In face of General Elections… CGX investor-confidence bolstered by robust petroleum legislation … takes social responsibility outreach programme to schools

In face of General Elections… CGX investor-confidence bolstered by robust petroleum legislation …takes social responsibility outreach programme to schools
Professor Suresh Narine in the company of yesterday’s awardees

DESPITE the uncertainty that comes with General and Regional Elections in Guyana, Professor Suresh Narine, Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of CGX Energy Inc., has expressed confidence in robust legislative framework within which the petroleum exploration industry operates locally.

Professor Suresh Narine [left) presents one of the top performers at the Covent Garden Secondary School, Felicia Bassant, with a prize

Professor Suresh Narine (left) presents one of the top performers at the Covent Garden Secondary School, Felicia Bassant, with a prize

This being the case, CGX, the multi-national company engaged in petroleum exploration here, is not overly concerned about the potential tension in the political atmosphere.

Professor Narine made the disclosure on Saturday while giving an update of the operations of the entity to members of the media, following CGX’s now annual Social Responsibility Outreach Programme.

Yesterday’s event was hosted at the Providence Primary School on the East Bank of Demerara.

Speaking to the operations of the company in light of the looming elections, Professor Narine, when questioned by this publication, responded by expressing his confidence in the rule of law and said that this is applied across the board as is evident in the continued operations of other exploration companies operating within the local borders.

Savouring a scrumptious snack

ROBUST PETROLEUM LAWS
Dr Narine used the opportunity to point out that while CGX as a corporate citizen would stay out of politics, the company would keep a keen eye on the political scene, given that it would fall under its risk portfolio.

According to Professor Narine, a recent spat with one of its previous partners Repsol, which eventually lead to court action, has caused to be illustrated in a most pellucid manner the fact that the rule of law prevailed.

“We were able to rely on the courts; we were able to rely on a basin that respects rights that are based on codified rules…Guyana’s Petroleum Laws are very clear, there are very few ambiguities about Guyana’s Petroleum laws,” said Professor Narine.

He said too that one of the critical areas that CGX has been particularly happy over when operating in Guyana is the fact that “we don’t feel that political change, if there is to be at some point in the future political change here, we do not feel that that threatens the legal framework of operating here.”

Professor Narine was quick to also point out that this was not just the position of CGX but rather a vote of confidence of operating in Guyana was also expressed by Repsol, Exxon and Anadarko among a wide variety of well-respected large oil and gas companies, “who wouldn’t be here if they felt there was risk.”

Deeds Registrar, AzeenaBaksh

He explained that one of the things that companies in the extractive sector, such as oil and gas companies “must and should always respect is the sovereignty of the jurisdiction within which they operate…we as a company will always respect the Government of the day, will always respect the rule of law.”

CORPORATE SOCIAL RESPONSIBILITY
According to Professor Narine, CGX is a company that goes beyond just satisfying the requirement of the laws of Guyana, but rather look to form social ties with communities as was evident in yesterday’s exercise when the company rewarded a number of top performing students from the Providence Primary School and the Covent Garden Secondary School.

Professor Narine was adamant, “we stay out of the political realm because we don’t belong there.”

Drawing an international perspective to operating in an environment where there is no confidence in the rule of law being supreme, Professor Narine, while not singling out any country, pointed out that there are a number of jurisdictions across the world where investors will not venture to operate, unlike in Guyana.

“We clearly feel that Guyana’s politics belong to Guyanese and our role is to respect law and order and government and our social contracts that we have with people.”

EDUCATION CRITICAL
On the matter of its social responsibilities, CGX yesterday presented nine students from Providence Primary School and the Covent Garden Secondary School with Samsung Tablets, a tool meant to assist in their pursuit of a sound education.

The students were all chosen to receive the prizes as a result of their outstanding performances during their recent periodic examinations.

“We believe that you are clearly the future of the country…without you making that effort, this country, your country will not move forward,” Professor Narine said in a passionate plea for the students to continue to excel and pursue higher education.

It was explained that CGX, in the execution of its social responsibility has decided to move away from the high- end soirees and rather focus its attention on community-based outreaches.

The Providence Primary School was chosen as the location for this year’s event, in view of the fact that Professor Narine is a member of the school’s Alumni.

He was joined by Director of Conservation International (CI), Dr David Singh, himself a member of the school’s Alumni; AzeenaBaksh, the nation’s youngest Deeds Registrar and Registrar of Companies and Labour Minister, Dr Nanda Gopaul, among other special invitees.

It was explained that the guests at yesterday’s event were chosen to point out to the parents, students and community members the calibre of students that would have emanated from that school, as well as what is potentially possible with a sound education.

Professor Narine, after reminiscing with parents, teachers and students alike on his days attending school there, pointed to Dr Singh and said that for a student of that school to make it that far in terms of a career, serves as an example of what the current crop of students could also achieve.

Dr Singh holds a doctorate in chemistry and has served as director of both Iwokrama, a world- renowned project meant to lead the way on eco-system research as well as climate- related issues.

He also serves as director of Conservation International.

GUYANESE REPRESENTATIVE
Another of the special invitees was Tarachandra Khellawan, whom Professor Narine explained was the CGX country representative.

Worthy of note, according to Professor Narine, is the fact that of all the oil and gas companies operating in Guyana, Khellawan is the only Guyanese,which bears testimony to the fact of what a solid education can facilitate.

The Registrar of Companies, Baksh, used her opportunity to address the students, parents and teachers present to encourage them to ensure that a full education is pursued.

She encouraged especially the parents present to ensure that their children not halt the learning process at the end of secondary school, but that they should also be allowed to pursue tertiary and post- tertiary education.

GOVERNMENT’S INTERVENTIONS
Meanwhile, Labour Minister, Dr. Gopaul, who was also on hand for the simple yet humbling handing- over ceremony used the opportunity to thank CGX for their input and spoke to the number of Government interventions over the years to ensure access to a quality education by all Guyanese students.

He spoke to the evolution of the education system in Guyana, adding that back in his days in school writing 10 subjects at CXC was an achievement, much less the 18 and 20 subjects being not just written but excelled at currently by Guyanese students.

Dr. Gopaul reminded of the recent successes whereby Guyanese students copped four of the six top regional awards.

Education, he emphasised, is important and to this end Government has in the past two decades invested heavily in the sector.

He spoke too of programmes meant to assist vulnerable students to ensure that they receive a quality education.

The Labour Minister singled out the schools uniform, feeding, transportation, free books distribution as well as the “Because We Care” campaign whereby $10,000 was provided for each student in public school.

He also pointed to the One Laptop Per Family (OLPF) programme, which will be complemented with the completion of the Government’s fibre optic cable, a project he insisted will be realised shortly.

Professor Narine also presented the Headmistress of the Providence Primary School, Grace Felix, with a cheque for US$16,000 (G$3.2M).

This, he said, will be used for the construction of a facility meant to house a canteen and areas for vendors hawking their trade at the school.

The teachers were appreciative of the presentations by CGX and expressed confidence in continued support in the coming years.

Under CGX’s Social Responsibility Outreach Programme, some US$48,000 (G$9.6M) was spent last year on a number of similar initiatives and according to Professor Narine, CGX intends to increase that amount this year. -- (By Gary Eleazar)

complete bullshit and fraff.......PR Stunt at best.

Like you ah live in Guyana?

fool is this company producing oil,but they sharing out money now ask yourself where they getting this money from are you a shareholder in this company i hope they rob you blind  

You bai, prappa sthupid. Dam phull, nah gat am no sense!

me from skeldon 

Dem Skeldon people gun run you rass back to GT.

me from skeldon 

na they tired chasing your thieving  family 

me from skeldon 

Dhall gutney at work. Somebady drap wan good karate chap pun you head and kill you brain cells.

me from skeldon 

Dhall gutney at work. Somebady drap wan good karate chap pun you head and kill you brain cells.

rohee can lend you that water cannon to blow the shit from your brain 

me from skeldon 

Nah, Rohee want you, wan mama dankey. De man tink you ah wan good breeding mare.

me from skeldon 

Nah, Rohee want you, wan mama dankey. De man tink you ah wan good breeding mare.

freedum house breed donkey,all u collie bai come from dey 

me from skeldon 

freedum house breed donkey,all u collie bai come from dey 

Waheva you seh Guinea man.