India could pass a controversial citizenship bill that excludes Muslims
(CNN) India could be set to pass a bill that would give Indian citizenship to immigrants from three neighboring countries -- but not if they are Muslim.
By Helen Regan, Swati Gupta and Omar Khan, CNNUpdated 7:04 AM ET, Wed December 11, 2019
(CNN) India could be set to pass a bill that would give Indian citizenship to immigrants from three neighboring countries -- but not if they are Muslim.
CNN's Manveena Suri and Esha Mitra contributed.
(CAB) would fast-track citizenship for religious minorities, including Hindus, Sikhs, Buddhists, Jains, Parsis, and Christians, from Afghanistan, Bangladesh, and Pakistan.
Opposition parties say the proposed law is unconstitutional as it bases citizenship on a person's religion and would further marginalize India's 200-million strong Muslim community.
The government, ruled by the Hindu nationalist Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), said the bill seeks to protect religious minorities who fled persecution in their home countries.
Muslims are ethnically cleansing non- Muslims from their lands so India steps up! They are trying their upmost to cleanse Kashmir! India should offer the migrants land and settlements in Kashmir.
There are no innocents in this situation. The Muslims have done more than enough wrong to warrant otherâs wrath. Modi and his party are sinking deeper into religious intolerance too.
What about the moderate Muslims who don't like the system and felt threatened by their government and want to leave? Is there an opportunity for them or not?
things just going backwards
ksazma posted:There are no innocents in this situation. The Muslims have done more than enough wrong to warrant otherâs wrath. Modi and his party are sinking deeper into religious intolerance too.
I can see non-muslims who are being persecuted in Muslim countries trying to flee and get to India. Why would Muslims want to flee their own country to get to India only to sit in the streets begging? Makes no sense.
Prince posted:What about the moderate Muslims who don't like the system and felt threatened by their government and want to leave? Is there an opportunity for them or not?
They are rendered casualty of war.
skeldon_man posted:ksazma posted:There are no innocents in this situation. The Muslims have done more than enough wrong to warrant otherâs wrath. Modi and his party are sinking deeper into religious intolerance too.
I can see non-muslims who are being persecuted in Muslim countries trying to flee and get to India. Why would Muslims want to flee their own country to get to India only to sit in the streets begging? Makes no sense.
Maybe they feel that they can afford a bigger begging bowl in India. ð
Truthfully, Muslim countries have been blessed with lots of wealth but because their leaders are mostly despotic, they havenât made the best use of those blessings.
ksazma posted:skeldon_man posted:ksazma posted:There are no innocents in this situation. The Muslims have done more than enough wrong to warrant otherâs wrath. Modi and his party are sinking deeper into religious intolerance too.
Truthfully, Muslim countries have been blessed with lots of wealth but because their leaders are mostly despotic, they havenât made the best use of those blessings.
I don't see any Muslim going to a non-muslim country to beg and persecuted.
skeldon_man posted:ksazma posted:skeldon_man posted:ksazma posted:There are no innocents in this situation. The Muslims have done more than enough wrong to warrant otherâs wrath. Modi and his party are sinking deeper into religious intolerance too.
I don't see any Muslim going to a non-muslim country to beg and persecuted.
I donât know bai. I just feel that Muslims reputation right now is really bad and I donât blame any country that donât want to take any chances with them.
India's top court gave Hindus permission to build a temple on a disputed centuries-old holy site, which holds significance for both Hindus and Muslims. The ruling on the Ayodhya site was seen as a blow to Muslims and came at a time when Muslims increasingly see themselves as second-class citizens.
Prince posted:India's top court gave Hindus permission to build a temple on a disputed centuries-old holy site, which holds significance for both Hindus and Muslims. The ruling on the Ayodhya site was seen as a blow to Muslims and came at a time when Muslims increasingly see themselves as second-class citizens.
Do you think Hindus can go to Mecca and build a Mandir there? Remember how Hindus were targeted in Afghanistan? They had to wear yellow to identify themselves.
Yes Bhai Skelly, Muslim Countries are bias and somewhat racist BUT India MUST NOT behave like them. Such a Bill is bias, unfair and inhuman. There are better ways to secure their Homeland!!
I am torn on this issue. It is true that Hindus will not be allowed to build a mandir in Saudi Arabia but this law is a separate matter altogether. It appears to be a law discriminating against Muslims seeking asylum in favour of Hindus. It can tilt a delicate balance in some states as indicated by the Article. Two wrongs donât make a right. Muslims are also Indian citizens and discriminating against them is wrong.
Nehru posted:Yes Bhai Skelly, Muslim Countries are bias and somewhat racist BUT India MUST NOT behave like them. Such a Bill is bias, unfair and inhuman. There are better ways to secure their Homeland!!
Trump is building a wall, Saudis don't want non-Muslims, Israel doesn't want Muslims, Europe doesn't want Jews, PNC doesn't want coolies in Guyana. Where is the stop? Why should India be different?
skeldon_man posted:Nehru posted:Yes Bhai Skelly, Muslim Countries are bias and somewhat racist BUT India MUST NOT behave like them. Such a Bill is bias, unfair and inhuman. There are better ways to secure their Homeland!!
Trump is building a wall, Saudis don't want non-Muslims, Israel doesn't want Muslims, Europe doesn't want Jews, PNC doesn't want coolies in Guyana. Where is the stop? Why should India be different?
Because Indians are made differently, our Civilization is unmatched, we project humanity, tolerance, empathy, goodness and love.
Sean posted:I am torn on this issue. It is true that Hindus will not be allowed to build a mandir in Saudi Arabia but this law is a separate matter altogether. It appears to be a law discriminating against Muslims seeking asylum in favour of Hindus. It can tilt a delicate balance in some states as indicated by the Article. Two wrongs donât make a right. Muslims are also Indian citizens and discriminating against them is wrong.
India has a huge problem with Sleeper Cells! It is believed that locals helped scope out for the Mumbai attacks in 2008!
The Wahab philosophy is the scourge of the planet!
Nehru posted:skeldon_man posted:Nehru posted:Yes Bhai Skelly, Muslim Countries are bias and somewhat racist BUT India MUST NOT behave like them. Such a Bill is bias, unfair and inhuman. There are better ways to secure their Homeland!!
Because Indians are made differently, our Civilization is unmatched, we project humanity, tolerance, empathy, goodness and love.
The ones that are rich or migrated. Their shit doesn't stink. They look down on the poor and unfortunate. Your description of Indians is not displayed by the nasty ones we see abroad.
Baseman posted:Sean posted:I am torn on this issue. It is true that Hindus will not be allowed to build a mandir in Saudi Arabia but this law is a separate matter altogether. It appears to be a law discriminating against Muslims seeking asylum in favour of Hindus. It can tilt a delicate balance in some states as indicated by the Article. Two wrongs donât make a right. Muslims are also Indian citizens and discriminating against them is wrong.
India has a huge problem with Sleeper Cells! It is believed that locals helped scope out for the Mumbai attacks in 2008!
It is TRUE!! Many Muslims in India are closer to Pakistan but still want to live in India. In Kashmir there are about 95% who openly praise Pak and demonize India. It is a problem BUT this Bill will not do much to help.
Nehru posted:Baseman posted:Sean posted:I am torn on this issue. It is true that Hindus will not be allowed to build a mandir in Saudi Arabia but this law is a separate matter altogether. It appears to be a law discriminating against Muslims seeking asylum in favour of Hindus. It can tilt a delicate balance in some states as indicated by the Article. Two wrongs donât make a right. Muslims are also Indian citizens and discriminating against them is wrong.
It is TRUE!! Many Muslims in India are closer to Pakistan but still want to live in India. In Kashmir there are about 95% who openly praise Pak and demonize India. It is a problem BUT this Bill will not do much to help.
How about if India treats them like the Afghans did to the Hindus?
skeldon_man posted:Nehru posted:skeldon_man posted:Nehru posted:Yes Bhai Skelly, Muslim Countries are bias and somewhat racist BUT India MUST NOT behave like them. Such a Bill is bias, unfair and inhuman. There are better ways to secure their Homeland!!
The ones that are rich or migrated. Their shit doesn't stink. They look down on the poor and unfortunate. Your description of Indians is not displayed by the nasty ones we see abroad.
Indians think they are better than others, except Whites! The Indians I had best experience when I lived there were from the Christian South! They were more even-keel!
skeldon_man posted:Nehru posted:Baseman posted:Sean posted:I am torn on this issue. It is true that Hindus will not be allowed to build a mandir in Saudi Arabia but this law is a separate matter altogether. It appears to be a law discriminating against Muslims seeking asylum in favour of Hindus. It can tilt a delicate balance in some states as indicated by the Article. Two wrongs donât make a right. Muslims are also Indian citizens and discriminating against them is wrong.
How about if India treats them like the Afghans did to the Hindus?
There is a whole section on Bombay where most refugees end up! Itâs a vibrant community! Many Africans also live there! They are protected!
skeldon_man posted:Prince posted:India's top court gave Hindus permission to build a temple on a disputed centuries-old holy site, which holds significance for both Hindus and Muslims. The ruling on the Ayodhya site was seen as a blow to Muslims and came at a time when Muslims increasingly see themselves as second-class citizens.
Do you think Hindus can go to Mecca and build a Mandir there? Remember how Hindus were targeted in Afghanistan? They had to wear yellow to identify themselves.
India is a democratic nation, Saudi Arabia is NOT.
This law is bull-shyte. Prashad knows several Pathan Muslim families from Afghanistan who choose to settle in New Delhi instead of Pakistan when the civil war started. None of them blew up the place.
Prash, you people from your separate nation included in this bill in India ? Or you staying in Guyana !
Prince posted:(CAB) would fast-track citizenship for religious minorities, including Hindus, Sikhs, Buddhists, Jains, Parsis, and Christians, from Afghanistan, Bangladesh, and Pakistan.
Opposition parties say the proposed law is unconstitutional as it bases citizenship on a person's religion and would further marginalize India's 200-million strong Muslim community.
The government, ruled by the Hindu nationalist Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), said the bill seeks to protect religious minorities who fled persecution in their home countries.
Bangladesh is fast becoming a very intolerant country.
Sean posted:Prash, you people from your separate nation included in this bill in India ? Or you staying in Guyana !
They should include Guyanese Hindus and Muslims.
I agree. Guyanese muslims are example of ideal muslims. Proud of my Guyanese Muslim brothers and sisters.
We are going to have our first Muslim president in Guyana in 2020. Love it !
Ali ! Ali ! Ali !
Sean posted:I agree. Guyanese muslims are example of ideal muslims. Proud of my Guyanese Muslim brothers and sisters.
Ali ! Ali ! Ali !
It's an embarrassment to condemn Muslims in general and praise Guyanese Muslims as your brothers and sisters. It's irresponsible to say Irfaan Ali will or going to be president in 2020 when voting has not begun. I am not supporting either side but chose to point out the mistakes that cause controversy from time to time.
Dr Ali will be the next President of Guyana unless guyanese love to be ruled by a Gadaha!!!
Prince posted:Sean posted:I agree. Guyanese muslims are example of ideal muslims. Proud of my Guyanese Muslim brothers and sisters.
Ali ! Ali ! Ali !
It's an embarrassment to condemn Muslims in general and praise Guyanese Muslims as your brothers and sisters. It's irresponsible to say Irfaan Ali will or going to be president in 2020 when voting has not begun. I am not supporting either side but chose to point out the mistakes that cause controversy from time to time.
You sound like Hilarious! Meh guh leh yuh know wuh me tink when it done âappen!
Baseman posted:Prince posted:Sean posted:I agree. Guyanese muslims are example of ideal muslims. Proud of my Guyanese Muslim brothers and sisters.
Ali ! Ali ! Ali !
I respect people who don't jump the gun and get shot in the foot. Keep it up. There was a thread by Ray entitled "isn't is nice" meaning birds of feathers agreeing with each other on anything PPP. I respectfully disagree with the feather's gang and still have no venom for the PPP, but honesty.
Prince posted:Baseman posted:Prince posted:Sean posted:I agree. Guyanese muslims are example of ideal muslims. Proud of my Guyanese Muslim brothers and sisters.
Ali ! Ali ! Ali !
I respect people who don't jump the gun and get shot in the foot. Keep it up. There was a thread by Ray entitled "isn't is nice" meaning birds of feathers agreeing with each other on anything PPP. I respectfully disagree with the feather's gang and still have no venom for the PPP, but honesty.
Thatâs not what I was referring to at all!!
There are millions of miserable lives in Pakistan, India, and Bangladesh. These countries ought to live in peace with each other so they can focus more on fighting poverty and malnutrition. Thank god the Americans found a way of extracting oil from sands. It has brought down the price of oil more than 50%. Many countries usually blame the high cost of energy as the number reasons for inflation and economic stagnation. Low energy prices have given the poor countries a chance to develop and raise their people's living standard.
Ray posted:things just going backwards
I told some ppl dat, dey sey to me, "u razz too fanatic." And dem same ppl dah agree to man buggering man, wimen rubbing up wimen, men dressing as wimen and sex change. Abortion dey agree too. Immigration, dey believe any ballyho should come to NA even it makes the whole country poor. I stop short of declaring, "alyuh juss hate the fing white ppl so much it wouldn't matter if you suffer as long as the whiteman suffers." Guyanese indoes nah dey down hay. Dem crazies.
Sean posted:I agree. Guyanese muslims are example of ideal muslims. Proud of my Guyanese Muslim brothers and sisters.
Ali ! Ali ! Ali !
Several Guyanese Muslims work for both the CIA and DIA. Some of them served in Iraq or Afghanistan. Including both males and females.