New Delhi: Nearly half of India defecates in the open but at the same time more than 63 per cent have access to either a landline or a mobile phone.

And, even more interestingly nearly half (47.2 per cent) of India also have a television set at home.

Television also emerged as the key mode communication for India registering a 16 per cent growth over the last similar Census of 2001.

These, rather startling figures, were revealed today at Household Amenities Census 2011. In contrast, however, 58 per cent households have bathing facility within the premises

Expressing concern over the number of people without access to sanitation, Census Commissioner Dr C Chandramouli said that "this stark lack of access to sanitation could also be because of cultural reasons. A lot of work needs to be done on this (sanitation) front."  The lack of sanitation in India is also single most worrying factor according to Dr Chandramouli.

The Household Amenities Census 2011 also busted another belief; that of internet connectivity and penetration and number of computers in India. Only 3 per cent of both rural and urban India have computers with Internet facility. And, about 6 per cent have computers but no Internet facility.

And, the bad news doesn't end here. Only 67 per cent of India use electricity whereas still 43.2 per cent still depend on kerosene. Far worse, despite all the efforts to promote non- conventional energy, solar energy provides power to only 0.4 per cent of Indian households.

But all is not gloom and doom, key indicators. Over 80 per cent of Indians spread over rural and urban India live in their own homes. And the use of semi- permanent material like grass, bamboo has dropped significantly.

Nearly half (47 per cent)  of Indian households have access to drinking water within the premises in contrast to about only 39 per cent in 2001. But at same time, number of  households who have to fetch water from a distance from their home hasn't shown much of a drop.

http://www.ndtv.com/article/in...nities-census-185623

Originally Posted by Lucas:

Flushing toilets were invented by the Greeks over 3,000 years ago but they haven't reached India yet.

Amazing mentality.

YUh think the Ambani's are by the railway Track taking a Crap?? Oh scratch, you really believe so.

I wouldn't be surprised if they had a private track made of golden rails in their backyard. After all they are Indians.

Originally Posted by ABIDHA:

I am appalled by my ancestor's tradition of taking a shit in public places. It couldn't be worse to be picture perfect in a squatting posture and a bottle of water in hand.

Look at how they are treating Bharat Maata. It's normal to see women and men sitting near each other shitting, even though they are strangers.

Originally Posted by TI:

Flushing toilets were invented by the Greeks over 3,000 years ago but they haven't reached India yet.

Amazing mentality.

I dont agree. The Indus Valley civilization had running water and a sewer system.

I'd bet the Hindus were white aliens.

How could millions of people forget how to make toilets? Why the west has that technological continuity?

Historic British mansion has 48 rooms but no toilet

Apethorpe Hall, an idyllic British manor with an astounding 48 rooms, has hit the market for what is considered a "bargain" price of 2.5 million pounds (about $3,882,500). There's just one catch: The place doesn't have a bathroom.

The Daily Mail reports that the house was originally built between 1470 and 1480 by Sir Guy Wolston, then sold to Sir Walter Mildmay. It reportedly stayed in his family for 350 years. 

Amazing mentality.

I was involved in a toilet initiative in a village in India and we built 97 in one village.  Indian have a way of taking short-cut to everything and shitting on the roadside and bushes are one.  However, several obstacles arose with the toilet initiative, one the availability of ample water supply to flush.  There are lots of central village wells and not very conducive to one hit by a "tight shit".  You shit yourself just pumping the water.

I then proposed pit latrines like we have in Guyana but this was not permitted.  The problem here is infanticide.  Many unwanted babies "buried" in latrine pits.

So, the toilets allowed must have a closed septic and the toilet itself have a large enough hole for the "shit" to flow but small enough to prevent a baby being shoved into it.

The "shit" situation is a product of water resource, bad habit and plain over population.  There is just not enough "shitteries" in India to handle the morning call of "shit" from so many at the same time so the men let the women have the toilet while they and their kids shit in the corner bushes.

Amazing mentality.

I was involved in a toilet initiative in a village in India and we built 97 in one village.  Indian have a way of taking short-cut to everything and shitting on the roadside and bushes are one.  However, several obstacles arose with the toilet initiative, one the availability of ample water supply to flush.  There are lots of central village wells and not very conducive to one hit by a "tight shit".  You shit yourself just pumping the water.

I then proposed pit latrines like we have in Guyana but this was not permitted.  The problem here is infanticide.  Many unwanted babies "buried" in latrine pits.

So, the toilets allowed must have a closed septic and the toilet itself have a large enough hole for the "shit" to flow but small enough to prevent a baby being shoved into it.

The "shit" situation is a product of water resource, bad habit and plain over population.  There is just not enough "shitteries" in India to handle the morning call of "shit" from so many at the same time so the men let the women have the toilet while they and their kids shit in the corner bushes.

You certainly knows a lot about shit...you seem to be an expert in that area

Amazing mentality.

YUh think the Ambani's are by the railway Track taking a Crap?? Oh scratch, you really believe so.

That is the problem with that apathetic society . The rich just do not care about the less fortunate masses . 

Originally Posted by Guyanese4eva:

Amazing mentality.

That is the problem with that apathetic society . The rich just do not care about the less fortunate masses . 

I AGREE. GREED WORKS, ASK WALL STREET.

This is just a tradition of nastiness. It is not Indian since ancestors to the Indians already had toilets and indoor plumbing some 2 thousand years ago.  The excavations at  Mohenjo-daro and Harappa illustrate that well.

This is modern nastiness that comes from neglect and complacency to filth.

I have to agree. There is no excuse for Nastiness. Bihar oh our Bihar.

This is just a tradition of nastiness. It is not Indian since ancestors to the Indians already had toilets and indoor plumbing some 2 thousand years ago.  The excavations at  Mohenjo-daro and Harappa illustrate that well.

This is modern nastiness that comes from neglect and complacency to filth.

I have to agree. There is no excuse for Nastiness. Bihar oh our Bihar.

Nehru Bhai!

Are you fore parents from Bihar ? Boy, that state is full of corruption and injustice. 

My foreparents hail form Haryana, near Punjab. I was able to trace it back using records from Guyana. Gerhard once made a post about those records in dire needs of preservation. I hope that someone takes up his cause.