Indian Gov’t bestows President Ramotar with prestigious Pravasi Bharatiya Samman Award

President Donald Ramotar, sharing a light moment with Sushma Swaraj, External Affairs Minister of India following the award ceremony. Also on stage is India’s Vice President, Mohammed Hamid Ansari.

President Donald Ramotar yesterday was presented with the prestigious Pravasi Bharatiya Samman Award. This honour is endowed on individuals of exceptional merit and is in appreciation of their roles in India’s growth.

A smiling President Donald Ramotar with the Pravasi Bharatiya Samman Award

He was honoured for his immense contribution in the field of public service and for fostering ties between India and Guyana.

He was among 15 non-residential Indians (NRIs) who were honoured. The Award is conferred on an NRI, Person of Indian Origin or an organisation or institution established and run by NRIs or Persons of Indian Origin, who has made significant contribution in any one of the following fields: better understanding abroad of India, support to India’s causes and concerns in a tangible way, building closer links between India, the overseas Indian community and their country of residence, social and humanitarian causes in India or abroad, welfare of the local Indian community, and philanthropic and charitable work, eminence in one’s field or outstanding work.

The award ceremony, held in Mahatma Mandir Gandhinagar, Gujarat, India, concluded the three-day Pravasi Bharatiya Divas Convention which was attended by approximately 4,000 delegates from different countries.

India’s Vice President, Mohammed Hamid Ansari, decorating President Donald Ramotar with the Pravasi Bharatiya Samman medal

The Convention is an initiative to connect India to its vast overseas diaspora, and bring their knowledge, expertise and skills, to a common platform. This flagship event has been coordinated by the Government of India, through the Ministry of Overseas Indian Affairs (MOIA), since 2003 PBD is celebrated on January 9, every year to mark the contribution of the Overseas Indian Community in the development of India. This date was chosen as the day to celebrate this occasion, in memory of Mahatma Gandhi, the greatest Pravasi, who returned to India from South Africa on this day in 1915, and who led India’s freedom struggle, which changed the lives of Indians forever.

These conventions provide a platform to the Overseas Indian Community, allowing them to engage with the government and people of the country, as part of their ancestral history and for mutually beneficial activities.

They are also very useful in networking among the overseas Indians, residing in various parts of the world, enabling them to share their experiences in various fields.

The occasions also provide a forum for discussing key issues concerning the Indian Diaspora. --- (GINA)

The Indian government will hang all kinds of shyte on this thiefman government as long as they keep stealing and enriching the likes of surrendra and coffee day company.

Bottom line - Thief man cooperation.

Traffic on the East Bank corridor

The same Maha Raja (Jagdeo) begging bowl make all of this happen. Uncle Donald is doing the same and receiving the same respect around the world.

What is that suppose to represent a nice arial view?

How about tekkin a peep up close here have a smell.......

I wonder if muslims have anything here since the one giving this award is deemed complicit in mass murder of muslims!

Nah CIOG ok with that, Irfaat ok with that as long as they plying them with money fuh thief all is well........

Traffic on the East Bank corridor

The same Maha Raja (Jagdeo) begging bowl make all of this happen. Uncle Donald is doing the same and receiving the same respect around the world.

Correct, Cobra.

I can't recognized any old, unpainted house on the East Bank corridor. Dr. Roopnarine must be disappointed after his famous speech in parliament about the ugliness of building new concrete house and not resurrecting the old wooden structures of the past. I think his non-progressive thinking is highly contagious to some members on GNI. 

I wonder if muslims have anything here since the one giving this award is deemed complicit in mass murder of muslims!

And Ramotar is a disrespectful man to the citizens of Guyana. That awarded medal is a disgrace to the progress of Guyanese.

My opinion differ!

Tell me comrade. Examine ur conscience carefully. Isn't what the ppp are doing is bullyism. They are pushing the country to anarchy. The ppp just fortunate the country doan go up in smoke.

With both Ramotar and Jagdeo in India, the army should tek over the country.

Indos wouldn't even say boo. 

And whilst at it, put Luncheon and Hinds in leg iron. 

Tell me comrade. Examine ur conscience carefully. Isn't what the ppp are doing is bullyism. They are pushing the country to anarchy. The ppp just fortunate the country doan go up in smoke.

Don't let hate overshadow your thinking capacity. I beg to differ. Thank you!

I concur!