Imam Bacchus and Sons Ltd…Pressing forward since the 1950s

Jul 28, 2017 News, http://www.kaieteurnewsonline....ard-since-the-1950s/

Over the years Imam Bacchus and Sons Ltd has developed quite a reputation on the Essequibo Coast. Today, word of the rapid growth of the business has spread extensively beyond the Essequibo River, ever so popular for its famous Wakapau Cafe.

What simply started out as a rice milling operation has today evolved to a marvelous company, comprising of six other diversified operations. The business was initially established by the late Mr. Imam Bacchus. Today its operations are managed by his sons, Samad and Adam Baksh, along with their wives and children.

Anyone familiar with the Bacchus family would do well to agree that their accomplishments were built on solid foundations. Others may need to gaze deeper into the history and foundation of this well-developed partnership. The history of the business reveals that its foundation was well rooted in the will of one man… the late Mr. Imam Bacchus.

Imam Bacchus as a young man in the 1930s, worked feverishly with his three brothers as coconut pickers and farmers on the small island of Hamburg (Tiger Island) in the Essequibo River.

Over time their business developed. In 1950, however, Imam Bacchus took his share and split from his brothers. He used his share of the partnership to buy three villages on the Essequibo Coast– Columbia, Taymouth Manor and Affiance.

His son, Samad Baksh, recalls his father being a man of principles. “My father was a man who interacted with most people; he was religious, conservative and had liberal view on life. He wasn’t the type of person that would scold you in order make his point or demonstrate his authority.

“He would set out his principles and give you a chance to make right your mistakes. I can recall, while I was yet in school the family sat down for dinner. The chatter halted and to break the ice my brother said, ‘Papa, Samad does drink rum yuh know.’

“My father looked at me shockingly and asked, ‘Is that so?’ I said yes. My father didn’t scold me; he just said ‘I’m ashamed of you.’ Those words had an impact on me and a lasting effect on my life.”

Despite being a man with multiple jobs, Mr. Bacchus still found time for his family. “Dad was the hardest working man I ever knew,” said Samad. “He had three jobs. During the seasons of rice preparation he had a pair of oxed to work in the cool of the early morning, at least until 8 to 9 in the morning because then the animals would get tired.

“He’ll then pick coconuts in the afternoon, then head off to the Masjid. At nights he did tailoring.”

Samad believes that one reason why his father’s goals were accelerated was because he wasn’t a wild party type. Rather, he was a man that saw his dreams and perused them.

The business started out as a simple milling operation in the early 1950s. The mill which was built since the 1920s in Affiance, was inherited by Mr. Bacchus when he bought that plot of land. The mill at the time was a simple hauler that ground and operated without a separator for broken rice. Sifting and drying were done using buckets and other methods.

The mill eventually got hold of a fan, then later a ‘broken’ separator. In the early 1960s the company bought a multi stage mill then a diesel dryer in 1969. With the dryer newly installed the mill then went from processing 10,000 bags to 50,000 bags per crop. This eventually supported most of the local farmers economically.

In 1994, a newer and more modern mill was finally commissioned. The mill was considered the “backbone of the company,” especially since it contributed to the establishment of the smaller businesses.

In the 1970s the business not just milled rice, rather they leaped into the cultivation of the “valuable grain”. Today the business also manages a noodle factory, poultry, a school and two supermarkets (one recently opened in Anna Regina). Smaller services such as Western Union and fast food, are also provided at the main operational premises in Affiance.

As is the case with all investments, complications are imminent. One such complication may be that the load of investment is just too heavy to carry.

The heaviest investment made by Mr. Bacchus was the purchase of the three villages on the Essequibo Coast– Taymouth Manor, Affiance and Columbia.

After the investment was made, Mr. Bacchus then feared that he might not have been able to service the loan. “He was convinced that he had overextended,” said his son Samad Baksh.

To cope with the financial constrains he sold the investments in plots of land to persons renting the land. The result? Not only was Mr. Bacchus able to repay his loan, but he also managed to make a profit from selling the plots of lands to the locals.

By 1969 the business had already employed 35 persons on its workforce.

By 1974 the chowmein factory and chicken farm came on stream, thus employing more people. Today, Imam Bacchus and Sons Ltd employs over 200 people. This vast array of manpower spans from Anna Regina to Queenstown.

Quite interestingly the workforce consists of young people and early school leavers. Imam Baksh explained why his workforce was designed that way. He said, “It has to do with the economics on the Essequibo Coast and the migration system.

“It’s efficient to hire young people than older people because they adapt easier. Usually on the Coast we get a ‘split.’ Twenty to30 years ago people expected to live on the Coast and work, but today there’s migration to Georgetown and to New York.

“Early school leavers would use like two years with us, then they leave for UG or Business schools. Some people on the other may just have a bond with the Essequibo Coast. These stay with the business and eventually become supervisors and managers.”

During political unrest of 1963 came civil disturbance in Georgetown, Guyana. The country’s political unrest resulted in day to day strikes. As a result it became difficult for residents to move freely. Transportation froze between Essequibo and Georgetown, making it difficult for residents to receive essential supplies such as rice, flour and sugar.

By then Mr. Bacchus had developed the reputation as a man of integrity.

He asked to bring the essentials from Georgetown closer to residents. The people were confident that Mr. Bacchus would distribute the stocks evenly, and at the right price. In 1964 Mr. Bacchus decided he could explore food distribution. As such he established a store in the same year.

Today the business gives back community through its Playground and Park, made readily available to the public.

Dat is how you do it NOT Pick Pocket and take bribes!!  Congrats to the entire Bacchus Family and I hope many in Guyana who believe in a Welfare State and Pick Pocket can take note how it is done!!!

Imam Bacchus and Sons Ltd…Pressing forward since the 1950s

Jul 28, 2017 News, http://www.kaieteurnewsonline....ard-since-the-1950s/

Imam Bacchus

That family has come a far way and have done really well for themselves. Sam and Adam had moved to Minnesota for a while. My father and an older brother were good friends. My sister was born in Essequibo and "Yankee" the older brother bought a sheep and tied it under the house. I have a lot of good memories of that family. They truly deserve all their success and all they have accomplished.