WPA wants Buxton Road blocked; Top Cop dares leaders to be on the frontlinePDF | Print |
Written by Denis Scott Chabrol   
Friday, 17 August 2012 16:11
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
david_hindstabroek
David Hinds

Even as the Working Peoples Alliance (WPA) is calling on Buxtonians to block the East Coast Demerara Public Road on Saturday in solidarity with Lindeners, Police Commissioner Leroy Brummel is daring leaders to be on the frontline.

WPA Executive Member, David Hinds Thursday night reiterated previous calls for villagers to occupy the road from Saturday morning around 7 O’clock. He also suggested that the thoroughfare be dug up as has been done in the past.

“One thing the Lindeners learn from us is how to barricade roads, how to dig up roads. I don’t have to teach you all in Buxton how to do that,” he told a public meeting on Buxton Railway Embankment.

“These roads belong to us and if this road belongs to us we decide who pass and who don’t pass,” he added.

WPA activists have been calling on residents to block the East Coast Demerara and East Bank Demerara main roads to join Linden in observing the one-month shooting death of three protesters and injuring of 20 others during clashes with police on July 18.

Other activists have been urging city and coastland residents to pay GUY$1,000 return for bus transportation to Linden where there is expected to be a huge demonstration and rally.

However, the WPA has dismissed such a plan, saying the time has come for the tension to be felt in other parts of the country and so persons should stay on the coast and engage in protest action. “Buxton people stop train. On Saturday, stop car,” he said, adding that the time has come for “drastic” action.

Among his party’s grievances that he said should be addressed “by any means necessary” including peaceful and non-peaceful means” are bad governance, corruption, extra judicial killings and racial discrimination.

But Police Commissioner, Leroy Brummel, appealing for “good sense” to prevail, said activists like Hinds are timid and refuse to take risks like protesters.

“It’s aching that some of these persons are scared. They are just going forward, riling up the people and they who are riling it up are not there. If you are a leader, stand up with the people. They are just going, riling up and they gone,” Brummel told reporters.

“These fellows are just hiding themselves and covering their skin and sending them to blows,” he added.

Though numerous members of the police force deployed to Linden to quell the one- month old unrest there, the Police Commissioner assured that the police and the Guyana Defence Force still have enough manpower to deal with unrest in Buxton. “We are in a Joint Services mode,” he said.

Hinds also advised attendees at the public meeting to be on the look out for members of the police intelligence special branch unit and “deal with them.”

The long-time political activist said his party’s activism is aimed at the removal of the Donald Ramotar administration by year-end. While the WPA is a part of the opposition coalition A Partnership for National Unity (APNU), Hinds said confidence among grassroots people is lacking.

The Linden protesters were killed and others shot and injured during a protest on the Mackenzie-Wismar bridge against a hike in electricity rates due to the reduction in a government subsidy by GUY$1 billion.

Government has since agreed to suspend the rate hike that should have taken effect from July 1, pending the outcome of an extensive review of the electricity sector in Linden.

The review would be done by a seven-member committee that has been agreed to between the Central Government and Regional 10 Administration.

These roads belong to us and if this road belongs to us we decide who pass and who don’t pass,” he added.

Among his party’s grievances that he said should be addressed “by any means necessary” including peaceful and non-peaceful means” are bad governance, corruption, extra judicial killings and racial discrimination.

These people are arrogant and the attitude of bullyism is always just below the surface.  The road for the entire ECD passes infront Buxton and that gives them no right of ownership.

The other comment is a veiled threat to the the Govt supporters no different than what we say leading up to the Lusignan/Bartica massacres.

The Govt should harden it's stance and treat any moves hinted by this individual a threat to stability are security.  Ramotar may need to take a few leaves out of Jagdeo's book.  The GoG does have the means and options to maintain/restore the rule of law.

The other comment is a veiled threat to the the Govt supporters no different than what we say leading up to the Lusignan/Bartica massacres . . .

still picking frantically @ the race scab I seeee . . . forcing every reality into your nasty little bigot box must now be quite a chore.

Y'all still smarting from the fact that Linden didn't degenerate into the 'hoped for' assaults on East Indian life & property, eh?

PPP had to settle for talking points about a torched school . . . which the people of Linden certainly DIDN'T burn!

Buxton and Linden still living in the PNC era where the big bullies played wrang and strang.  WPA now calling for unrest after AFC Benschop called for violence. There is only one way to beat a bully...show him you more bad.

Originally Posted by TI:

Buxton and Linden still living in the PNC era where the big bullies played wrang and strang.  WPA now calling for unrest after AFC Benschop called for violence. There is only one way to beat a bully...show him you more bad.

give it a rest . . . fake tough guy

One thing the Lindeners learn from us is how to barricade roads, how to dig up roads. I don’t have to teach you all in Buxton how to do that,” he told a public meeting on Buxton Railway Embankment.

“These roads belong to us and if this road belongs to us we decide who pass and who don’t pass,” he added

THIS ******* ACTUALLY TEACHING AT A UNIVERSIRT?? THE GOVT MUST SEND THIS TO THE UNIVERSITY.

AND YES BRUMMEL IS RIGHT, DONT SEND POOR BUXTONIANS TO THE FRONT, COME JACKASS HINDS AND MAYBE YOU WILL BE ABLE TO SAVE LINDEN IN HELL!!!

The other comment is a veiled threat to the the Govt supporters no different than what we say leading up to the Lusignan/Bartica massacres . . .

still picking frantically @ the race scab I seeee . . . forcing every reality into your nasty little bigot box must now be quite a chore.

Y'all still smarting from the fact that Linden didn't degenerate into the 'hoped for' assaults on East Indian life & property, eh?

PPP had to settle for talking points about a torched school . . . which the people of Linden certainly DIDN'T burn!

rEDUX, aRE YOU REALLY THAT MUCH A jackass, ass licker, dunce AND illiterate????????????

I HAVE DEALT WITH *****S FROM GAUMONT TO WHITE COCONUT TREE TO BALERINA TO SUGAR DADDY AND GOLD FINGER BUT I NEVER MET A MORE WHORING PERSON THAT REDUX. THIS BANNA PROBABLY SOLD EVERYTHING ALREADY!!!

Originally Posted by Sheik101:

These roads belong to us and if this road belongs to us we decide who pass and who don’t pass,” he added

Really!!

sHEIK, wHY ARE YOU BLOODY SURPRISE.?? THESE ARE THE KIND OF DOGS RAMOTAR HAS TO DEAL WITH.

What Mr. Hinds is doing according to what I've read is issuing a call that would more than likely lead to more confrontations and subsequently more violence. And they are some people who are dumb enough and stupid enough to heed such a call. This 'drastic measures' thing should not be taken lightly.
It is my belief that someone or persons are hell bent on starting a race war which will no doubt be disastrous for the country as a whole.

What Mr. Hinds is doing according to what I've read is issuing a call that would more than likely lead to more confrontations and subsequently more violence. And they are some people who are dumb enough and stupid enough to heed such a call. This 'drastic measures' thing should not be taken lightly.
It is my belief that someone or persons are hell bent on starting a race war which will no doubt be disastrous for the country as a whole.

There is a DUMB ASS born everyday. Hiow you think this worls ended up with gr, moses, ramjhaaaaatan, caribj, warrior, redux and others!!!!

Originally Posted by TI:

For too long ppl are incited by foolish politicians to get killed. Guyana started off on the wrong(confrontations) foot as early as the Jagans landed there. And every day we have to live with those wanton behavior. They set a bad example and Ramjattan qualifies their behaviour.

The Commissioner is correct. If u plan to rile up ppl, stand infront of dem and tek some licks/bullets."

rEDUX, aRE YOU REALLY THAT MUCH A jackass, ass licker, dunce AND illiterate????????????

I posted 3 paragraphs (65 words) . . . you couldn't muster even a limp rebuttal . . .

embarrassing yourself . . . running from DAYLIGHT, squealing like a pig 

I posted 3 paragraphs (65 words) . . . you couldn't muster even a limp rebuttal . . .

THE ANSWER IS A BIG YES, YOU ARE ALL OF THAT AND MORE!!!

you ppp crime family is a bunch of jokers,all around the world people protest against bad goverance,what happen in the middle east and the free world support the protestors,the ppp come into power with endless protest.killing police officers and burning canefield and buildings.so fools how long the goverment is running the country without respecting the people of guyana you can expect protest

THE ANSWER IS A BIG YES, YOU ARE ALL OF THAT AND MORE!!!

your 'opinion' of me is well known on GNI . . . yaaawn

talk bout the 3 paragraphs naa

you ppp crime family is a bunch of jokers,all around the world people protest against bad goverance,what happen in the middle east and the free world support the protestors,the ppp come into power with endless protest.killing police officers and burning canefield and buildings.so fools how long the goverment is running the country without respecting the people of guyana you can expect protest

The PPP came to power by free and fair elections ending a quasi-apartheid era.  Like it or not, they have been validated at the polls 5 times.

'Majority rule' is NOT a licence to rob and brutalize a people.

However, this constipated idea of democracy would make you an outstanding member of the central committee @ Freedom House.

You and the PPP would turn Guyana into Zimbabwe

Redux, what have you to say regarding Mr. Hinds and his statements in the article above.

He recommends the tactics of Linden be transported to the East Coast . . . and I disagree with him!

These roads belong to us and if this road belongs to us we decide who pass and who don’t pass,” he added.

These people are arrogant and the attitude of bullyism is always just below the surface.  The road for the entire ECD passes infront Buxton and that gives them no right of ownership.

The other comment is a veiled threat to the the Govt supporters no different than what we say leading up to the Lusignan/Bartica massacres.

The Govt should harden it's stance and treat any moves hinted by this individual a threat to stability are security.  Ramotar may need to take a few leaves out of Jagdeo's book.  The GoG does have the means and options to maintain/restore the rule of law.

The extremeist branwash feeble mindset you wallst around with...yuh don't need to go to Buxton to get bullied...a blackman halla pun yuh coolie rass right here yuh shit yuh pants....

Redux, what have you to say regarding Mr. Hinds and his statements in the article above.

He recommends the tactics of Linden to be transported to the East Coast . . . and I disagree with him!

Thank you, Sir. That's all needed to know.

He recommends the tactics of Linden to be transported to the East Coast . . . and I disagree with him!

Thank you, Sir. That's all needed to know.

sHEIK, iT IS EASY FOR HIM TO CLAIM SO, bUT DOES HE REALLY INTERESTED IN WHAT HE STATED. HENCE, KING OF SNAKEOIL. REMEMBER THIS BASTARD IS CONCERN ONLY WITH "ME" "ME" "ME" AND WILL DO ANYTHING TO ACHIEVE HIS GOAL, AND I MEAN ANYTHING!!!

Originally Posted by sachin_05:

The extremeist branwash feeble mindset you wallst around with...yuh don't need to go to Buxton to get bullied...a blackman halla pun yuh coolie rass right here yuh shit yuh pants....

Don't flatter yourself, no one scared of anyone, black or other wise.  However, back in the days in Guyana you get in a conflict with a black, all his friends swarm down then the police swarm down on the his side.  It was never an issue of being afraid, was the herd/gang mentality one needed to be aware of.

Very correct baseman, caribj and his ilk depend on gang rather than individual. Take away the gang and they turn to puddytat.  They know how to behave themselves in the US, they would think twice before attacking us since the gang is not behind them.