Finance Minister says opposition in ‘mad rush’ to put up smokescreens
- “We must not let them stymie development”

Written by Priya Nauth    Monday, 30 April 2012 23:18 

GOVERNMENT continues to vehemently condemn the unjustified cuts made to the 2012 national budget by the combined opposition of A Partnership for National Unity (APNU) and the Alliance For Change (AFC).
Finance Minister Dr. Ashni Singh reiterated his concerns regarding almost $21B cuts  in crucial areas of development by the opposition.

Finance Minister Dr. Ashni Singh speaking at Leonora last evening.

Yesterday, at a press conference at the Finance Ministry in Georgetown, Dr Singh said the combined opposition parliamentary parties had demolished the 2012 national budget by cutting significant programmes, including more than $18B in projects under the country’s Low Carbon Development Strategy (LCDS), which has received widespread national support and international acclaim; and slashed the allocations to agencies such as the Customs Anti-Narcotics Unit (CANU), the Ethnic Relations Commission (ERC), State Planning Secretariat, National Communications Network (NCN), the Government Information Agency (GINA) and the Guyana Elections Commission (GECOM), putting scores of persons on the breadline.
Minister Singh said he is pleased that substantial parts of the national budget were passed intact, without any adjustment, and that those programmes can now proceed unimpeded.

‘Those cuts, having been made, you now have a mad rush by the opposition to somehow put up smokescreens to mask the vulgarity of the actions that they took in parliament. You have all manner of spurious and ridiculous explanations being offered. You have all manner of ridiculous justifications being attempted, but none of these explanations they have made can withstand the test of scrutiny.’ – Dr. Ashni Singh

“But you also have almost $21B worth of cuts imposed by this APNU and AFC conspiracy in areas which, to put it mildly, could not possibly be justified as worthy or eligible of any cuts in the budget,” Dr. Singh said.

“Those cuts, having been made, you now have a mad rush by the opposition to somehow put up smokescreens to mask the vulgarity of the actions that they took in parliament. You have all manner of spurious and ridiculous explanations being offered. You have all manner of ridiculous justifications being attempted, but none of these explanations they have made can withstand the test of scrutiny,” he stated.

“What you had, and what we were treated to, was a naked and vulgar display of political power being wielded by an opposition that is clearly not interested in national development; and has no difficulty frustrating national development, or sacrificing national development at the altar of their  own political ambitions,” the Finance Minister asserted.

The people of Guyana are understandably outraged, and rightly so, he said, noting that the cuts are to programmes which would benefit the people of this country “in one way or another”,  alluding to the LCDS,  as well as the cutting of the subsidy to GPL by $1B, and also reducing certain agencies’ allocations to $1.

A section of the gathering at last evening’s ‘Budget Forum’ at Leonora, West Coast Demerara. (Adrian Narine photos)

Noting that there is an explanation that government can always come back to the National Assembly with a supplementary budget, the Finance Minister declared: “The opposition (parties) conduct does not inspire any measure of confidence that they will conduct themselves in a rational manner were we to return to the parliament with a request for supplementary funding.”

In this regard, the Finance Minister pointed to the  behaviour of APNU and the AFC in relation to Financial Papers Numbers 7 and 8, concluding that: “To say that we may come back with a supplementary is an absurdity.”

Touching on the LCDS, Minister Singh reminded that this is a nationally endorsed strategy, and  parliament had unanimously approved a motion endorsing the LCDS in December 2009.

“What is the opposition saying to the international community?” the Finance Minister questioned, as he pointed out that those parties’ actions speak volumes.

“Here you have two political parties, who clearly have no difficulty derailing national development in pursuit of the cause of their own political aims, wielding the tyrannical scissors using the slender majority of one…and to apply that tyrannical scissors to the budget and cut projects that are in the interest of the people of Guyana. (It is) the height of parliamentary irresponsibility, in my opinion,” Minister Singh maintained.
Minister Singh also addressed residents of Leonora, West Coast Demerara, later last evening, on the implications of the reckless actions of the combined opposition in cutting crucial projects in the national budget, and how it can affect the development of the country.

He assured that government will not allow APNU and the AFC to frustrate development in the country, pointing out that there has been significant progress made over the years.

Dr. Singh said government needed to be alert and to ensure that the people of Guyana understand the implications of what is taking place; and the people needed to be able to speak in an informed manner about the issues currently taking place in the country. “We must not let them stymie development,” Minister Singh cautioned.
Minister of Housing and Water, Irfaan Ali, at whose Leonora office the forum took place, also expressed his concerns with the move by the opposition.

“I think young people especially are hurt about this situation, with scores of employees on the breadline,” he told the gathering.

http://www.guyanachronicleonli...p-story&Itemid=8

Dem PPP bais ah put up "human shields" natt smoke screen.  Dem prefer fuh shoo aff dem peeple wah lose dem jab but a hide dem 6 PPP consultants wah mekking $110 mio fees behind dem poo wukkas.

PPP knoo exackly wah di issue bu dem ah put up dem smoke screen.

Originally Posted by Sledgehammer:

Dem PPP bais ah put up "human shields" natt smoke screen.  Dem prefer fuh shoo aff dem peeple wah lose dem jab but a hide dem 6 PPP consultants wah mekking $110 mio fees behind dem poo wukkas.

PPP knoo exackly wah di issue bu dem ah put up dem smoke screen.

it is a over  120 not 6 that are  making a killing. Let the PPP release their salaries. We will as soon as we get the inside corroboration 

GOD BLESS THE P-PP. THE ONLY GOVT THAT HAS THE INTEREST OF THE GUYANESE PEOPLE AND NOT THEIR SWISS BANK ACCOUNT. THE ONLY PARTY THAT CAN GUARANTEE NO MORE RICE FLOUR, KICK DOWN DOOR, LONG LINE FOR ILE, WATA, GASOLINE, GARLIC, BUTTER , EGGS, CHICKEN, GRAPES, ICE APPLE, SUGAR, RICE, FLOUR. CAN YOU IMAGINE LIFE WITHOUT THESE BASICS AGAIN?? HELL NO WE WONT. HELL NO WE WONT. HELL NO WE WONT!!!!!!!!

Ice apple and grapes ah yuh basics?  Bai kik donk door still deh hay bu diss time nuff coolies invalve.

Originally Posted by martin Carter:

AShni is right, these traitors want to see people punish. These cosmeticians in America cant prevent poor people from suffering. Out with AFC/APNU. 

Who the are you power drunk freaks that you think that on your own you believe yourselves to be empowered to  define the the criteria for patriotism and on that account  elevate yourselves as the archetypes? 

You are not only out of your damn minds but are apparently are infected with the same disease  afflicting the PPP. Guyana is not your country. It is not your grand father's inheritance. It is a plural society with sharply defined competing goals and accommodations are to be made for the convenience of all.

Originally Posted by martin Carter:

AShni is right, these traitors want to see people punish. These cosmeticians in America cant prevent poor people from suffering. Out with AFC/APNU. 

Wah, aaassk Ashni fuh gi up some dem "Other" lines in dem ministry budget and dah cud pay all dem wukas.  But mi muss admit, e' nah enuff fuh pay dem nuff PPP $6 million contracktas.

If I were Ramotaur, I would fire Ashni.

Shoo alyuh up deh out ah touch wid tings donk hay.  BJ ah call di shatts.  BJ mek shure Ramotar baxed-in by he bais, Ashni, Persaud, Rohee an all dem bais BJ put in position.  If e' nah goa lang dem goa tek he out qik qik.

If I were Ramotaur, I would fire Ashni.

He has more baggage than Ashni. He has himself to begin with. He is philosophically sterile hence absence of creativity hence inevitably to engage in colloquy reminiscent of a bygone era.

We are on a daily diet of  supposed " working class" this or that  as though this is a term pregnant with potential and not the old stilted Marxist terminology of class analysis  that is out of kilter with our clanging reality. 

Ask yourselves, who the hell are the non working class or the plutocrats? The clearest you can get to that is the cabal the PPP who see themselves as the new noblesse oblige.

Originally Posted by D2:

We are on a daily diet of  supposed " working class" this or that  as though this is a term pregnant with potential and not the old stilted Marxist terminology of class analysis  that is out of kilter with our clanging reality. 

You surely have a hole in your head. Do you think these people are speaking in terms of the now dead Marxists dogma when the speak of working class? It has acquired the character of a euphemism in its current usage solely intending convey compassion for an oppressed class on the presumption that the other side f the political street intend them wrong.    Do you think demanding prudence of a gouging political leech class is "anti working class"?

These parasites has no need for explanations with respect to their fiscal responsibility so the co opt a phrase to negate that demand.

It is like  you larouche pac conspiracy freaks when speaking to some subculture of British elite existing from time immemorial projecting  influence in every aspect of social and political life on the planet.You do not say who are these people but you simply blame all the planets ills on them. As it is you have many ills so this nebulous group never gets defined and any individual who for what ever take a contrary view is immediately classified as belonging to this group directly or in some tangential way. It is a neat trick but still a trick with intent to forgo a necessity to explain oneself.

He has more baggage than Ashni. He has himself to begin with.

..........................................................................................................

I am sure he has confidence in the Finance Minister and that supports his reasoning for not accepting the proposed budget cuts.  'A leader is as good as the people he surrounds himself with'.

Originally Posted by alena06:

He has more baggage than Ashni. He has himself to begin with.

..........................................................................................................

I am sure he has confidence in the Finance Minister and that supports his reasoning for not accepting the proposed budget cuts.  'A leader is as good as the people he surrounds himself with'.

An ah who yu tink ah di leeda donk hay.  Tek wan guess, and is natt Ramotar.

Originally Posted by Henry:
Originally Posted by D2:

OH Henry's reality:

There is no working class anymore, his new reality is the Jagdeow class. 

That picture speaks a thousand words and I'm sure that's the best pic. Everyone there looks like OK we know that's a lie. They don't look like they even interested and that's because they know that whatever he's talking about won't improve their daily lives. And I agree. Is the free bottle of soft drinks and polourie mek dem still there.