Four years after the last population census, the Guyana Statistical Bureau has not yet published the final results of the 2012 Census. Those final results would provide an ethnic breakdown of the population. Let's examine the numbers of previous censuses and we shall see a trend. These numbers are culled from the 2002 Guyana Census Report and UN Demographic Yearbooks.

EAST INDIANS: 394,417 in 1980; 351,939 in 1991; 326,277 in 2002. The number of Indians decreased steadily from 1980 to 2002 by 68,140. This is a large drop and the 2012 Census should show a similar trend.

BLACKS/AFRICANS: 234,094 in 1980; 233,465 in 1991; 227,062 in 2002. The number of Blacks/Africans decreased steadily from 1980 to 2002 by 7,032. This is a small drop and the 2012 Census should show a similar trend. 

AMERINDIANS: 40,343 in 1980; 46,722 in 1991; 68,675 in 2002. The number of Amerindians increased steadily from 1980 to 2002 by 28,332. This is a big increase and the 2012 Census should show a similar trend.

MIXED: 84,764 in 1980; 87,881 in 1991; 125,727 in 2002. The number of Mixed Guyanese increased steadily from 1980 to 2002 by 40,963. This is also a big increase and the 2012 Census should show a similar trend.

From these trends it is clear that the PPP cannot win the 2020 general elections with East Indian votes alone. Bear in mind that not all Indians vote PPP. Also, with the general anti-black sentiments swirling in Guyana, GNI Political Forum, Facebook, etc the PPP will not attract substantial Black/African votes. And, as my friend Caribj says repeatedly, most Mixed Guyanese don't vote PPP. As for Amerindian votes, APNU+AFC as the incumbent will get the majority as Caribj also says. 

By leaving Guyana, Indos are become wealthy leaving behind poor Afros in Guyana. This departure will create a mass accumulation of wealth and they are able invest and build mansions in Guyana at the envy of Afros.

This is a win win for Indos. Take a look at Canada and USA and you will see how many of Indos have become filthy rich and own their own multi million dollar homes.

Afros from Guyana have no idea of this mass accumulation of wealth by Indos in Canada and USA.

Indos are a progressive people as compared to the other races in Guyana. This will continue for many, many generations to come.

PPP will win back power at the next upcoming National Elections. They trashed the AFC/PNC at local elections.

Good thing that the PNC lost at the Local Elections !

Money talks and BS walks.

Yuji's principle:

Keep on dreaming about wealth accumulation Cain, it is not in your genetics to mass accumulate wealth. It is in my genes and I am proud to it.

I have and will never live hand to mouth like some people, no names mentioned. 

The envious will always fete and live hand to mouth.

Who de cap fit, let them wear it.

Gilbakka find the right time to rub salt in open wounds on the eliminations of Indians. His God, Granger, will contaminate the Indian women forcefully to bring-forth Gougla children via National Service. Gilbakka already have Blacks in his family and he held them highly above the Indians. He made that declaration on GNI for all to see. He also stated that the death of Indians is a blessing in disguised to keep the coalition in power beyond 2020. It is obvious that the aim to eliminate the Indians is no coincidence, but a political plan to kill out the Indians so that the coalition can stay in power illegally. Gilbakka also sold out the Indians to Granger to trample on Indian freedom of expression, whereas only Indian can be prosecuted for speaking against Granger and his people. I have been saying this for a long time and people need to pay attention to these coolie cut throat. They want to reintroduce Burnham ideology to oppress the Indian people once again. Take a good look at the two elderly that were burnt alive by criminals that Granger released. Did you ever see these Guys come out and object to the release of criminals? NO! What they has done to the PPP, they dear not do the Blackman, Granger. They chose to protect him, and in turn, these coolies becomes a mockery to the Blackman. Folks, don't ever trust a coolie to defend you in politics. They are the worst. They will work for a hand shake to sell their brothers for pennies. That's why our suffering will never ends. Gilbakka is all sweet talks to trap you in the PNC den. He is a frigging Blackman like Moses.

So Mr. Gilbakka, if you are assuming that Indians are now a minority in the Guyanese population, and only Indians vote PPP, then please explain to me how the PPP won the recent LGE hands down.

This is clearly wishful thinking on your part.  I have never seen anyone use racism to predict the outcome of an upcoming election which is almost four years away.  Your hatred is starting to scare me.

Quote by Cobra:

"Take a good look at the two elderly that were burnt alive by criminals that Granger released."

The AFC/PNC supporters do not care about Indos who are robbed and burnt alive. They were making a lot of noise when Ewing was murdered.

Indo lives do not matter to this racist AFC/PNC administration.

If I tell you Gilbakka is neemakaram just like Moses, would you believe me? Even you couldn't see a hypocrite. I am not here to pay condolences to another dead Indian as if their extermination was meant to be. I am here for a different reason.

So Mr. Gilbakka, if you are assuming that Indians are now a minority in the Guyanese population, and only Indians vote PPP, then please explain to me how the PPP won the recent LGE hands down.

This is clearly wishful thinking on your part.  I have never seen anyone use racism to predict the outcome of an upcoming election which is almost four years away.  Your hatred is starting to scare me.

Race is still the determining factor in Guyana's general elections. Before the 2015 elections I had posted some numbers here to show that the PPP would either lose or scrape up another minority government. The observers-verified elections results showed what happened. 

Regarding the recent LGE, it is true that the PPP got a majority of votes overall, but you must remember that unlike the general elections' proportional representation system, the LGE involved both proportional representation and first-past-the-post/constituency systems. So, naturally, the PPP won handsomely in those areas where Indians predominate but lost miserably in the towns. Furthermore, unlike the PPP, the coalition did not contest all the local government areas. I think it was an error on their part and it adversely affected APNU+AFC total vote count.

But why do we continue to hammer and promote race based politics? This trend will cause doom to a country that does not need any more division in its politics.  Many of you diaspora people are the ones who are adding fuel to the racism fire which is blazing out of control.  The younger generation is not as race based as some of you older folks.  I have friends of all race, color, and creed.  If you all continue to publicize race based politics you will tarnish the minds of our youth.  Stop - please - stop!

Alyuh head haad,how many times it was mentioned that is not a win for the PPP,it's is not a benchmark for the General Elections,different ball game,stop fooling yourselves.

But why do we continue to hammer and promote race based politics? This trend will cause doom to a country that does not need any more division in its politics.  Many of you diaspora people are the ones who are adding fuel to the racism fire which is blazing out of control.  The younger generation is not as race based as some of you older folks.  I have friends of all race, color, and creed.  If you all continue to publicize race based politics you will tarnish the minds of our youth.  Stop - please - stop!

Send the message to Robb Street.

I appreciate what you're saying, Bibi, but those cold hard numerical facts which I posted should be a sobering wake-up call to the PPP leadership. As you know, the party's leader Clement Rohee is on record as confirming that the PPP is an Indian party. Also, Mr Bharrat Jagdeo is on record as affirming recently that the PPP's priority is to consolidate its Indian-support base. In a multi-ethnic society that is Guyana, Mr Jagdeo's statement did not sit well with non-Indians. I know because I have read people's comments in various social media. So, what I am saying is that the PPP has to start now to reach out proactively to those ethnic groups that don't constitute its traditional support base. 

Cobra posted:

Quote by Cobra:

"Take a good look at the two elderly that were burnt alive by criminals that Granger released."

The AFC/PNC supporters do not care about Indos who are robbed and burnt alive. They were making a lot of noise when Ewing was murdered.

Indo lives do not matter to this racist AFC/PNC administration.

If I tell you Gilbakka is neemakaram just like Moses, would you believe me? Even you couldn't see a hypocrite. I am not here to pay condolences to another dead Indian as if their extermination was meant to be. I am here for a different reason.

To show that you are another fkin idiot?

Alyuh head haad,how many times it was mentioned that is not a win for the PPP,it's is not a benchmark for the General Elections,different ball game,stop fooling yourselves.

Let us stop living in the past.  The PPP of yesterday is not the PPP of today. Yes racism exists, it always will.   The younger generation is practicing a different kind of politics.  Were it not the young Indian vote that gave the coalition that 1% pushover?   They are all now back with the PPP.  Their dreams have been broken.  The promises made to them turned out to be a pack of lies.

By leaving Guyana, Indos are become wealthy leaving behind poor Afros in Guyana. This departure will create a mass accumulation of wealth and they are able invest and build mansions in Guyana at the envy of Afros.

This is a win win for Indos. Take a look at Canada and USA and you will see how many of Indos have become filthy rich and own their own multi million dollar homes.

Afros from Guyana have no idea of this mass accumulation of wealth by Indos in Canada and USA.

Indos are a progressive people as compared to the other races in Guyana. This will continue for many, many generations to come.

PPP will win back power at the next upcoming National Elections. They trashed the AFC/PNC at local elections.

What a moron! You shallow fools only live on myths of wealth. Even if you accumulated a few millions where does that make you a mover and a shaker? Man you are a bloody knuckle head. Most Indian Guyanese in RH for example are in the poor definition. You should go to the NY state stats and examine it for yourself. Indeed their lives are far better than at home with amenities and opportunities for their kids but most wish they do not have to be on the e or the a train at 6. They would rather be walking to their farm, milking their cows while anticipating their wife's rotie and conversation with friends.

Let us stop living in the past.  The PPP of yesterday is not the PPP of today. Yes racism exists, it always will.   The younger generation is practicing a different kind of politics.  Were it not the young Indian vote that gave the coalition that 1% pushover?   They are all now back with the PPP.  Their dreams have been broken.  The promises made to them turned out to be a pack of lies.

The PPP excused all their poor performance on Burnham. Even now they have little else but to highlight their supposed sacred victimization to divert from their perverse misuse of the nations assets.

It matters not if those who defected to the AFC or PNC are now back in the PPP fold. It will not be on account the PPP has changed or the APNU has outflanked them on corruption. It will take another decade for that to happen.

As for promises, we would not be talking now if the PPP did what they were supposed to do.

The call is too early,the Coalition Government is merely a year old.

What a moron! You shallow fools only live on myths of wealth. Even if you accumulated a few millions where does that make you a mover and a shaker? Man you are a bloody knuckle head. Most Indian Guyanese in RH for example are in the poor definition. You should go to the NY state stats and examine it for yourself. Indeed their lives are far better than at home with amenities and opportunities for their kids but most wish they do not have to be on the e or the a train at 6. They would rather be walking to their farm, milking their cows while anticipating their wife's rotie and conversation with friends.

yuh right about that...better to be poor and happy than rich and a racist imbecile

The PNC cannot win with just African votes either.

The APNU AFC coalition won the vast majority of mixed votes.  They made deep inroads into the Amerindian vote in the LGE.  Look at how the PPP is having a mental breakdown because they have lost Mabaruma.  Lethem lost convincingly that they dare not say anything about that.

NYC statistic indicate that Guyanese aren't better off than are Jamaicans, and in fact are LESS likely to be self employed.

Now unless you can prove that Afro Guyanese in NYC are worse off than are Jamaicans, we are left to agree that Indo Caribbean people aren't any richer or progressive than are Afro Caribbean people.

BTW Guyanese born kids are more likely to drop out of high school than are Jamaicans.

Poor poor man. Unfortunately Ramkarran burst your bag.  In 1994 the PPP won 48 of the then 65 NDCs.  This year they won 48 of the now 71.  So even though there are 6 more the PPP didn't add.

Now these NDCs don't include the municipalities.  G/town, which has 30% of the voters, saw the PPP lose 6 seats, compared to their 1994 performance.

The PPP tied with APNU AFC in Mabaruma and LOST in Lethem.  This suggests that they are losing support in Regions 1, 8 and 9.  This adds credence to the suspicion that they are beginning to lose their Amerindian base.

So in 2016 we see the following.

1.  The PPP has failed to increase its African and mixed support.

2.  It looks as if the PPP didn't regain the urban Indian vote that they lost last year.

3.  The PPP is also beginning to lose its Amerindian base in Regions 1 and 9 and most likey 8 as well.

So why do PPP simpletons like cobra, yuji, and bibi insist that the PPP "won" the LGE?   Is the PPP so stupid?

, then please explain to me how the PPP won the recent LGE hands down.

They didn't.  Please educate yourself about what LGE is. Its is LOCAL.  There are more NDCs (71) than there are municipalities (9).  The vast majority of the APNU base are in the municipalities, which aside from Anna Regina, Rosehall, and Corriverton, they won. 

The PPP most Mabaruma, and Lethem, which they should have won.  The fact that they tied in Mabaruma, counts as a loss, given that Region 1 is a PPP stronghold.

In 1994 the PPP won 48.  In 2016 they won 48.

This election showed how weak the PPP is, indicating their inability to win, beyond their East Indian support base. And in fact the PPP said as much.

But why do we continue to hammer and promote race based politics? This

Ask your hero Jagdeo, who boasted that he "consolidated the East Indian support base".   I challenge you to find similar remarks from Granger about the African support base. 

He knows that he cannot win, based purely on his ethnic base.  Tell Jagdeo that he now has the same problem.

You describe the young Indo vote is now back with the PPP, and yet you decry racial politics.

How does Jagdeo and Rohee making ethnically based comments suggest that the PPP of today doesn't remain race based.

In fact the PPP is MORE blatant in its focus as being Indo focused than it was at any time since 1964.

Fact to Idiots: PPP WON Local Elections with a massive margin.

PNC and their racist backers can go suck Ghanda egg.

If you continue to believe this, you will definitely lose in 2020.  Ramkarran gave the PPP sound advice.  Ignore it at your peril.  But then you will as you consider him to be a niggindian!

Who the hell cares what a racist rat like you think or say ?

Predicted in 2011 that the PPP would be a minority gov't.

Predicted in 2015 that they would lose.

Given that you were WRONG on both counts, I will suggest that my track record is better than yours.

Please don't scream that when the PPP was in power, the PNC rigged the votes, because then you would have to explain why they didn't reduce PPP NDC control from 48 to some lower number in the LGE, when they were in power, therefore having a greater ability to rig.