those members...history shows us there is a historical pattern regarding CC members and how they vote. 

Show exactly the statements of my assuming and logic.

Your long-winded statement amounts to, at best, absolute nonsense.

Tell im why nuhman?

Easy Cain....I am not a retired old geysey, puffin away on a reefa, sitting here 24/7, trying to get me 15 minutes (thats for Princess)...

I need to know for the same reason you and others here...I still have family in Guyana, some who do business on a regular basis.....they never stop talking about Guyana.

HEHEHEbHow he got into College??

Busy with HW bro...I am not like DrugHead and Skeleton-Man....I got in because I finish my High School Diploma....

....some people like Arfaan got a MA before a BA....I do it the legitimate way...

[[Quote]]

[[Unquote]]

Ok, Mr.  WisenHima:

I know you are good at cutting and pasting legal stuff from the Constitution ...and posting large imogis...and shadowing Nehru, your guru... 

Lets not engage in subterfuge...or "she says, therefore let it rest"

This thread started with a simple question...go read it again...

Your response was to quote one of the CC members as if this explains away the question....because she says the process was "democratic"...

the question was about why the 4 candidates withdraw...and how was it possible for them to be so sure that they did not have the vote if it was a secret ballot

....yes we know the PPP want to tell us this process was democratic...but there are other intervening variables here that tells us that there might be other forces at play here....Jagdeo's interference, dual citizenship....etc. Historically, this has been the case, so we cant simply wish them away as we try to make sense of this selection...

If this is too complicated for you, the cold must be getting to you in Canada.

Samjay??? 

Buffoon,  the votes aren't secret so people will publicly disclose how they will vote.  We see that they weren't in the PPP either.

You of all idiots should be one level above VishM intellectually. Have you ever watched survivor, they go around lobbying for votes and get a sense of how they stand. Nothing in the rules prohibiting this age old practice. It is called lobbying and in fact if you had half a brain you would know that there are lobbyists in Washington doing the same every day. 

This makes no sense....so why have a secret ballot?

Ask the PPP leadership, they make the rules. There is no rule that says that a candidate is not allowed to poll his constituents before deciding whether to run. It happens right here in the US.  Politicians will put out their feelers to make a decision as to whether it is worthwhile running based on feedback from polls, townhalls and other such mechanisms.  Why then it is not reasonable to expect the candidates in Guyana to do the same of the 33 persons who would decide their destiny?

[[Quote]]

[[Unquote]]

Ok, Mr.  WisenHima:

I know you are good at cutting and pasting legal stuff from the Constitution ...and posting large imogis...and shadowing Nehru, your guru... 

Your response was to quote one of the CC members as if this explains away the question....because she says the process was "democratic"...

the question was about why the 4 candidates withdraw...and how was it possible for them to be so sure that they did not have the vote if it was a secret ballot

....yes we know the PPP want to tell us this process was democratic...but there are other intervening variables here that tells us that there might be other forces at play here....Jagdeo's interference, dual citizenship....etc. Historically, this has been the case, so we cant simply wish them away as we try to make sense of this selection...

Samjay??? 

Your continued spouting of nonsense and irrelevance to the main issues.

Take the time to understand the nature of secret ballot and how the results are then made available in the media, among other locations.

Your personal choice to progress with your usual long-winded nonsense coupled with unrelated issues and wild statements.

Granger disclosed to Jagdeo that Anthony was the only candidate who the Coalition is scared of.

Now imagine the PPP candidate being a man not known for corruption.  That would have been a tough play book for the Coalition to run.

But now that its Irfaan, as corrupt and as arrogant as any. And dumb and stupid on top of it......yes his fake degree carrying Guyanese corruption to an extreme level.

er.

Druggie my favorite idiot.  Thank you for revealing that the vote couldn't be  secret and therefore Jagdeo was perfectly capable of intimidating people to vote his way. And to get those who he didn't want to pull themselves out of the race.

YOU said that the vote wasn't secret.  That being my point since Jagdeo bellowed about a "secret" vote.

[[Quote]]

[[Unquote]]

Ok, Mr.  WisenHima:

Samjay??? 

Take the time to understand the nature of secret ballot and how the results are then made available in the media, among other locations.

Your personal choice to progress with your usual long-winded nonsense coupled with unrelated issues and wild statements.

banna,

go play with your marbles...start with them two little ones you already have.

you people cant think for yourselves....you are deeply embedded in the groupthink mentality.

banna,

go play with your marbles...start with them two little ones you already have.

you people cant think for yourselves....you are deeply embedded in the groupthink mentality.

You are exulted with playing with your marbles and unaware that others do not indulge with your activities.

Yes this is like the older animals on the PPP Animal Farm.  Knows better but blind loyalty to the leadership prevents him from exercising any critical thinking.

er.

Druggie my favorite idiot.  Thank you for revealing that the vote couldn't be  secret and therefore Jagdeo was perfectly capable of intimidating people to vote his way. And to get those who he didn't want to pull themselves out of the race.

YOU said that the vote wasn't secret.  That being my point since Jagdeo bellowed about a "secret" vote.

Secret at the time of the vote. It is quite normal for candidates to survey the electorate in order to get a sense of how they would perform in reality. This gives them information to decide whether to stay in the race or not. Don't play stupid, This is quite normal internationally.