Indian group wants PPP’s ethnic claim against GECOM investigated

November 24, 2015 | By | Filed Under Letters 

Dear Editor, The Indian Action (formerly Arrival) Committee (IAC) has noted with grave concern the recent public statements regarding what has been described as ‘ethnic employment’ at the Guyana Elections Commission (GECOM). Being cognizant of the People’s Progressive Party’s (PPP) position on the issue, the IAC is firm in its belief that ethnicity must not be a factor to bring into any form of disrepute the execution of assigned duties by Guyanese. The IAC believes that in a multiethnic society like Guyana, for an organization to derive a sense of confidence based upon the employment of a particular and preferred ethnic group, is counterproductive to the efforts of unification and the country’s national motto. The IAC deems the utterances as most unfortunate. The IAC believes that while the Party has a right to be concerned over issues, including those relating to GECOM, it urges cognizance of the sensitivities of ethnic-related aspersions and the precipitating challenges it pose to national cohesion. The IAC is of the view that the Party’s concern should not be dismissed. In this regard it proposes an external independent review of GECOM which should be conducted to ascertain the validity of the Party’s claims of preferred and disadvantageous ethnic employment against it. The IAC believes that if such an endeavor is professionally undertaken, it would aid in the allaying of fear with respect to the Party’s concern and could vindicate GECOM”s position. With regards to the latter, it would reinforce that Guyanese, regardless of their ethnicity, could deliver their duties professionally and without favour or ill will. Given what appeared in the public domain regarding the issue in question, the IAC believes it further underscores the need for the Ethnic Relations Commission (ERC) to be immediately established. The IAC reiterates its necessity and believes it is integral to meaningful interventions for the mitigation of such sensitive issues and to prevent any related escalation. The IAC is aware that Parliamentarians within the 10th Parliament worked tirelessly to implement a democratic process for the election of the members to represent the various groups from civil society to the ERC. Unfortunately, those members having been approved by the National Assembly were not provided the opportunity to be sworn in as Commissioners. The IAC therefore calls for those members of the ERC who should have been sworn in prior to the May 11 general elections, be so empowered immediately thereby resuscitating this constitutional Commission, whose role cannot be overstated, especially with the current issue at hand.

Maria Rasheed Indian Action Committee

Originally Posted by asj:

Dear Editor, The Indian Action (formerly Arrival) Committee (IAC) has noted with grave concern the recent public statements regarding what has been described as ‘ethnic employment’ at the Guyana Elections Commission (GECOM). Being cognizant of the People’s Progressive Party’s (PPP) position on the issue, the IAC is firm in its belief that ethnicity must not be a factor to bring into any form of disrepute the execution of assigned duties by Guyanese. The IAC believes that in a multiethnic society like Guyana, for an organization to derive a sense of confidence based upon the employment of a particular and preferred ethnic group, is counterproductive to the efforts of unification and the country’s national motto. The IAC deems the utterances as most unfortunate. The IAC believes that while the Party has a right to be concerned over issues, including those relating to GECOM, it urges cognizance of the sensitivities of ethnic-related aspersions and the precipitating challenges it pose to national cohesion. The IAC is of the view that the Party’s concern should not be dismissed. In this regard it proposes an external independent review of GECOM which should be conducted to ascertain the validity of the Party’s claims of preferred and disadvantageous ethnic employment against it. The IAC believes that if such an endeavor is professionally undertaken, it would aid in the allaying of fear with respect to the Party’s concern and could vindicate GECOM”s position. With regards to the latter, it would reinforce that Guyanese, regardless of their ethnicity, could deliver their duties professionally and without favour or ill will. Given what appeared in the public domain regarding the issue in question, the IAC believes it further underscores the need for the Ethnic Relations Commission (ERC) to be immediately established. The IAC reiterates its necessity and believes it is integral to meaningful interventions for the mitigation of such sensitive issues and to prevent any related escalation. The IAC is aware that Parliamentarians within the 10th Parliament worked tirelessly to implement a democratic process for the election of the members to represent the various groups from civil society to the ERC. Unfortunately, those members having been approved by the National Assembly were not provided the opportunity to be sworn in as Commissioners. The IAC therefore calls for those members of the ERC who should have been sworn in prior to the May 11 general elections, be so empowered immediately thereby resuscitating this constitutional Commission, whose role cannot be overstated, especially with the current issue at hand.

Who are these people in the IAC? Is it an independent group or PPP-affiliated?

In any case, this is a good call, given the results of the last election and the nonsense that went on with Surajabally and his GECOM... 

Originally Posted by VishMahabir:

In any case, this is a good call, given the results of the last election and the nonsense that went on with Surajabally and his GECOM... 

GECOM is NOW all Afros, there is nothing else to say.  IAC MUST voice their strong DISSATISFACTION!!!

Action Committee

When there were no APPOINTED black heads of mission under the PPP did you request the ethnic distribution. When almost every HEAD of state controlled corporations, committees, and commissions were Indians did you think that an ethnic count was needed?  NO!

When I raised the issue of the exclusion of Africans almost every Indian here called me a racist, and I include the socalled moderates like Kari and TK.

when the top 2 GECOM leadership were Indians, did you ask for this? NO!

Interesting that you don't even pretend to be objective.

If the fact that the clerks at GECOM were majority black why did the PPP win every election, except for the last two?  What determines what an institution does he who HEADS it.  GECOM is headed by an INDIAN!

Action Committee

When there were no APPOINTED black heads of mission under the PPP did you request the ethnic distribution. When almost every HEAD of state controlled corporations, committees, and commissions were Indians did you think that an ethnic count was needed?  NO!

When I raised the issue of the exclusion of Africans almost every Indian here called me a racist, and I include the socalled moderates like Kari and TK.

If the fact that the clerks at GECOM were majority black why did the PPP win every election, except for the last two?  What determines what an institution does he who HEADS it.  GECOM is headed by an INDIAN!

You living in the past banna. Two wrongs dont make what you say right. Too many shenanigans went on at the last election. This is not my call, this coming from the FAC people. 

Action Committee

You living in the past banna. Two wrongs dont make what you say right. Too many shenanigans went on at the last election. This is not my call, this coming from the FAC people. 

Why do you respond to a CERTIFIED RACIST DAAG???  Is time yuh gat to waste???

1. You screamed that under the PPP blacks ran the country and that Indians were powerless, even though they dominated almost all top positions.  Clearly you do NOT see a wrong with the PPP in how it treated Africans.

2. Given this you are clearly being a hypocrite in your sudden "salvation".   How can you claim two wrongs don't make a right when you don't think that the PPP did wrong to black people?

3. If you didn't think that the PPP was wrong, then why criticize APNU if it does the same thing. You were content with ethnic domination, based on the PPP winning, so if they now lost, why the squeals?

4.  Should the PPP win, they will ethnically exclude, but based on your response to how the PPP treated blacks between 1992-2015, you will see nothing wrong if they treat them the same way again.

5. Given this why your shock that some Africans will seek to bolster their position and recover lost ground by behaving exactly as the PPP did?  They don't trust Indians to be honest in their dealings with blacks!

The IAC derailed anything that is good for Indians. The people had nice free cultural events, until the IAC took hold with government support and destroyed it with a fee.

Why are Indians so controversial in Guyana, its seems like its a their culture.  

Last edited by Tola

GECOM is NOW all Afros, there is nothing else to say.  IAC MUST voice their strong DISSATISFACTION!!!

We are headed back to the DARK days of rigging in Guyana. PNC will return Guyana to the DARK days of dictatorship.

It it walks like a duck and quacks like a duck, it is a duck.

Originally Posted by Tola:

The IAC derailed anything that is good for Indians. The people had nice free cultural events, until the IAC took hold with government support and destroyed it with a fee.

Tola, Indian is not your problem. Granger gave up on Indian suicides, and you can't offer any meaningful help either. All you do is to come on GNI to degrade Indians and talk grateful about the black and PNC. 

Tola is one the Dirty Indians who the Honourable Rev used to talk about. They are ashamed of their identity.

Bai, go talk to dat women, GNI is not she life.

Alyu rass ah still stay home, while she go pray at the mandir ?

EDIT...Don't leave, I gotta take a  dump.  

Last edited by Tola

What a question.  According to some, anything Indian is PPP and anything PPP is Indian,

And look at you!